Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$39.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 7, 2013
I can’t decide if this book was worth the cost. It is basically an introduction to Visual Studio. Most subjects are not covered in enough depth to be of any real use. That is not totally the author’s fault. Visual Studio and the .NET libraries are so complex (too much so in fact) that many topics are best covered by entire books. The most useful things in this book are the mentions of new features introduced with VS 2012 and review of those obscure features I’ve never noticed or bothered to learn about in the past. The trouble is, you pretty much have to read it cover-to-cover to discover such gems. If you are already familiar with Visual Studio, you’ll spend a lot of time skimming familiar topics looking for those details.

As others have noted, the type is small (probably necessary for such massive content). Far worse is the size of the figures illustrating screens, which are so small they are best viewed with a hand lens. Furthermore, a few figures are apparently not the ones described in the accompanying text. The grammar is places requires more than one reading and in a few spots is apparently just incorrect.

This book might prove useful as a reference for certain environment features but you can probably find that information in the Help system. It is not a good reference if you are looking for in-depth coverage of the programming languages or technologies supported by Visual Studio 2012 and .NET 4.5.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
In depth and good examples, with sample code. Great to help you get the most out of the new VS2012 quickly. I've been using it as a reference book and to learn the new ways VS2012 makes you do things. It eliminated making a lot of dumb mistakes, so the first big project was completed quickly (on-time) and worked flawlessly. I'm all for "printed" help, especially well-written help like this.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
The book is extremely thorough and well written. The first section covers practically every option, where it exists and the options you have for getting started. If you're going cover to cover there's a lot of stuff you'll probably come back to after you're in the product for a while.

It has been a few versions since I've been in the Visual Studio product so the author's insight in putting the book together is extremely useful to me as a low volume application developer.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
A book on development environment Visual Studio 2012 may seem strange, because often we focus on a programming book, on a specific programming language (eg Visual Basic or C #).
This book, then, comes out a bit from the norm, because it provides information on the IDE and on all of its features. This does not mean that inside there aren't code examples: if you look at the site that I mentioned at the beginning of this review, you can find many examples of downloadable code (VB and C #).
However, the code examples in the book are primarily explanations of particular techniques and of specific features of Visual Studio 2012.
The book can be useful, therefore, to both novice developers so they can learn all the things that you can do with Visual Studio 2012, and more experienced developers who can find a highly accurate reference to all features, including these most advanced.
The book includes topics that I find very useful, such as references to Windows Azure, to the Windows Store applications (Windows 8) , the unit testing and even six pages about programming in F # ( as you have probably noticed, I started the study of this programming language ... ) .
All this combined with the extreme clarity of the text and of the graphic.
Wrox never disappoints.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
This book does cover all of the aspects of Visual Studio. It is a great read and if you want to master VS this is the book. I personally think that the time spent reading this book could be better spent reading coding books which is how I read (like a novel) but if you just want it for reference it is a perfect find.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2013
Book has good material, but after using a computer screen for a while, I don't want to be subjected to small print in a tech book like this. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but there is no warning on Amazon that I know of that this book has small print!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
I have read Bruce Johnson's books before and have found his writing style works for me . More than 1000 pages, good overview supported by good deal of detail and code examples.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
A bit too in-depth for a beginner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2014
Very satisfied with this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
Book has excellent content and read several chapters so love all the examples which are great so very pleased with book content. Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse