Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Private Dancer.
This is the new and enhanced version of Tina's 1984 "PRIVATE DANCER" album. Through the years this album has been changing because of the big demand and great selling history. The original version from 1984 only included 9 tracks and then when cd's came out, "HELP" was added. Now with this ultimate version you can enjoy 4 bonus tracks ("I WROTE A LETTER", "ROCK N' ROLL...
Published on February 18, 2005 by Javier Lopez

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
This album was really big in the 80's. I wonder why.
Published 2 months ago by JCNow


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Private Dancer., February 18, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Private Dancer (Audio CD)
This is the new and enhanced version of Tina's 1984 "PRIVATE DANCER" album. Through the years this album has been changing because of the big demand and great selling history. The original version from 1984 only included 9 tracks and then when cd's came out, "HELP" was added. Now with this ultimate version you can enjoy 4 bonus tracks ("I WROTE A LETTER", "ROCK N' ROLL WINDOW", "DON'T RUSH THE GOOD THINGS" and "WHEN I WAS YOUNG"). This songs are from Tina's comeback effort in the early 80's. The songs are ok but I think that they're kinda weak for such a great album, but well as bonus tracks they pass (I mean this because if you know much about Tina you can see that she still doesn't find herself very much as a rock singer, this is the period where she moves from soul, r&b and a bit of rock to just rock, where Tina didn't stay 100% because she's more a pop/rock singer). Then within the additional tracks you can find 3 remixes from "WHAT'S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT", "BETTER BE GOOD TO ME" and "I CAN'T STAND THE RAIN". Now this additionals are great.

The booklet has also been enhanced with new great pictures but there's also one thing that I regret. That, the original cover photo from this production, the one where Tina appears seated in some kind of sparkled platinum hillock showing her whole fantastic legs (but well that photo appears inside the booklet. If you see it I'm more than sure that you'll agree with me), has been changed sience the late 80's to the one where she appears with a cat.

Well I had commented what I didn't like very much from this new version but I also have to tell what makes this album so great and famous. This was the best-selling album of 1984-85 in the world with sales of 15 million, it brought Tina back in the spotlight, brought her 6 Grammy nominations (she won 4), made Grammy history when she was nominated for 3 Grammys in 3 different music categories for Best Female Vocal Performance in Rock for "BETTER BE GOOD TO ME", Pop for "WHAT'S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT" and R&B for "LET'S STAY TOGETHER". Brought Tina her first #1 hit with "WHAT'S LOVE" (which was also chosen by Billboard as the #1 song of 1984), it also brought her 4 Top 10 hits in the U.S ("LET'S STAY TOGETHER", "BETTER BE GOOD TO ME", "WHAT'S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT" and "PRIVATE DANCER") and it Europe got 5 Top 10 hits (the named and "I CAN'T STAND THE RAIN"). "I CAN'T STAND THE RAIN" wasn't released in America, when the fifth single was to come out at that time, Capitol chose "SHOW SOME RESPECT" for America and "I CAN'T STAND THE RAIN" for Europe.

This production is very special because it shows a big difference in Tina's performances if you compare it with her early solo productions and her productions with Ike. The song that opens the album, "I MIGHT HAVE BEEN QUEEN" is a great track and I find it very hard to believe that it wasn't a single, then track 8, "STEEL CLAW" is Tina's most rock n' roll track ever.

