Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
This book is a compilation of short biographies of the winners of the Profile in Courage Award. It is a group effort, being the work of numerous historians and writers. I found these stories inspiring because many of them illuminate political leaders who took actions they knew would be detrimental to their careers. Yes, most of the award winners have been on the liberal...
Published on May 18, 2003 by John D. Cofield

versus
26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These are the most courageous people they could find?
I picked up this book hoping to be inspired by leaders who showed selfless sacrifice. Instead, I found myself reading about people who lacked character and caved in to political pressure. Like Carl Elliott, an Alabama legislator who signed a manifesto declaring that segregation was against the Southern way of life, joined the racist George Wallace on a campaign...
Published on July 4, 2002 by Andrea McMakin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, May 18, 2003
This book is a compilation of short biographies of the winners of the Profile in Courage Award. It is a group effort, being the work of numerous historians and writers. I found these stories inspiring because many of them illuminate political leaders who took actions they knew would be detrimental to their careers. Yes, most of the award winners have been on the liberal side, but personally I find that a healthy antidote to the sort of "leadership" the mainstream media prefers to applaud these days. And don't forget good old Gerald Ford, whose biography (by Bob Woodward, no less) eloquently makes his case for his pardoning of Richard Nixon. Many readers will disagree with some of the choices for the awards and with some of the conclusions of the authors of these biographies. Nevertheless Profiles in Courage For Our Time is an inspiring effort meant to remind us of the highest qualities we should expect from our leadership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These are the most courageous people they could find?, July 4, 2002
By 
Andrea McMakin (Richland, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Profiles in Courage For Our Time (Hardcover)
I picked up this book hoping to be inspired by leaders who showed selfless sacrifice. Instead, I found myself reading about people who lacked character and caved in to political pressure. Like Carl Elliott, an Alabama legislator who signed a manifesto declaring that segregation was against the Southern way of life, joined the racist George Wallace on a campaign platform, and spent himself into poverty by buying TV ads with his Congressional pension while running for governor of Alabama. This is a man of courage? Then there's Judge Charles Price, whose crowing achievement seems to have been ruling that another judge could not display a plaque of the ten commandments in his courtroom. Lowell Weicker was lauded for pushing a state income tax through after his election, though he had opposed such a tax as a candidate. Oklahoma legislator Michael Synar, when faced with an audience of doctors questioning him about the Clinton health care plan, told them to go to hell and stormed out of the room. When I got to the part about the "courage" of Ford pardoning Nixon for Watergate, I gave up reading in disgust. Caroline Kennedy needs a new selection committee, one with a less liberal bias. Here are a few candidates the committee might want to consider for the next awards: Anwar Sadat, for tirelessly seeking Middle East peace and being martyred for it ... Bishop Desmond Tutu, a true moral leader who presided over South Africa's Truth and Reconciliation Commission ... Winston Churchill, who sacrificed his political reputation to fight the policy of appeasement and to call for the shoring up of Britain's defenses against the Nazis' rising power ... and Dietrich Bonhoffer, the German theologian who was martyred for his resistance to Hitler. If you want to read an incisive and well-researched book on character, I highly recommend Os Guinness's book, "When No One Sees: The Important of Character in an Age of Image."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unsung heroes, May 8, 2002
This review is from: Profiles in Courage For Our Time (Hardcover)
Featured in this book are people who made the tough decisions -
the right ones for the situation and often at the cost of their
careers. An example is Gerald Ford who pardoned Nixon so that
the country would not be mired in the Nixon mess for years and
could move on. He knew it would cost him re-election and it
did. Right or wrong, he did what he thought was right.
Courage of convictions - how many of us have it - the unsung
heroes in this book deserve the spotlight this book gives
them -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some profiles better than others, January 5, 2005
By 
Rebecca M (Somerville, MA USA) - See all my reviews
The "profiles" in this update to JFK's classic, are varied in both their subjects and their presentation. These accounts are not uniform in quality. Most stirring are those with a personal flavor such as Bob Woodward's profile of Gerald Ford, wherein we see a hidden profile of Woodward as well. However, others seem either too detached or tediously narrative, such as Michael Daly's "The Irish Peacemakers" which outlines the alphabet soup of the political/religious strife in Ireland, but does little to connect the overall themes of courage to anything outside the situation.

