Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Problem With Chickens (New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Books (Awards))
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars34
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 1, 2006
This is one of my three-year-old daughter's favorite books. The expressions on the faces of the ladies, who are caring for some upstart chickens, are so funny and endearing. And you can't help but admire the ladies' pluck and creativity in solving their unusual problem. Also, the drawings of the Icelandic landscape are beautiful and make me yearn to see it for real someday.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2006
I have many of Bruce McMillan's stories each of them stands alone as wonderful additions to a class library. Especially the Problem with Chickens, it was clever, kind and funny. My class of third graders loved it. It is a class favorite now.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
One of my grand children's favorite books. Ages four to seven. Great illustrations and artwork. Would recommend to anyone interested in books for this age group.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2014
The story is fun and allows readers to draw some conclusions. It is wonderful to see how the women solve their problem without male assistance. The illustrations are so pretty and often the reader can be engaged with the story by taking time to dance with the chickens or do other fun things. The grand-daughters loved it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2010
Delightful book! Well put together, superb graphics, highly recommended for both children and for collectors of illustrated children books.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
I have read this book to several groups of young children who did enjoy the book. We especially liked the pictures and the scenery of Iceland. We don't get so many books set in Iceland so that makes it really nice. The illustrations are wonderful and the expressions on the ladies' faces are hilarious at times. The story is cute and enjoyable. It is a very good book for an elementary school library collection or for your own collection. Most little people seem to really enjoy chicken stories. I recommend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2014
It is for a 7 year old August birthday so I have been reading it before I give it ....very good illustrations and funny story child will find hilarious!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2006
Really good book for the younger set. Even as an adult I found it intersting and funny.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
NY Times Best Illustrated and delightful read for elementary child. Also serves well as a 'read to me' story. Illustrations keep child engaged.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
Very enjoyable. Only problem is kindle reader can't decide best way to display the pictures and text (often two sets of text). Picture e-books still not as good as a real picture book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.