I think that this album is a must have, even if you have Tina's 2005 biggest hits compilation "ALL THE BEST", you can find here amazing songs that you won't find there. I'd also recommend you her 1989 album "FOREIGN AFFAIR" (that's my Tina's favorite).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXTENDED CLASSIC, June 14, 2003
This review is from: Private Dancer (Audio CD)
Tina Turner's classic album from 1984 has been substantially enhanced with the addition of seven tracks, including wonderful extended versions of What's Love Gotta Do With It, Better Be Good To Me and I Can't Stand The Rain. This makes Private Dancer even more of an essential album as it remains Turner's masterpiece from the eighties, an album of brilliant material
exquisitely interpreted. It's a concept album loosely based on a stripper's life and it amply showcases Tina Turner's multifaceted talents. The bitter What's Love Got To Do With It and the melancholy title track, both passionate ballads, were massive hits. Better Be Good To Me and Steel Claw are scorching rockers while she really adds a new dimension to her covers of Help and Let's Stay Together, another top 10 hit. I love Tina's interpretation of the Anne Peebles song I Can't Stand The Rain which was also a hit for Eruption way back in 1978. Private Dancer is a triumph of epic proportions, not only Turner's comeback album but a timeless masterpiece of exceptional songs infused with enough raunch to please her hardcore fans from the early days and enough pop appeal for the mainstream. Never before had her voice been wrapped around such quality but accessible and melodic material as on Private Dancer, making for a consistently enjoyable album with broad appeal. This reissue with the extra tracks is superb value for money - get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Private Dancer Is Tina Turner At Her Best, February 26, 2001
This review is from: Private Dancer (Audio CD)
She Had Tons Of Hit's With Ike. She Was One Of The Most Respected Female Singers In The World. Then She Was Gone From The Spotlight In The Late 70's After A Divorce From Ike. With The Release Of Private Dancer, She Proved To The World That She Didn't Need Ike, Because She Was Simply The Best. This Album Is A Classic And Everyone Should Have This In Their Collection. The Opening Song Of I Might Have Been Queen Sets The Tone Of Tina In Control Really. There Isn't One Bad Song On The Whole Album. The Hits, What's Love Got To With It, Private Dancer & Better Be Good To Me. With Covers Of Al Green's Let's Stay Together, David Bowie's 1984 And A Soulful Rendition Of The Beatles Help, This Is An Amazing Album. But The Bonus Tracks Are An Added Bonus, The Extended Versions Of Her Hits Are Wonderful. This Is Tina Turner At Her Best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Better Be Good To Tina...., September 30, 2000
By 
Nikky (Cleveland, Ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Private Dancer (Audio CD)
This is a truly great album, she's the queen of rock'n'roll. Songs like, "I Might Have Been Queen", "What's Love Got To Do With It", "Private Dancer", & "Better Be Good To Me", (my favorite song), they're all classics. Everyone should have this album, it's worth the money.Please buy it, it's great...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legthy, superb value album that you never tire of, August 5, 2002
This review is from: Private Dancer (Audio CD)
This is the most complete Tina Turner album there is, giving the best taste of all her abilities. Other albums of her's, whilst good do not give the full vocal/emotional picture. 'Help' is a sweet rendition of the Beatles' track and one of the best covers ever. 'Rock n roll widow' is soft and full of controlled pain. 'Steel Claw' is a hard rock scorcher, revealing her energy and rawness. 'What's love..?" is a track you are always willing to listen to and 'Better be Good to Me' is another rock n roll belter. 'Let's stay together' and 'Private Dancer' are superb songs and very well sung, and are well framed by tracks such as 'I might have been Queen' and 'Show some respect' which superbly show you what this woman is about. Few albums are able to present and reveal a person as well as this album presents Tina Turner, in all her passion, drive and high octane raunch. 'I wrote a letter' and 'When I was young' are great additions to the album. Tina Turner is really only appreciated when considered as a live performer. 'I can't stand the rain', for example, works far better in concert than on a studio album. But 'Private Dancer' is an album that hints at what "hurricane Tina" is like live and does not disapoint. This album is a snapshot of the woman with the best legs on the planet, the scariest hair on the planet and a voice that "can melt vinyl". Her life's pain, torment, courage and attitude are neatly packaged on this well-stocked album and I thoroughly recommend it to you as an essential part of any musical collection. This woman was married to the man who is the "father of rock n roll", has sold more concert tickets than any other woman in history, has sold 75 million albums and still rocks in her sixties - she must have a place in all music collections, she is quite simply the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS A PERFECT RECORDING, October 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Private Dancer (Audio CD)
