Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginning bloggers
This book is an excellent resource for the beginners (and some non-beginners). The book does an good job of walking the reader through blog software selection, graphic design, monetizing options, etc. I was particularly impressed to see the section on setting it up as a business (LLC, Corporation, etc.), a step that is often omitted in other books on the topic but is...
Published on April 15, 2011 by AdamSTL

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, good for a new blogger
I'd rate this book as great for a newbie blogger. If you've never blogged before, you need this book. If you have, you can do without.

Like all the dummies books, it is kind of scattered at times and doesn't give the whole story. You'll still need to do your own research after reading this book.

That said, I do refer to it from time to time even now...
Published on December 2, 2010 by HeaterAS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, good for a new blogger, December 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Professional Blogging For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
I'd rate this book as great for a newbie blogger. If you've never blogged before, you need this book. If you have, you can do without.

Like all the dummies books, it is kind of scattered at times and doesn't give the whole story. You'll still need to do your own research after reading this book.

That said, I do refer to it from time to time even now as a veteran blogger.

I did buy the Kindle version and it seemed to be formatted pretty well as far as Kindle books go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginning bloggers, April 15, 2011
By 
AdamSTL (Saint Louis, Missouri) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Professional Blogging For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
This book is an excellent resource for the beginners (and some non-beginners). The book does an good job of walking the reader through blog software selection, graphic design, monetizing options, etc. I was particularly impressed to see the section on setting it up as a business (LLC, Corporation, etc.), a step that is often omitted in other books on the topic but is vitally important is the blog is truly supporting a business. I would have liked to see better coverage of website/blog analytics, as a firm understanding of your blogs analytics (e.g., how are users finding your site, which pages are most popular, where are your users from, etc.) can help a blogger determine if/when changes are needed.

Overall, a good book that gives the reader a good understanding of what goes into creating a profitable blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Resource!!, August 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Susan Getgood is an expert in the professional blogging arena, and her book, Professional Blogging for Dummies, absolutely showcases her knowledge. I am currently a professional blogger, and I still learned so much from her book. It includes everything you'll need to know, from technology and growing traffic, to finding a niche and writing, in an easy to read and follow format.

I recommend it for anyone looking to start blogging professionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good For Getting Started, April 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a blogging fan, I finally decided that it is time to get serious. This book is helping me go from wannabe to established blogger. Ms. Getgood does an excellent job in two areas - the step by step process and the expectations.

For the step by step process, Professional Blogging for Dummies starts with planning - discovering your niche. This makes sense because before you blog, you should know what you want to blog about. Planning not only includes blog design and host, but also copyright, legal, and accounting considerations. This is after all, about professional blogging.

About expectations - this does take time. A good blog takes about a year or two for developing and establishing a presence. That news is refreshing compared to the get rich quick stories we hear.

Our family uses this as a reference tool often, and will continue to do so with the new edition when it is released in the summer of 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For beginners, August 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I give it a four star because this book is for beginners. It covers many ideas of blogging, most of them are very practical and easy to follow. However if you've been blogging for a while, you may not need this book. I was gonna buy this book in a local book store but found out amazon offered almost 60% off (I got a used version)..... will definately buy products again on amazon! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for the Basics of Blogging as a Business, July 19, 2011
By 
R. Ramirez (Rochester, NY) - See all my reviews
Overview
Professional Blogging is a 360-page book that gives you an insider's perspective on blogging, not only as a way of expressing and sharing views on a particular passion, but, above all as a professional pursuit. In this sense it incorporates the necessary entrepreneurial mindset and strategies that any revenue generating and reputation building activity should have.

The book follows the standard For Dummies series format, where you're taken from the basics to a more in depth look of the building blocks. The format also allows you to read the sections in any order you choose if you feel there are subjects you already know well.

Content
The Internet is brimming over with content; good and bad. Blogs are created every day, but not all those blogs will be around for long, much less make money. That's why Ms. Getgood emphasizes two main actions throughout her book: planning your blog and writing great content, in order to stacks the odds in your favor in terms of success.

Other than these cardinal actions, which are reiterated and added upon in the different sections, the book explores the legal frame work in which to operate your blog, the public and media relations that a well written blog can bring about, and the technical, as well as logistical, mechanics involved in maintaining your blog.

The For Dummies books wouldn't be as effective as they are without the case studies and testimonials that populate them. This book isn't the exception. Ms. Good uses examples of successful blogs to support the information she's providing. Quite a few of them are intended for moms.

Tone
The tone of the book is very instructional. The author strives to be concise and to the point, describing the situation as accurately as possible and making necessary disclaimers when the topic requires it. There isn't the light humor that some other For Dummies books have, though.

Conclusion
This is a good book to give you the basics of blogging as a business or professional endeavor. Nonetheless, due to the great amount information gathered inside and the logistical complexities of some of the subjects broached, I would suggest reading a simpler overview of the blogging activity such as Start Your Own Blogging Business from Entrepreneur's Startup Series.

If you already have a blog, that's more a hobby than anything else and enjoy it so much you want to turn it into something more, or if you have grown to the point where you think it's only logical to take it to the next level, than you can dive right in to this book. You'll already know enough about the activity of blogging that you won't feel slightly dazed by the "big picture" feel of the content.

Whichever profile you fit, you'll probably want to read the book with your laptop close by, because it refers to websites, blog posts, twitter feeds, etc., that are good examples or sources of information and you'll want to visit as you read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book should be borrowed from a library not bought, April 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is unreadable. Not a "how to do" book but a mish mash of seemingly random ideas and thoughts.
For those who are not tech savvy and want a real "how to do" book, do not buy this book; check it out at your local library instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is a great book!, March 29, 2011
By 
Suzanne Ludlum (Fredericksburg, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
At the same time that I bought "Wordpress for Dummies," I also bought "Professional Blogging for Dummies" by Susan Getgood. Now THIS book is great! She speaks to me more in conversational tone, and covers material I would not have thought of looking into myself. It's a wonderful reference manual that you can skim through and land in any section you need at any time. Ms. Getgood covers all aspects of blogging, from FTC guidelines on blogging and marketing to developing an editorial calendar, designing and advertising. Throughout the book, she references other sites and sources for acquiring ideas and information. She is right, you don't have to read it from front to back (and I wouldn't advise it either, since the section on designing and developing your blog comes AFTER the section on monetizing). Lisa Sabin-Wilson says the same thing in her book, but no matter how I read it, it was still pretty much confusing. I would, however, highly recommend Ms. Getgood's book for anyone who wants to design, build, and monetize a blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 6, 2013
By 
Doctoral Student (Charleston, SC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I haven't finished reading the book yet but what I have seen so far looks very good. Trying to develop a professional blog requires a lot of planning and research
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the info you need, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book covered every detail in depth about blogging....it answered all my questions that I hadn't been able to answer before. After reading it I realized blogging was not for me so this book saved me much time money and energy . Thank goodness I read it before going on what others had said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Professional Blogging For Dummies
$13.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.