Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The TFS 2010 book you will glue to your desk, March 28, 2011
By 
Mohammad Jalloul (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 (Paperback)
With TFS 2010 (and VS 2010), Microsoft have gotten much closer to providing the ultimate package that contains all the tools that an enterprise needs in order to work effectively, efficiently, and productively. But it is certainly the best package currently out there. It is amazing to see the level of integration that is present between the different components constituting TFS 2010 to make it a real ALM toolset when combined with VS 2010. This is something that IBM Rational has tried before and, in my opinion, failed to deliver (the tools did not play well together, and required a significant amount of effort to make them integrate well) leaving a major gap in that field which prior to TFS 2010 has been filled only by specialized integrators who had to deal with all sorts of difficulties in order to make disparate systems work together. And the good news is that this will only get way better in the next version of TFS and VS.

This book can be considered both an introductory book to TFS 2010 as well as an intermediate level coverage of TFS 2010. In fact, some chapters present an advanced coverage of some topics (the administration chapters are an example). It is an excellent guide for anyone new to TFS. It presents a clear way of getting started with TFS as well as how to move to TFS if you've already been using some other source control repository. For folks already familiar with TFS 2008 or TFS 2005 and upgrading to TFS 2010, the book does a great job of presenting all the options you have and what to do to get there. Even if you are a TFS veteran and think you are experienced and well versed in TFS, I am sure you will still find something to learn.

One of the greatest sections in the book and one that I was pleasantly surprised to see was the section on Administration (Part V of the book). This is an important topic that has not been given enough attention so far in books covering TFS, and having one book provide such detail on this topic is refreshing. And what is more cool about it is that much of the information presented in the Administration chapters is based on the internal usage of TFS within DevDiv and other teams within Microsoft. In particular, Grant has been working with the DevDiv dogfood server for as far as I can remember. And I remember during the early stages of Dev10 when I wanted to perform activity logging queries and TFS data warehouse-based analysis on the DevDiv dogfood TFS instance, Grant was gracious enough to provide me with access as well as with the necessary queries to get me started. Grant's expertise in such highly scalable installations both in terms of management and troubleshooting is very evident is those chapters, and I am positive that it will be extremely valuable for anyone managing a large TFS installation. The discussion of how to utilize TFS with geographically distributed teams is a useful one indeed and works well towards the ultimate goal of presenting TFS 2010 as an enterprise-level source control system. To me, this section alone makes it worth buying the book.

I also found it strange that the Test and Lab Management chapter was in the Administration section. This is also another section that I thought would need more love from the authors (unless they were counting on Jeff Levinson's Software Testing with VS 2010 book to provide the more complete coverage of the topic). Nevertheless, the chapter makes up for that by providing very good guidance as well as pointers to external links that provide more information. I also liked the mention of the Test Attachments Cleanup tool as this tool will come in very handy when you start utilizing test plans heavily and collecting a ton of test results data.

I have to admit though that I was a bit worried about the TF Build chapters as they can overlap with the already encyclopedic coverage of the topic in Inside the Microsoft Build Engine: Using MSBuild and Team Foundation Build, Second Edition. However, it was evident that the presentation focused on how to get started with it if you were someone new to the product or someone that has used Team Build 2008, and then how to get really productive and customize your implementation. Another thing that was very cool in the Build chapters that I find rare in Microsoft books is that discussion and fair comparison to competing products. I thought the mention of other tools and systems like Maven, CC.NET, and Hudson was a good addition to the book (perhaps the advantage of having someone like Martin being part of this book?). Overall, I thought that the TF Build chapters only slightly overlapped with the content from Inside the Microsoft Build Engine book, but they also presented content that is unique to this book (for example, the discussion of building Ant and Maven projects with TFS). I found the coverage very informative and useful.

I also found the Reporting and Sharepoint chapter quite informative. However, I was hoping to see more in the Project Management section. In particular, I though the discussion of Project Server integration was very brief (about half a page). I think this is an important topic that deserves probably a whole chapter dedicated to it.

Overall, the book delivers great value and does very well in terms of presenting concise and useful information without rehashing any MSDN documentation but instead including tinyurl pointers to more detailed content. This is definitely one of those books that you will be keeping constantly on your desk and will probably have a bunch of bookmarks or post-its sticking out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for working with and managing TFS 2010, March 18, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 (Paperback)
While the book does contain standard pieces of information that you need to administer a TFS 2010 installation, the big value is in the non-standard, non-documented, not available on the web information. Things like being able to plug into the TFS request pipeline to handle events on the server-side. A great example of this is being able to audit security through simple methods that are guaranteed to fire.

Another great focus area is customizing the process templates. In the past you might have had to call a consultant (I am one of those consultants) but this book does a great job of explaining the details so that virtually anyone can make effective changes that work right the first time.

Build automation and customization is another point that is great to show how to work with Windows Workflow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Reference for the TFS Administrator and expert!, March 27, 2011
This review is from: Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 (Paperback)
This book should be required reading for TFS 2010 admins and TFS 2010 consultants. It's also an excellent book to anyone interested and related to ALM (Application Lifecycle Management), software engineering and software development processes.

Microsoft is the best organization when we talk about documentation. TFS 2010 have lots of user docs at MSDN and also have a TFS 2010 Instllation book and a TFS 2010 Admin book. But I recommend that anyone involved with TFS 2010 installation and administration read first this book. It will be a lot easier to understand the documentation after this book.

