Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


227 of 233 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blogging for bucks is just another small business. Think it, plan it, do it, and benefit from it.
I loved this book. It is the first one I have read that actually explains how blogging can be used to make money directly. Most books I have read, and what I have experienced, indicate that blogging is not something to be done to make money directly.

In this book the author explains that there are direct ways to make money from one's blog, and there are...
Published on May 20, 2008 by Jeff Lippincott

versus
76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-written but mostly covers the basics
A great book and I was already a big fan of Darren Rowse and his blog. He is a very successful pro blogger, a fine example to follow and learn from and having the 2 perspectives - different backgrounds, both end up at pro blogging and both very successful - is very effective. The book is easy to follow, written for anyone who even hasn't the basics of technology down, and...
Published on June 24, 2008 by Farnoosh Brock


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

227 of 233 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blogging for bucks is just another small business. Think it, plan it, do it, and benefit from it., May 20, 2008
This review is from: ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income (Paperback)
I loved this book. It is the first one I have read that actually explains how blogging can be used to make money directly. Most books I have read, and what I have experienced, indicate that blogging is not something to be done to make money directly.

In this book the author explains that there are direct ways to make money from one's blog, and there are indirect ways.

Direct Monetization:
>>Advertising
>>Sponsorships
>>Affiliate commissions
>>Paid reviews

Indirect Monetization:
>>Freelance writing contracts
>>Book deals
>>Speaking engagements
>>Consulting opportunities
>>Service contracts
>>Sell your own products

After reading this book I am still a believer that blogs are not something to consider if you want to make money from them directly. However, it can be done! But probably not the way you would think. It's not done by creating a blog, i.e., one blog and making it popular online. It's done by creating many blogs. Creating an empire of blogs and getting well connected in the blogoshere does it. Writing on any topic that can generate advertisers, sponsorships, affiliate commissions, and paid reviews does it. One blog won't do it. Two blogs won't do it. But a lot of blogs creating little streams of income will do it.

The authors provide us with some lessons they have learned about blogging:

1. Blogging for income takes time
2. Take it one step at a time
3. It takes hard work and discipline
4. Follow your dreams

Does this sound familiar? It should if you regularly read books for entrepreneurs. Blogging for bucks is just another small business. Instead of writing content for an arsenal of magazines, you are writing an arsenal of content for various blogs. Instead of selling paper copies of writings, you are selling through Web 2.0. And you are using Web 2.0 strategies and tactics to make your blogs profitable.

If you have an interest in blogs, and you want two books on the subject that discuss blogs from completely different perspectives, then read this book and read "Blog Schmog" (ISBN: 078521576X). Both books are well written, organized, and sound. If you read both of these books, then you should have a pretty good idea of what blogs are all about, what you can do with them, and what you cannot do with them. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


217 of 223 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely in the top one or two, May 1, 2008
This review is from: ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income (Paperback)
This is the 12th book I've read on blogging. The books I've read have run the gamut from marketing brochures clothed in the covers of a book to real sources of valued information. This book is clearly in the latter category and I would place it in the top one or two positions as my favorite so far.

I appreciated the author's very quick overvew of "what is a blog". Blogs are very easy to understand and the authors who have gone on for 20+ pages just describing a blog have obviously just been shooting for page count. This author gets into the real meat of the topic very quickly. The brief overvier of professional blogging as opposed to just blogging in chapter 1 was also helpful.

From the first chapter on, it's all about getting your game on. You have to realize that blogging your way to a six-figure income does not happen overnight just like building an email list (in a valid way) that has hundreds of thousands of opt-in emails doesn't happen overnight. This book holds your hand along this prolonged journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-written but mostly covers the basics, June 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income (Paperback)
A great book and I was already a big fan of Darren Rowse and his blog. He is a very successful pro blogger, a fine example to follow and learn from and having the 2 perspectives - different backgrounds, both end up at pro blogging and both very successful - is very effective. The book is easy to follow, written for anyone who even hasn't the basics of technology down, and has a reasonably good flow. I just wish it covered the tricks of the trade in much more depth, with examples, case studies, personal experience, and tips that you do not find anywhere else. It was a bit general for me. I am still glad I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference for Bloggers, April 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income (Paperback)
I have been looking forward to reading this book, and I couldn't wait to tear into the package as soon as UPS brought it to my door.

"ProBlogger" does not disappoint. Each page includes useful tips and techniques for building a successful blog. The chapters include:

Blogging for Money
Niche Blogging
Setting Up Your Blog
Blog Writing
Blog Income and Earning Strategies
Buying and Selling Blogs
Blog Networks
Blog Promotion and Marketing
Secrets of Successful Blogs
Creating Something Worthwhile

Reading this book from cover to cover will give you a solid education in blogging. It is the most comprehensive and realistic book I have seen on blogging, but it is not overwhelming. It covers everything from choosing a blogging platform and a topic, through design, what (and how often) to post, monetization strategies, interacting with your readers, using social media and getting links, and much, much more.

