Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent PHP book
Ok, this is a very good book. I bought this book, with very limited programming experience. I had only really tinkered around with PHP.
I found this book very easy to read, and use when I needed it later for a specific job. I think this book is better used going through it from start to finish, taking notes, or however else you learn. There are about 200 pages of...
Published on June 13, 2000 by haz_mat

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the php beginner
As a reference manual, "Profession php Programming" has some utility. The 880 pages contain a lot of references to specific php staements, data types, operators and functions. As a demonstration certain programming techniques, it's not bad, either; the bulk of the text follows the creation of pages involving e-mail, LDAP, XML, SQL, shopping carts and other...
Published on June 1, 2000 by Michael J. Edelman


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent PHP book, June 13, 2000
This review is from: Professional PHP Programming (Paperback)
Ok, this is a very good book. I bought this book, with very limited programming experience. I had only really tinkered around with PHP.
I found this book very easy to read, and use when I needed it later for a specific job. I think this book is better used going through it from start to finish, taking notes, or however else you learn. There are about 200 pages of Appendix with some handy references.
I skipped the installation chapters as I had PHP already installed on my web host.
At the end of many chapters, there are exercises you do that links to the chapter you just covered. For the first few chapters you work on a online job application, and build that up at the end of each chapter. Then it moves on to an address book...
At the end of the chapters(before the appendix) is 4 case studies: Shopping cart, Phorum discussion board, Email application, and Database browser. Here they write these web applications, and show you how it's done!
There are not many mistakes in the writing. I think there are two mistakes in the code, but that is covered on their website.
Overall I think this is the best book on the market for PHP. It is interesting, very practical, and is a great book for learning PHP.
What are you waiting for? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, January 4, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Professional PHP Programming (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book.
It talks the reader through installation and configuration in a very effective manner, this has been a stopping block to many of the open-source books that I've read. Although, I would like another page or two explaining how Apache does some of the things it does...but, I guess that is the job of an apache book, not of this already meaty 850 page book.
The book is also has a good balance that fits very neatly between the "for dummies" and the "nutshell" books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahhhh, yes!, January 5, 2000
By 
John Iliff (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Professional PHP Programming (Paperback)
This has been THE PHP book I've been waiting for. Well written, great analogies, loads of examples. If you want to learn PHP this is the book, esp. for those with a passing understanding of Perl, or shell scripting, or C, C++, etc. I can't praise this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent learning examples, interesting apps., July 27, 2000
This review is from: Professional PHP Programming (Paperback)
Boy, my reviews of Wrox books probably seem a little boring, since there is so little fault to find with them. The Wrox programming books are really the best books on the market, and it's interesting that the Oreilly books haven't yet published a decent book on php or xml stuff. I liked the way this PHP book explained the various setup options and the amount of space discussing mysql (which is a major reason why people are using php anyway).
What distinguishes this book from the rest are the examples. The tutorial part of the book works with two simple projects, an online job app and an address book, which were easy enough to follow. Actually, I found this book to be a useful intro to cgi script writing in addition to php.
Also interesting were 4 case studies about ways to use php. Example: did you know that with the qt libraries, php can manipulate images (such as zooming, and overwriting images with text)? That is amazing! A chapter on phorum explains how a discussion software uses php, and another one explains the use of a shopping cart (I tend to agree with the other reader who thinks that this is not necessarily the best example to use). The book also describes other things like using php for file management and storage, email configuration, and network connections. Some other topics covered in depth include: xml, security and database integration.
The appendix has many things. First, obviously, it has an alphabetical list of all the php functions. It also has a helpful appendix on http headers and another on browser support of html tags. This last thing is only somewhat handy to have, because web developers reading this book are past the point of needing browser support info re legacy html tags. Instead developers should be worrying about xml and xslt. Some technical books increase the size of their book by stuffing a lot of code throughout it. Wrox seems to like to increase the size by including large and somewhat irrelevant appendices.
This book made me realize many new potential ways in which php could be used. That is the most valuable thing about the book. I have not tried very much of the code, so I can't comment on whether it all works. But (to summarize) it will really broaden your horizons of what php is capable of.
The only reason I've given it 4 stars is that I haven't read the whole thing yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - but you should know PERL or C first, April 4, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Professional PHP Programming (Paperback)
This book was good for a complete neophyte such as myself. One caveat, I had help with the configuration of Apache, MySQL, and PHP on my Linux box. Getting past that hurdle I was ready to roll on many of the examples in this book.
Its not really possible to give this book a five star rating because it really isn't geared to the total beginner as it indicates - but its close. I would highly recommend anyone coming right out of HTML and such to become familiar with PERL (if not C) I have found that having now learned PERL syntax (quoting rules and such) is allowing me to understand PHP much better.
To conclude - this it the best of three popular PHP books that I have from a "get up an go" perspective - the second best is the PHP pocket reference - at least for now until I am ready to move into more intermidiate to advance scripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to PHP, February 29, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Professional PHP Programming (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn PHP. This book is well written and most of the examples are practical.
