Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has it flaws, but still good., July 16, 2008
This review is from: Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season (Paperback)
Football Outsiders/Pro Football Prospectus is the best thing going as far as public football analysis.

This edition needed a more thorough editing job. It abounds with typos, transposed numbers and missing negative signs.

Additionally, the authors make a fair ammount of errors. Correlation and causation are confused, conclusions are drawn from questionable sample sizes, context and interrelatedness of statistics aren't considered strongly enough. In the text-heavy portions, it seems that the FO team tries to "force" analysis and discussion instead of approaching their subject with the detachment of scientists.

That said, at times the analysis is superlative and there is great data in here from the charting of NFL games from the last few seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Football by the Numbers, July 9, 2008
This review is from: Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season (Paperback)
One Moment Changes Everything: The All-America Tragedy of Don Rogers
Of all the books that rely on statistical information to be applied in a useful way (fantasy football), Pro Football Prospectus is, to me, the very best. It doesn't seem as easy to use as the baseball version, but at over 500 pages, it's incredibly heavy on the stats, which are listed in numerous ways, then compared and analyzed dispassionately (you won't believe the ways they use statistics to uncover who is undervalued, and who is overvalued). It covers every team, and every player. Strengths, weaknesses, injuries. It all helps make FF drafts easier than some of the similar books now available (though, admittedly, I haven't seen them all). The fact that PFP 08' is the first one available this summer doesn't hurt. Once you get used to it, it's easy to reference, meticulously organized and, of course, heavy on the nuts and bolts, (but paper-thin on the glitz). If you just want to win arguments, or want information about a particular player's personal life, it's too heavy for you. If you want information on just your favorite team, there are better places to get it (media guides, for one). It really is only for ultra-serious, intense fans of the game, and, of course, FF players. For roughly $15.00 online, how can you go wrong? I haven't seen anything else on the market that comes close.
--Sean D. Harvey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for NFL football fans!, August 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season (Paperback)
I'm like a kid on Christmas Day when this book arrived from Amazon. Why am I so happy?

There's almost 500 pages!
* Roughly 10 pages of analysis and stats on every NFL team.
* Breakdowns of all skill positions

Fantasy Football!
* Fantasy Risers and Fallers - Bill Barnwell
* Building a Better Draft Value Chart - Ben Riley
* Wide Receivers: Size Matters - Rob Pitzer
* Fantasy Projections
* Actual Draft Value Chart

Where else do you find stuff like this?!?
* Rating the 32 Medical Staffs - Bill Barnwell and Will Carroll
* The College Spread Offense: Bridging the Evaluation Gap - Doug Farrar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAH! I knew that!, January 19, 2009
By 
ftlrico "ftlrico" (Mayfield, Kentucky United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season (Paperback)
This was the second of a two part order for my brothers birthday. He spent the day going through the prospectus, challenging the guide's projections, and often commenting "HAH! I knew that!" Even those projections that he disagreed with, he enjoyed the challenge of the season's end results. Thank-you for the immediate delivery and better-than-expected results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season (Paperback)
a great publication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, and a must have, as always, October 28, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season (Paperback)
This is the third year in a row I have bought the Football Prospectus book, and still delivers. This is a must for any fan, and gives so much in depth information. I have watched and played football all my life, and this book still gives insight to many different things.

Not only for regular fans, this is also great for people who play fantasy football, and gamble on football as well.

I highly recommend this, and any future versions that the Football Outsiders guys put out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Breed, August 31, 2008
By 
Seth Burn (White Plains, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season (Paperback)
This is the 4th year Aaron Schatz and company have published a prospectus and they have become the best football analysts whose information is publicly available. they introduce statistical analysis in a very useful fashion that allows you to understand the strengths and weaknesses of your favorite teams and players. You can check out their work at footballoutsiders.com. They don't cover college football too much so this is mostly for NFL fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Football Annual, August 1, 2008
This review is from: Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season (Paperback)
This is the second straight year I've purchased Pro Football Prospectus, and it does not disappoint. There's the usual in-depth analysis of each team as well as a fantasy breakdown of just about every player you can reasonably expect to get playing time. The various essays that look further into certain players, teams, and trends are superb as well. This year, Football Outsiders added a "year in quotes" feature that had me laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, as always, September 2, 2008
By 
John J. Franco (Swissvale, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season (Paperback)
Not quite as staggeringly awesome as the baseball version of the Prospectus, but a great, great reference for the upcoming NFL season. It is interesting to see that there are metrics that can be applied to football just like the ones used in baseball, and the Football Outsiders do it better than anyone. If you're looking for predictions on the whole season, your team, or just some prep for your fantasy league, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for football fans, September 9, 2008
This review is from: Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season (Paperback)
As always a great read for any football fan. The in depth essays and analysis show interesting trends behind the scenes. The chapters on teams and the profiles on players are so much fun to read through. Some of the research they've only started on looks to have very promising new material for next year as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pro Football Prospectus 2008: The Essential Guide to the 2008 Pro Football Season
$21.95 $17.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.