Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Course in a Book
In this singular book, anyone interested in teaching planting design will find a comprehensive guide. My students are required to buy this book and use it throughout their class in Advanced Planting Design. Its full of challenging exercises and analytical guidelines. Thank you Scott Scarfone for producing this clear, comprehensive text.
Louise Schiller, ASLA
Published on May 8, 2008 by Louise Schiller

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another dreadful kindle eddition
The worst kindle edition of a book I have had, pictures rendered in black and white if at all. All of the colour plates in the standard edition are not included in the kindle edition.
Published on January 24, 2012 by Joe Tye


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Course in a Book, May 8, 2008
This review is from: Professional Planting Design: An Architectural and Horticultural Approach for Creating Mixed Bed Plantings (Paperback)
In this singular book, anyone interested in teaching planting design will find a comprehensive guide. My students are required to buy this book and use it throughout their class in Advanced Planting Design. Its full of challenging exercises and analytical guidelines. Thank you Scott Scarfone for producing this clear, comprehensive text.
Louise Schiller, ASLA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another dreadful kindle eddition, January 24, 2012
By 
Joe Tye "Yarra Joe" (Yarra Valley, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The worst kindle edition of a book I have had, pictures rendered in black and white if at all. All of the colour plates in the standard edition are not included in the kindle edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive yet uninspiring to look at, October 8, 2009
By 
T. Martin (Irvine, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Professional Planting Design: An Architectural and Horticultural Approach for Creating Mixed Bed Plantings (Paperback)
I am very disappointed that the majority of photos are black & white (the few that are in color are not of good quality - have a yellowish hue). However, the text is one of the most comprehensive of the planting design books that I've seen (I have not seen Chen's yet). I'm still on the fence as to whether or not I will be returning this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Organized step-by-step approach to teaching Planting Design, November 2, 2008
This review is from: Professional Planting Design: An Architectural and Horticultural Approach for Creating Mixed Bed Plantings (Paperback)
Length:: 1:30 Mins

This week I review landscape architect Scott Scarfone's "Professional Planting Design". It's a comprehensive guide teaching exactly how to create fabulous mixed bed plantings.

Great read and reference for practicing professionals.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book for Planting Design, March 29, 2009
By 
Eric C. Dana (Lutherville, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Professional Planting Design: An Architectural and Horticultural Approach for Creating Mixed Bed Plantings (Paperback)
An excellent book on planting design. I enjoyed reading it from the Contents section to the final page. A great reference for mixed bed plantings. The text, the diagrams and the photos are presented with style - enjoyable to read and to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Practical text -- drab photos, January 3, 2008
This review is from: Professional Planting Design: An Architectural and Horticultural Approach for Creating Mixed Bed Plantings (Paperback)
Pro: copius details about design principles. Con: lack of color photos -- too many black and white photos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Professional Planting Design: An Architectural and Horticultural Approach for Creating Mixed Bed Plantings
$75.00 $59.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.