Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same as 3rd Edition, Buy used
Just a heads up this anniversary is identical in content to third. Only difference is some preface/forward stuff... Not topics. Check table of contents and see for yourself. This is a blatant cash grab by the publisher as a new text, but you may find a reasonable price on a used 3rd edition like I did. Soon there will be used copies of this edition as well, but I wanted...
Published 21 months ago by Jay Young

versus
47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disgrace for the Publishing Company (Wiley)! ERRORS ALL OVER
I will not comment on the quality of the mathematical exposition of the book, as it is a classic on the field.

This reformatted edition from the publishing company (Wiley) is pathetic! The book is literally PACKED WITH ERRORS!

And we are talking about a highly technical exposition! How on earth are they expecting you to spend time on understanding...
Published 16 months ago by Zach


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disgrace for the Publishing Company (Wiley)! ERRORS ALL OVER, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Probability and Measure (Hardcover)
I will not comment on the quality of the mathematical exposition of the book, as it is a classic on the field.

This reformatted edition from the publishing company (Wiley) is pathetic! The book is literally PACKED WITH ERRORS!

And we are talking about a highly technical exposition! How on earth are they expecting you to spend time on understanding the complex notions on the later chapters of this book, when you can't even trust that they are correct?

Errors in equations start at page 5, then you get 2 more in page 6 (eq. 1.13 and 1.14), and then some! The appendix, packed with errors! I haven't even reached page 20 and found at least 11 errors (In the equations)!

They took a well established book from a recently deceased author, already at 3rd edition, which inevitably guarantees high quality and lack of errors (it couldn't have escaped the eyes of thousands of readers), they reformatted it (did not alter it), they put it in a fancier package, they ramped up the price, and started selling it as a new edition.

But in the process of reformatting, they didn't even bother reading it! NOT ONCE!

I think this is a disgrace for the memory of the deceased author, and a high disrespect to all the customers of the publishing company. It is clearly an attempt to make some easy money.

.
.
.

UPDATE: Upon request, a list of indicative errors

- Right before equation 1.12 he uses the symbol "\in" instead of the greek "\epsilon", which he then correctly uses in the equation. This error is repeated many times throughout the book.

- Equation 1.13 is missing an "=" sign before he opens a left curled brace. As ridiculous as this may sound...

- Equation 1.14 uses capital "S" for a variable (partial sums), while starting from equation 1.15 he uses small "s" for the same variable.

- Appendix, section A9, he correctly uses (a,b) and [a,b] for open and closed intervals respectively, and then incorrectly (a,b) and [a,nb) for left and right half-open intervals (instead of the correct (a,b] and [a,b) ).

These are all signs of really poor editing, as they are extremely easy to spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version sucks, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Probability and Measure (Hardcover)
Kindle version ruins this classic text.

It is either typeset by a math ignorant or the fonts used can't handle needed math symbols.

The equation fields are LaTeX images which are typeset fine but the inline math in text is the problem. E.g
no epsilons in text, instead they use \in symbol!

Also, \ny is not supported, instead a R (yes, capital R) in the text refers to the \ny in the math equation fields.

Very confusing.

Kindle version is a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same as 3rd Edition, Buy used, July 13, 2012
By 
Jay Young (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Probability and Measure (Hardcover)
Just a heads up this anniversary is identical in content to third. Only difference is some preface/forward stuff... Not topics. Check table of contents and see for yourself. This is a blatant cash grab by the publisher as a new text, but you may find a reasonable price on a used 3rd edition like I did. Soon there will be used copies of this edition as well, but I wanted to mention this issue to buyers and point out that all reviewers up to this point where comped with free books to write a review. It should also be clear that many have no clue about the content of the book or these topics.

Probability and Measure, 3rd Edition

I can comment on the content and this is a 5-star book. The reviews on the 3rd edition page hold true as the content is identical. I won't repeat myself here. See that page for comparisons to other texts, prerequisites, and feedback from those who used this text and went on to reflect on the significance of this topic and this text to their success and careers inside and outside academia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version formatting is very bad, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i concur with a previous reviewer: the quality of the typesetting for mathematical formulae in this book is very poor, rendering reading the book an unpleasant experience. this is a real shame. hopefully Amazon will learn how to provide tools to typeset mathematical text as beautifully as it is (normally) typeset on paper.

