Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for beginners
I don't understand how could someone give one star to this book. In this book, there's almost every thing a beginner needs to learn. First and foremost, a beginner must learn to use a "systematic" method to design his programs, so there's a whole chapter on top-down design, and a whole chapter on modular programming, AND at the end of each chapter there's a case study...
Published on November 8, 2009 by Hubert Dupont

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More bad than good
This book is not for beginners to programming. The examples are hard to follow. They start with a simple idea then the next example adds information to the example and then you get lost. How about one idea at a time and several examples of that one idea. That would be better for beginners. I have read other C programming books and this is not the best. Waite's group...
Published on November 2, 2002 by C. L. Beard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for beginners, November 8, 2009
By 
Hubert Dupont (Créteil, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't understand how could someone give one star to this book. In this book, there's almost every thing a beginner needs to learn. First and foremost, a beginner must learn to use a "systematic" method to design his programs, so there's a whole chapter on top-down design, and a whole chapter on modular programming, AND at the end of each chapter there's a case study enforcing good program design by applying a consistent framework:

problem,
analysis (data requirements),
design (initial algorithm, refinements and structure chart). Evey step is followed by some explanations.
implementation and
testing.

To learn to solve problems "systematically" a beginner needs to see a consistent method in action, that's the purpose of this framewok and the case study.

To solve problem a beginner needs to learn how to use the usual elementary tools of the trade: selection, loops, recursion, etc. A beginner needs to learn to apply those tools to ask things, to test things, to search things, to sort things, etc. All of which are clearly and fully explained. For each, "tool" and technic, the authors give a taxonomy of their use (loops using sentinelle value, loops using flag, etc.) along with examples and they apply those tools and technics in a case study at the end of each chapter. The authors even take the time to teach you how to trace the execution of each new kind of statement (selection, loop) and recursion. I mean what more can someone want. There's even a clear introduction of linked lists and trees.

This book is thick, 890 pages, because it's meant to teach programming, that is solving problems by using a specific set of tools and technics, the book is not meant to teach a specific langage. It's not a book about C, it's a book using C. You can apply every thing you learned in this books (top-down design, loops, recursion, etc.) in almost any language. In my opinion, you can learn programming in almost any language, because what matters are the tools and the technics not the language. (I happen to like C)

Some reviewers used the word dry to describe the style of writing, I would say precise.

In conclusion:
If you need more than just clear, precise explanations and to-the-point-diagrams to learn stuff, that is if you need lots of color, bells and whistles (kindergarten style) to learn stuff, pass your way.
If you don't know how to use a search engine or a forum when you want to overcome a difficultie, I don't know what to say... maybe stop reading technical books.

PS: Personnaly I find Deitel's books scary, too much colors (it hurts my eyes), too wordy.

