Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent JMS reference for programmers
I don't know which book "Michael Vinyard" from "London, UK" read, but this book is most certainly not written "by a vendor or a friend of a vendor".
It's an excellent reference for JMS, and for understanding how to integrate JMS with other J2EE technologies such as EJB and JSP/Servlets.
It's packed full of real world, useful,...
Published on April 18, 2001

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful book about JMS
This book covers a lot of ground about JMS. However, the problem is that it is written by many authors, which results in repetition of some subject, bad structure of the book and more pages than necessary for explaining the subjects.
The first 5 chapters are on 250 pages and cover the basic about JMS, but I think "Java Message Service" by Monson-Haefel...
Published on August 9, 2001 by Dennis Djenfer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful book about JMS, August 9, 2001
By 
Dennis Djenfer (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Professional JMS (Paperback)
This book covers a lot of ground about JMS. However, the problem is that it is written by many authors, which results in repetition of some subject, bad structure of the book and more pages than necessary for explaining the subjects.
The first 5 chapters are on 250 pages and cover the basic about JMS, but I think "Java Message Service" by Monson-Haefel does a better job here. However, I appreciate that there are sequence diagrams in the first chapter that shows basic design patterns for MOM-based applications. The next two chapters is code example that shows how to use JMS from a web application and from EJBs. I'm not too found about this kind of lengthy code examples.
The chapter about JMS and Clustering is very technical, but still only scratches the surface. This is a subject that needs an own book to be covered completely. The next chapter called "Distributed Logging Using JMS" is again a lengthy code example, but a very useful one!
Chapter 10 is about XML Messaging with some XML code example. I think this chapter, like some of the other chapters as well, covers too little to be of some real value and too much for just being an overview. Chapter 11 is about Mobile Applications and the criticism against this chapter is the same as the chapter about XML.
All and all this is a book that covers a lot of subjects related to JMS, but it does it in a boring and verbose way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not right, July 30, 2001
By 
Ashish (Clarksburg, md) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Professional JMS (Paperback)
This book is just a copy of JMS tutorials from java site and has examples which are written using jmq which is no longer available as it has now become part of iPlanet group and they have broken compatibility (Interfaces have been changed) Not the worst book but certainly worst wrox book i have ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent JMS reference for programmers, April 18, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Professional JMS (Paperback)
I don't know which book "Michael Vinyard" from "London, UK" read, but this book is most certainly not written "by a vendor or a friend of a vendor".
It's an excellent reference for JMS, and for understanding how to integrate JMS with other J2EE technologies such as EJB and JSP/Servlets.
It's packed full of real world, useful, examples and certainly not "fluff". It provides some interesting examples to show you how you to use JMS in ***real-world*** scenarios and is better, in my opinion, than the other JMS books out there.
"Another blaming book"? What in tarnation does that mean? Not a very helpful review. Obviously this person never read the book or even cracked the cover on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good reference book, August 31, 2003
By 
Andres Gonzalez (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Professional JMS (Paperback)
I knew nothing about JMS when I bought this book. What I like about it is that it explains the basic concepts of this technology (or should I say API?), And I personally think this is the most important thing. It then moves slowly on how to exploit all the capabilities of JMS.
The book introduces the different aspects of JMS (topics, queues, durable subscribers, etc) and it also explains with java examples. I actually didn't follow much the examples, but I used some code snippets when using it with a different application server. So it also helps.
Anyways, you can always refer back to this book if you have any JMS doubts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather read Java Tutorials, July 30, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Professional JMS (Paperback)
This book is just a copy of JMS tutorials from java site and has examples which are written using jmq which is no longer available as it has now become part of iPlanet group and they have broken compatibility (Interfaces have been changed) Not the worst book but certainly worst wrox book i have ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New big wave for messaging, September 21, 2001
By 
This review is from: Professional JMS (Paperback)
I expect that with introduction of JMS and Message Driven Beans which are based on this technology we will see very big movement towards implementing various application scenarious based on JMS. This book definitely could help you to decide what should be taken in account. I also like chapter on Clustering and Scalability - each enterprise (and you as developer for this enterprise) should think about this during design stage. List of various JMS providers (SonicMQ, IBM MQ Series, FioranoMQ, WebLogic) and implemented by them features could also be helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book for jms, March 30, 2001
By 
"artham" (atlanta, ga USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Professional JMS (Paperback)
i cant find a better book than this for JMS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another blaming book!, April 3, 2001
By 
This review is from: Professional JMS (Paperback)
Don't buy that. It's just another example of a conglomerate of marketing broschures. Each chapter is written by a vendor or a friend of a vendor. It's a really blaming book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Professional JMS
Professional JMS by Paul Giotta (Paperback - Mar. 2001)
Used & New from: $0.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.