Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Textbook for Product Design!
This book demystifies design and the product development with practical examples of how others have been successful in every phase and activity of the process. Clear, easy to read, well illustrated. Strongest on the engineering and manufacturing perspective, but Ulrich is also sensitive to aesthetics, marketing and consumer experience issues (a rare find!)...
Published on March 16, 2000

versus
3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rewiewing for refreshing the knowledge
I have found this book very informative. My best section of the book is from chap: 11 to chap:12 which are on Economics of and Managing product development projects respectively.
Published on March 16, 2000 by S Mohsin Abbas Jaffery


Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Textbook for Product Design!, March 16, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Product Design and Development (Hardcover)
This book demystifies design and the product development with practical examples of how others have been successful in every phase and activity of the process. Clear, easy to read, well illustrated. Strongest on the engineering and manufacturing perspective, but Ulrich is also sensitive to aesthetics, marketing and consumer experience issues (a rare find!).
After 20 years consulting in the field, I still found lots to learn here. I'd call it a major contribution to the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product development handbook!, January 3, 2004
By 
Jorge (Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Product Design and Development (Hardcover)
This book provides a great hands-on approach to product development. Unlike other product development books that dwell too much on the philosophical aspects of product development, this book gives you practical advice on how to define meaningful product specifications to meet your customer needs and develop successful products. The book provides a very nice concept development process that I've found very useful.
This book is mainly focused on product development processes and does not provide much information on technology development. In addition, the book lacks depth in the strategic aspects of product development(such as market segmentation, strategic management of technology).
If you are looking for a very useful and powerful handbook for product development, this is the book you are looking for. However, if you are interested in the strategic aspects of product development, you may need other references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, no-nonsense guide to really doing it., February 3, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Product Design and Development (Hardcover)
Product Design and Development is a very practical, tools-based book. It is written in a way that each chapter can be used on its own (e.g., identifying customer needs, generating product concepts). We require all of our new engineers and designers to read the book and ask them to adhere to the methods associated with several of our "stage/gate processes." This is not a high-level strategy book; it tells you how to do product design and development in the trenches. Excellent book and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for teaching at any level, great methods, September 25, 2002
This review is from: Product Design and Development (Hardcover)
I have used this book extensively to teach undergraduate industrial design students, and graduate marketing, and engineering students who take small product development courses. It's focused, down to earth, practical, and students find they can grasp design issues better than in a more theoretical-philosophical way. I use it myself to guide my design consulting work, has helped me understand other product development (not design) issues that are relevant to me, and I have read it over and over.. great handbook. Production/design of the book is also very nice. It's a pitty McGraw Hill doesn't want to translate it to spanish (so the author told me once).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Applicable, May 23, 2001
By 
This review is from: Product Design and Development (Hardcover)
This is a Product Development book that can explain technical side and process side accurately. This is a good reference for product development plan and activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, March 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Product Design and Development (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed reading through this book. Great information and reference. I would recommend it to anyone looking for more information on this topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rewiewing for refreshing the knowledge, March 16, 2000
This review is from: Product Design and Development (Hardcover)
I have found this book very informative. My best section of the book is from chap: 11 to chap:12 which are on Economics of and Managing product development projects respectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars see blue, June 5, 2002
By 
This review is from: Product Design and Development (Hardcover)
i am arash afrasiabi and i had red this book before i think it is really a good guide for specially industrial designers who want to start their job in this fild so and it can help you to manage your self and your project very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Product Design and Development
Product Design and Development by Steven Eppinger (Hardcover - October 6, 1999)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.