From a below average student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outdated Comments, August 23, 2008
By 
This review is from: Problem Solving and Program Design in C (5th Edition) (Paperback)
For those of you undecided about this book keep in mind that for some reason Amazon.com has decided to keep outdated comments posted on earlier editions of this item. This edition of the textbook was published on July 15 2006. There is only one comment that was posted after the date of release of this book. Why Amazon.com has kept the outdated comments I don't know. I do know that authors normally attempt to improve upon their work when publishing new editions - usually based on direct feedback from users, and also in the case of this subject to make the reader aware of techniques based on newer technology. So before making a decision to buy or not to buy this book, discount all the outdated comments posted here....they were made on older editions and don't reflect the improvements made on the newer material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More bad than good, November 2, 2002
This book is not for beginners to programming. The examples are hard to follow. They start with a simple idea then the next example adds information to the example and then you get lost. How about one idea at a time and several examples of that one idea. That would be better for beginners. I have read other C programming books and this is not the best. Waite's group books are the best there is. Next in line would be the How to Program series by Deitel & Deitel. The best point of the book is how it discusses pointers. Since pointers are a concept that folds many ideas into one the authors chose to discuss pointers in regards to these separate ideas. Meaning that there is no single chapter on pointers but parts of four different chapters. The other strong point of this book is that you do get a compiler to work with, so it isn't all bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent programming textbook!, November 9, 1998
I have used this book for several consecutive terms in teaching the Introduction to Programming course at Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI). Students have found the text accessible, and very well organized.
Personally I believe it is an excellent introduction for those who would like to learn how to program and how to use the C programming language. The exposition style is clear, and suited for readers coming from various backgrounds. The book covers all the fundamental topics of programming in ANSI C, starting from data types, continuing through control structures up to text and binary files, library functions and conditional compilation. It offers nice summaries on each individual topic, well chosen examples and plenty of self-check exercises, problems and projects to experiment on. The order in which concepts are introduced is specifically tailored to make learning easy, and the examples are chosen such that they can be run on a large variety of C compilers. I highly recommend the text, whether for use in the classroom, or for the individual study of the C programming language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for starting off and for reference, January 4, 2000
By A Customer
I have used this text in my programming class and also as a reference for other projects I have worked on. This is an excellent book which is well organized and easy to follow. The book provides plenty of examples and exercises which range in difficulty, which allows the reader to further understand the concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There are better books out there, January 31, 2000
By A Customer
This book is as dry as they come, while the concepts are easy to follow it lacks the depth of a good programming book. Money would be better spent on "C How to Program" by H.M. Deitel/P.J. Deitel.
The book is layed out much better and the major concepts are in a different color so if you need to go back and review you don't have to search for what you need like you need to in this Problem Solving book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent way to start off in C programming, September 29, 1998
By A Customer
I found this text to be very informative for the beginner in the C language. The chapter contents give the beginner plenty of information to give him an excellent grasp on the lesson being conveyed by the author. A great amount of examples are provided in each chapter, which I find to be the best way of insuring that the reader totally understands the idea. These examples guide the reader through the process, step by step, making sure to highlight the importance of each application.
As a testament to how great this book is, I can tell you that I relied on the book as much as I relied on the lecture by my professor. I sat with my friends in my C class, so many times I found it hard to concentrate because they were too busy fooling around. Since I missed out on comprehending some of the C lectures, I made sure to read the chapter taught, every night after class. I got an A- for the semester!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to follow., February 18, 2010
By 
Steve F. (Central Ohio) - See all my reviews
The authors give examples of concepts by creating a function. However, the function is not used in a simple program. I was able to create programs that used the authors function up to about Chapter 8. There are examples at the end of the chapters, but they are very complex and it is hard to match the function example with the end of chapter example.

Expecting a beginning programmer to write the program-driver is a two edged sword.
The writing of a driver is good experience, but I hit a wall at Chapter 8.

This book was part of course at an online unversity. So, most of the learning is on my own. So, now I am deciding if I should withdraw and take a hit on the pocketbook and transcript or buy additional, better rated books on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problems with Problem Solving and Program Design in C, May 25, 2001
By 
Arturo Cardenas (Glendale, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
This book is a average book overall, however some problems I had with the book was the author's assumption on certain aspects and the readers knowledge (or lack thereof) of certain algebraic principles that they used on their programming examples and relational theories. There are good examples of coding and programming, especially if you to the publishers site to ftp the code examples. As a beginning programmer myself, I can honestly say this may not be the best book for beginners. I can only recommend an outdated "From C to C" that treats the reader more like a "true novice", and explains the steps a little more clearly than this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for C beginners!, December 3, 1998
By A Customer
I had experience before with Fortran, Pascal, Visual Basic before, but never really got into C until I had this book. It has a perfect layout. It took me a day or two to get a grasp of the general programming structure of ANSI C with the help of this book. It's the BEST for absolute beginners as well as for people who had some experience with other languages before. It's only drawback to me is it's lack of coverage on network and database programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Problem Solving and Program Design in C (5th Edition)
Problem Solving and Program Design in C (5th Edition) by Jeri R. Hanly (Paperback - July 15, 2006)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.