Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$44.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 23, 2008
This book was developed as Haley was preparing new students to conduct family therapy. It provides the best raod map to initiate the first session.

I use this book to train new family therapists and people from the community with no degrees.

Excellent.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2007
Jay Haley has done a good job in giving a step-by-step account of how to do effective problem-solving therapy. He highlighted and demonstrated how to gather information and set goals for the client and/or family that are involved in counseling. He stated the importance of knowing those involved in therapy and to correctly identify the situational problem. To know how to formulate and structure questions correctly is essential. Giving clear and precise directives to the client(s) and others is vital to successful therapy. Knowing the situational sequence history and hierarchy of those involved gives to understanding and instituting change in the client(s). These are all important areas to understand and develop in order to practice problem-solving therapy effectively.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2010
This book is brief. It is written in Jay's usual style with wry humor, clearly written, no wasted words and a focus on the importance of working with families as the most efficient approach to solving an individual family members problem. This was written when family therapy was a high art. It will be challenging to many who have been trained in recent years and don't have a family orientation. The book uses examples of work with families as well as a section on training therapists. While it is dated in some ways, it well worth your time and will be helpful in your practice or class room.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2013
I was wowed by Haley's directive approach to family therapy. This book provided me with some new ideas and very clear directions for implementing Haley's strategies. However, I think you have to be a real artist to be effective with the latter.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
This is a classic book for strategic therapists. Great blend of technical and practical teachings with plenty of case studies. I highly recommend to other therapists, especially those looking to use a more directive and strategic approach with clients.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2010
Excellent !!! Grab it and use for your practice whether starting or as a refresher ...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
i very much enjoyed reading this book. compared to other bookstores, this book is reasonably priced. this book highly met my expectations. it's an easy read with a lot of knowledge for someone going to school for family therapy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
This book is an oldie but goodie. It is one of the most useful books to be found in a field that is notorious for producing useless high concepts. You don't walk away form this book. You keep it in your briefcase. Easy to read, easy to use. Very nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2013
This book was part of my course work and it was a wonderful read and very well articulated the methods of strategic therapy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
It was ok...required for a class. I would say if you want to become a family therapist, it should be required reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.