This book assumes you have some familarity with programming, although not much. The book is easy to read. The authors have done a good job of making the content interesting and fresh.
This book is especially helpful if you are interested in doing e-commerce since one of the main case studies in this book shows you how to construct a shopping cart.
There is a handy HTML tag reference in the back of the book.
This book is not perfect, few are. Advanced users, as you can see from some of the other reviews, may find it lacking. For beginners and intermediate programmers like myself, it is terrific. It is the best book available on PHP and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unless you are an expert, buy this book!, January 29, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Professional PHP Programming (Paperback)
I've read the other reviews of this book. The negative reviews seem to come from people who are *very* experienced with PHP. I, personally, would say that this book is excellent for just about anyone who uses PHP. My thoughts are that if you spend only a few dollars on a book like this and benefit even slightly by buying it, then it was worth it. I bought this book and have found it useful many times so far. This book is *not* just a reprint of the on-line manual, like other books are.
At the moment this is definitely *the Best* PHP book out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Close for PHP Thoroughness, August 29, 2000
This review is from: Professional PHP Programming (Paperback)
There is really no other choice for throroughness on the subject of PHP. The price is more than reasonable for the breadth and depth of this book's coverage as you'll get this paperback tattered in no time (my personal test of utility - how fast before the cover falls off). It contains an ever expanding tutorial that gets one up to speed pretty fast; as a reference for PHP it holds up very well also. Let's face it, web scripting languages no matter what they are (e.g., PERL, cgi, etc.) are not trivial to use, but this book stands up as one of the best I've seen for satisfying both (serious) beginner, and experienced user. I would include PROFESSIONAL PHP PROGRAMMING as one of my core linux bibles in a set that would also include DuBois MYSQL (excellent chapter on hooking PHP up to MySQL), Laurie and Laurie's APACHE: THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE, and Christiansen and Torkington's PERL COOKBOOK. Throw in any one of the basic Linux distributions with their manuals, and you can take over the world. This (and the other publications) have me up and running on a Pentium 133 with 32 mb of RAM and a 3 gig hard drive - Turbolinux Workstation 6.0, Apache 1.3.9, PHP 4.0, and MySQL (I forget the distribution!). It's a cool world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming from ASP, or nothing at all, it's still good., August 16, 2000
This review is from: Professional PHP Programming (Paperback)
I just have to say that this book isn't the best written or organized book, but hey, they're programmers and doing their best. However, it still is great reading for someone who is coming from Microsoft's ASP or from no experience in server side scripting. The book covers the basics on just about everything and goes into enough detail on the important stuff so you can start coding immediately.
The beginning starts out covering the basics of PHP and server side scripting in general. This explains the difference between it and other languages and also how to use PHP in the first place. The following chapters cover more advanced features available to any programming language, but that still need to be explained specifically to this language (i.e. arrays, objects, functions, strings). Then you get into the good stuff. The book covers relational and non-relational databases, but spends almost all of its time on the mySQL database server. Then it (barely) shows you what LDAP is and how you use it. If you bought this book for LDAP, you shouldn't have. It then goes on to cover how PHP works with XML and the basics of XML. I have to say that these basics were better than some other stuff I've seen. Following that, the book explains how to generate and manipulate images using PHP (a very cool feature) and then how to send and recieve e-mail using the POP3 and IMAP protocols. And then it explains how to connect to different types of servers using the TCP protocol (connecting to a whois for example). And later on it explains security, such as SSL, but it doesn't go into much depth on this topic and spends much of the chapter explaining how to set up SSL and obtain a security certificate. And finally, and most importantly, it explains error handling and debugging.
So if you are a beginner to PHP and looking to get your hands into each part of the language, this is the book. And in the back of the book, it has a case study for a Shopping Cart that is fairly useful if you know how to fix code and there is also an appendix that covers just about every single command that could be used in PHP. By the way, PHP is WAAAAAAAAAY better than ASP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the php beginner, June 1, 2000
By 
This review is from: Professional PHP Programming (Paperback)
As a reference manual, "Profession php Programming" has some utility. The 880 pages contain a lot of references to specific php staements, data types, operators and functions. As a demonstration certain programming techniques, it's not bad, either; the bulk of the text follows the creation of pages involving e-mail, LDAP, XML, SQL, shopping carts and other popular web applications. You certainly can't faul it for completeness. But as a tutorial for the php beginner, it's rather lacking, unless you're willing to slog through all 880 pages to learn by example.
I think this book is a case of too many cooks; there are five seperate authors, and it shows. The overall organization is confused and inconsistant, and the graphic layout of the book is a mess. There's an awful lot of information here- finding it is the problem.
If you have a specific interest in the topics mention above, and you'd like to see some well-documented examples of how to implement them, you may find this book useful. But if you're a newcomer to php, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Professional PHP Programming
Professional PHP Programming by Chris Scollo (Paperback - December 15, 1999)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.