It is a good read, but not all the selections hold interest. I'd recommend particular excerpts for good classroom reading. I also commend the acknowledgement of politicians, leaders, and activists on both local and global levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courage, October 13, 2011
Taking a page from her father's Pulitzer prize winning book Profiles in Courage, Caroline Kennedy wrote Profiles in Courage for Our Time.
A collection of essays by distinct individuals on winners of the Profile in Courage Award given by the Kennedy Library Foundation and are a cross section of America's heroes. One award was granted to the Heroes of September 11.
From Gerald Ford unpopular decision to pardon Richard Nixon to the resilient John Lewis who was literally beat up on the Petus Bridge in Selma, Alabama.
What I find most useful in this book is it gives you a good sense and background of individuals of which you may have heard their name but were not familiar with what exactly they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Echo Chamber for Kennedy Foundation Ideology, March 12, 2011
By 
Everyone profiled was either a close friend of Kennedy's or advanced the political agenda of the Kennedy foundation. This book is not about 'politicians who courageously risked their careers over ideals' but about politicians whose ideological work is in line with Kennedy Foundation agenda. They also tossed in a mention of the 9/11 firefighters, who while heroic, don't match the book's premise.

One profiled person deserved to be in the book -- Carl Elliot Sr, a man who died penniless because he supported civil rights in the deep south. Yes, he was a close personal friend of JFK, but unlike other men in this book, his courage ruined his political career and he was historically vindicated. This guy could be in the first Profiles.

The most undeserving man is Weicker, who lied about tax legislation to get elected in Connecticut, then cut corporate taxes and implemented a budget balancing flat tax. This gave to the rich and took from the poor. While the Kennedys may pay less taxes, this was not a courageous man.

Overall, a flawed imitation of the first Profiles of Courage, not worth your time unless you also share the ideals of the Kennedy Foundation, which appears to be the main criteria for selection. A trade on JFK's reputation without substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real courage inspired by the man who defined leadership., May 8, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Profiles in Courage For Our Time (Hardcover)
This is a great buy for anyone who admires real courage and those who define it not through grandstanding and media posturing but through selfless acts with outcomes that cannot be controlled. Courage is not simply reacting to a situation with correct but obvious actions, but rather stepping out of the box and a zone of self comfort to right a wrong situation regardless of the personal consequence. After September 11th, many politicians, right up to the top, have acted admirably, but have not done anything particularly courageous. This is not to say they are bad people or bad leaders, or that they have not acted correctly, but they either aren't like, or haven been given the opporutinty to be like, the individuals whose stories grace this well written, well researched and entertaining collection; People like Representative Elliot, who fought bigotry and hatred and was subjected to practical homelessness and bankrupcy long after the country came around because of it. Since the heady days of the 1960's, the nation has been searching for heroes like those men and women who led the country through the decade and into the future, some making, in the case of Ms. Kennedy's father and uncle, the ultimate sacrifice. Hopefully this book will help us to better identify those people who are quitely working through conviction and nobility to make the country and the world a better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, June 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it was as inspirational as her father's book - has proven herself to be a very inspiritional writer very informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DON"T READ, WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME, May 31, 2013
Her ego is too big. I HATED THIS "BOOK". It was a gift. What a waste of paper. NOT impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Success, May 12, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Profiles in Courage For Our Time (Hardcover)
Mrs. Kennedy has once again demonstrated her keen inteligence and her practice of an on-going dialoque with the American people. The book keeps with the spirit of her father's work, is equally as lucid, yet adapted to our times. Mrs. Kennedy said in a discussion about the book that if her work turns out to be half as good as her parents, then she will be proud. Indeed, Mrs. Kennedy should be very proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Profiles in Courage For Our Time
Profiles in Courage For Our Time by Caroline Kennedy (Hardcover - May 1, 2002)
$23.95
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.