I found several tips that will help me focus my efforts and produce a better blog.

Once you finish reading the book, keep it near your computer so you can reference it frequently. This is not just a book for beginners. Even experienced bloggers will learn things they can use to gain readership and increase profits.

If you are going to buy a book about blogging, make it this one.

Cathy Stucker, [...]
Author of Mystery Shopper's Manual, 6th Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book for absolute beginners, boring read for existing bloggers, December 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income (Paperback)
I've been blogging for a few years now casually and didn't find this book useful almost at all. The authors don't give away any of their "secrets" or point you at what they have had successes with personally, it's one giant introductory piece of writing that just tips you towards different things to try.

For someone that has a brand new blog and has never done it before, this is a good intro.

For someone looking to take their blogging to the next level, this book is a boring read and won't say anything you can't get online by Googling.

I'd also point out that this book is written exactly like the ProBlogger articles are written -- it gives you just enough to peak your interest in a subject, then never *actually* addresses the question conclusively. Their articles online are very much the same way except every one of those articles point you at buying their book.

Also don't expect to see any monetary numbers in this book either, they far away from giving indications of how much they make, made, could make or should make... you're on your own there if you are trying to get a feel for your site's value as well (trying to price CPM and such).

I'd suggest renaming the book to "ProBlogger: Getting Started with Blogging", this book is not full of secrets or any specifics that would indicate how you get a six-figure income.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best place to start in Internet Business and Blogging, January 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income (Paperback)
Length:: 1:32 Mins

If you think you'd like to create an online presence through blogging to achieve any number of goals, this is the best place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ways to make money from your blog, December 27, 2008
This review is from: ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income (Paperback)
I'm new to blogging. Never had a blog until just recently.

I'm taking a small business class, and one of the things the teacher recommended was having a blog. Search engines love it, and its very easy to update.

I bought this book and a couple of books on wordpress, and what I like about this book is it covers ways to make money online.

I bought this great little wordpress book that showed me how to get online, and start blogging, and I started thinking, how can I make money, how can I get more of my customers to use my website, and see my special deals on my flowers.

This book gave me some good ideas.

The problem is, it is not as detailed as I would like. It is very much so not step-by-step. I'm a little confused at times. And I do not see how to implement this stuff.

I'm glad I got the book, I think it is the only thing like it, others recommended it in my class. But I just cant use it right now.

I think you should buy this book if you want to generate ideas on how to make money, but buy something else to learn how to do it (or pay someone)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference for Beginners and Intermediate, June 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income (Paperback)
The authors Darren Rowse and Chris Garrett are people who not just talk the talk but also walk the walk, meaning that they know from first hand experience what they are talking about.

The only 200 pages length had me worried for a second, considering the size of the covered subject, but it was unjustified. It covers a lot of ground, but does so in reference style manner. This means that the book is not designed to be read from start to finish. You pick it up and read some sub chapters and maybe one of the ten main chapters, but then close it to apply what you just read in practice.

Although they provide a lot of references and list of tools in most cases, did they fail to provide multiple options in some instances, which is either because of strong personal preference, lack of information or because of an advertising deal. It is hard to tell for sure.

It is a useful and practical reference for newbies who think about starting a blog, but also for folks who already have a blog, but struggle with one or more aspects of the real world blogging realities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cautionary book for those whose eyes are bigger than their reach, June 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income (Paperback)
The two authors of this book repeatedly warn would-be professional bloggers that it takes a great deal of hard work (besides luck) to even hope to make a decent living with a blog. The authors explicitly warn of the dangers of thinking that this is something that anyone can do.

On the other hand, the authors share valuable information to help people who understand what the commitment must be in order to possibly grow a "successful" money-making blog. This is one of those books that you read a second time because there's so much good information in it. -- Phyllis Zimbler Miller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOLDEN INFORMATION, June 3, 2008
By 
Kathryn L. Hendershot-Hurd "Kathy" (Sunny Southeastern Coast of Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income (Paperback)
If you want to make blogging your business, then this book is a must read. This book takes you step by step through all the options you will face when launching and monetizing a blog.

What I love BEST about this book is that Darren doesn't "sugar coat" his experience. His was NOT an overnight success story and he openly shares that information with the reader. His co-author, Chris Garret also doesn't sugar coat his experience either. Both are long time internet veterans whose success has been anything but overnight.

This book contains great information for every level of blogger. However, if you're expecting step-by-step idiot proof advice on how to make $100K a year your first year in blogging without working at it, then pass on buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income
ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income by Chris Garrett (Paperback - May 5, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.