THIS 1984 COMEBACK ALBUM FROM ROCKS FIRST LADY, IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. "PRIVATE DANCER" IS TINA AT HER BEST. THIS ALBUM SPAWNED A #1 RECORD, AND 4 TOP 10 SINGLES, NOT TO MENTION ITS LOFT OF GRAMMY AWARDS, AND AMERICAN MUSIC AWARDS. I MUST HAVE IN ANY MUSIC COLLECTION, THIS ALBUM WENT ON TO SELL OVER 12 MILLION COPIES WORLDWIDE. IF YOU DONT HAVE IT WHICH IS KIND OF UNUSUAL THEN YOU MUST GET THIS CLASSIC TINA TURNER ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, July 16, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Private Dancer (Audio CD)
Private Dancer was the spark which ignited Tina Turner's musical comeback and is widely regarded as her best work. A major reason the album was so successful was because it "updated" Turner's sound for the 80s without discarding her musical roots. The makeover was certainly helped by the fact that every song on the album was first-rate. Turner attacks most of the tracks with raw, rock 'n roll emotion, but also shows herself to be quite proficient at more pop-oriented material, such as "What's Love Got To Do With It?" The album's centerpiece, though, is the title track. On it, Turner abandons the shrieking vocals which made her famous and reaches inside of the lyrics with a maturity unseen in her earlier years. Backed with strong production, she gives one of the most compelling performances of her career. All the songs on the album seem to fit Turner's musical and personal persona like a glove, giving her the best possible showcase for her tale! ! nts. Private Dancer is one of the best pop/rock albums of the 80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite From 1984!, June 2, 2008
By 
Ken Atkins (Paxton Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Private Dancer (Audio CD)
I can't believe I have never reviewed this album before now. When this came out I was just starting to discover the club scene. As a kid in the 70's in small town America we all knew who Tina was, as she was considered kind of a has been. All of a sudden this album came out, and I would turn my radio on a 6 in the morning to get ready for work and the first single was Let's Stay Together. Well, I looked forward to hearing this song every morning. And then I would hit the clubs at night and they started playing What's Love Got to Do With It. I was mesmerized by Tina from then on. I actually bought the LP and wore it out. Then the cassette and remember blaring this album in my 76 Regal while cruising. Finally bought the cd, and it will always be one of my favorite albums of all time. I Might Have Been Queen should also have been a single. Tina will go down as my favorite singer of the era, and it's due to her soulful singing on this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best, May 16, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Private Dancer (Audio CD)
This was her real comeback cd. Although she had already three solo-albums before 'private dancer' (tina turns the country on, rough, love explosion), this made a star of her again. Includes her biggest hit ever "What's Love Got To Do With It" and other great hits, such as: Help, Private Dancer, Let's Stay Together and many more. On this special centenary edition of 'private dancer' you'll find some nice bonus b-sides, such as: Rock'N'Roll Widow, Don't Rush The Good Things, and I Wrote A Letter, plus some remixes from great songs. Tina is still "Simply The Best"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect--except for the 12" EDIT of Better Be Good To Me, August 27, 2008
By 
This review is from: Private Dancer (Audio CD)
I was thrilled when this reissue was released with the 12" version of the hits. The 12" of What's Love Got To Do With It is fantastic, with that unique, special intro--I always thought that maybe the song was actually recorded this way and then edited down for the LP release, because this isn't just an 'extended' version looping specific parts of the song like 12" versions did at that time, but actually original material added to the original version.

My only gripe is the fact that the 12" version of Better Be Good to Me, running just over 7 minutes, has edited about 30-40 seconds off the original 12" version!!! As of this writing, this 12" mix has never appeared on CD in its full running time!

It would be great if Tina's two 80s follow-up LPs would also be reissued on CD with all the 12" versions as bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Private Dancer
Private Dancer by Tina Turner (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.