This book also points to a lot of material in blog posts and shows a lot of third party tools to leverage and empower TFS 2010.

If you are new to ALM in general or new to Microsoft Approach to ALM I recommend you read first the book Professional Application Lifecycle Management with Visual Studio 2010, also by Wrox Press. The "Pro ALM" book is the user view (user is any member of a software development team) and the "Pro TFS" is more about the Admin view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential TFS Resource, June 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 (Paperback)
This is a great book for both beginners and experts of Microsoft's Team Foundation Server 2010. Each section has a introduction chapter that is geared towards the beginner. Then each progressive chapter in the section is for more advanced users. There is even a "Getting Started" section that is great for beginners and people trying to introduce TFS into their organziation. In total, there are 5 sections:

- Getting Started
- Version Control
- Project Management
- Team Foundation Build
- Administration

What makes this book especially good, is that it is not a rehash of information from MSDN. The authors give information that can't be found anywhere else and share their personal best practices that they have learned through thousands of deployments with customers.

As an expert in TFS, I was and am learning new things through this book all the time. What a great resource! It is essential if you want to get the most out of your TFS deployment!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have TFS 2010 Reference, April 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 (Paperback)
Team Foundation Server is a broad subject and this is a broad book. The good news is, it is also deep.

The book is broken down into 6 parts getting started, version control, project management, team foundation build, and administration.

The book covers planning a deployment, installation and configuration, ensuring code quality, migration from legacy version control systems, branching and merging, work item tracking, customizing process templates, reporting and SharePoint dashboards, customizing the build process, scalability and high availability, disaster recovery, security, performance, testing and lab management, and distributed teams.

It covers all topics in-depth and with a clear writing styling. The text is very well written. It can be read from front to back or it can be used as a reference.

The downloadable code was very well organized and usable.

My two favorite part were the branching strategies and the process template customization. There is not a lot of good info out there on customizing the process templates, so this coverage is very valuable.

All in all if you are using or administering TFS, this is a must have reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TFS Book Yet, April 11, 2011
By 
Robert M. Hardister (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 (Paperback)
This book is way more than is list of features and demo-level descriptions. It targets the questions and issues that professional teams encounter with the implementation and use of TFS. For example, the sections on branching, source control and builds read like a direct response to questions and concerns voiced in meetings I'm actively involved in. Another great feature of the book is the comparison to TFS with other tools like Subversion. Again, this is very much the kind of information that engineers want to know when evaluating and using TFS

The authors are all veteran SW engineering practitioners with deep Microsoft and industry experience. This clearly shows in the relevance and high-value this book provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Add this to your bookshelf, June 5, 2011
This review is from: Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 (Paperback)
A few months back some distinguished members of the Microsoft ALM community released Professional Team Foundation Server 2010. I've recently completed reading it and below is a review for those who may be on the lookout for some reference reading. Disclaimer: I received a complimentary review copy, though I reserve the right to offer an unbiased opinion.

If you have been on the lookout for a book which covers Team Foundation Server (TFS), then chances are this is going to meet your needs. Given the amount of material this book provides, from technical illustration and reference to real world problems, solutions and tips, it represents excellent value.

I highlight `you' and `covers' above because you may have a specific area of interest and skill or you may wish to acquire a general knowledge of TFS. As the book states, it is for Developers, Testers, Stakeholders, Project Managers and Business Analysts, TFS Administrators, and Extensibility Partners, i.e. pretty much everyone. It is also clearly structured so that you may choose what areas you are interested in. The authors say the book is not for `developers or testers who are just starting out their craft', however I see no harm in these people reading this book to see and learn all the cogs that are provided by TFS to provide a successful ALM experience.

Given that this book aims to provide so much coverage and is only ~650 pages, there is extensive linking to external resources like MSDN and blog posts. This isn't a particularly bad thing, however I feel that in some cases the authors should have incorporated the content into the book. With this in mind, remember to have some bookmarks or an internet connection available when reading.

Seeing this books' Table of Contents reminds one of just how extensive TFS is. There are parts of the book which I skim read, but I know I will go back to reference when needed. I believe the selling point of this book is that it will provide you with direction and answers for your particular skill and a first step reference to the other parts of TFS when you encounter them.

I unreservedly recommend Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 for your bookshelf (be it physical or virtual).

My Rating

For Beginner / Intermediate Users: 5 / 5
For Experienced Users: 4 / 5

Mike
(Blog Review: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something of anyone who uses TFS2010, May 1, 2011
This review is from: Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 (Paperback)
So who is this book for? Well it is a comprehensive guide to TFS 2010, its components and their usage, but this does not mean the book is only for teams new to TFS or people planning to take certification exams. Spread throughout there are useful little titbits of information where you find yourself going `I never know that' or `arr.. that explains so much'

So I would suggest it is well worth a look for anyone who is working, or planning to work, with TFS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Reference, March 17, 2011
This review is from: Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 (Paperback)
A great reference for Team Foundation Server that you will go back to again and again! A must add to your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's one of the standard books on TFS 2010. Works great., June 11, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Pasadena, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 (Paperback)
Has pages, they are made out of paper. When you turn them there's new information on every page! It tell me I need to write more for this review... here it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Professional Team Foundation Server 2010
Professional Team Foundation Server 2010 by Martin Woodward (Paperback - March 29, 2011)
$49.99 $32.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.