(to be fair, i think this is a hard problem; however, including what seem to be poor resolution images is not the way to go.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Important Introductory Text on Measure Theory and Probability Returns, June 12, 2012
This review is from: Probability and Measure (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Hailed as a classic text in measure theory and probability, John Wiley and Sons has reissued the Third Edition of "Probability and Measure" as the "Anniversary Edition", a memorial to University of Chicago professor emeritus of statistics Patrick Billingsley, who died in 2011, after a distinguished career not only as a teacher of statistics, but also as a character actor whose screen credits included the bailiff in the film "The Untouchables". This is a book that will appeal to those interested in the mathematical foundations of measure theory, probability and some elementary statistics; a potential audience that will include not only mathematicians and statisticians, but also those interested in computer science, economics, psychometrics and biostatistics. It is a well-written text featuring Billingsley's extensive explanations of theorems behind probability, measure theory, probability distributions, conditional probability and stochastic processes. This text will be viewed too as an important reference used widely by a new generation of those interested in the theoretical aspects of measure theory, probability and elementary statistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classical, beautiful book on probability and measure, April 7, 2014
This review is from: Probability and Measure (Hardcover)
The development of the theory of probability is one of the outstanding developments of mathematics in the 20th century. Now we have many excellent books from which we can learn about measure theory and probability. The book by Billingsley is one of the classics. In this review I wanted to draw attention to the presentation of the book.

The anniverary edition is evidently a re-issue of the third edition; Professor Billingsley died in 2011. The font is sharp, black and larger than I expected - this is a pleasant change. I suppose that this makes the book slightly larger and heavier - but not as weighty as some calculus books! The result is that it is a beautiful book. Well done Wiley! Let's see more anniversary editions of other great works.

I have written this review in a week when I have been disappointed with the quality of publication of some other great mathematical books that I have bought recently from other publishers. These days, the presentation of many books spoils the intellectual work between the covers.

To publishers - please try to lift your game; look at the older versions of classic books for ideas on fonts and binding.

Congratulations to Wiley for producing a book that does justice to Billingsley's "Probability and Measure".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book...., February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Probability and Measure (Hardcover)
This is a good book for understanding the probability and measure. However, you can find the solution manual for this previous edition. So, if you would like to buy it, I prefer to buy the previous one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars so so, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Probability and Measure (Hardcover)
in parts too much detail and a bit old fashioned. I found it hard going. The beginning of the book requires a very strong background in real analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All you ever want to learn, but best with a course, April 7, 2013
This review is from: Probability and Measure (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I picked up this book because I never studied statistics in school and I thought that this would be my chance. The book is written by a very well respected professor (now deceased), and covers all of the topics that you would expect and that I wanted to learn about. Unfortunately, I have been out of school so long that the academic approach to text books is now very hard for me to deal with. As such, for my particular needs, the book was not a good match. I'm sure if i were closer to when i was studying math, or were using the book in conjunction with a university class, that the book would be great. As a stand alone way to learn about the topic, it was tough going and not a fit. Of course, I recognize that this problem is much more mine than that of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, graduate-level work, June 28, 2012
By 
Gavin Scott (Sunnyvale, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Probability and Measure (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a re-issue of the 3rd edition, so if you have that one then there's probably little reason to acquire this one.

It's a classic work on Probability and Measure, subjects which are among the most critical and fundamental to any activity where "getting a valid result" actually matters (sadly too much of modern society doesn't really seem to care about getting the math right these days).

The book is well written, but it's written in math, so you really will need a good undergraduate math background in order to get much out of it. It's not an introductory book by any means.

This printing is a good quality hardback book that should last a long time, which is good as this is the sort of textbook that you will want to keep close at hand to refer to throughout your career.

G.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd8a43b20)

This product

Probability and Measure
Probability and Measure by Patrick Billingsley (Hardcover - February 28, 2012)
$150.00 $106.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.