Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference for the Experienced Programmer
I've worked with the App Engine for about six months and have gained most of my knowledge from the online documentation. I wish I had had this book when I started. This is the best explanation I've seen of entities and how they relate to transactions. The code examples in Python and Java are extremely helpful and give great insight into how the two languages approach the...
Published on February 3, 2010 by Robert Hancock

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beginners and Hobbyist
I am extremely disappointed in this book.

I expected more from O'REILLY publishing and a whole lot more from a Google employee with working experience using GAE.

This would have been a good book if you have no idea what is GAE.

The book tries to split between Python and Java rather than try to get one language right and has syntax errors...
Published 23 months ago by KingDuck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference for the Experienced Programmer, February 3, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Google App Engine: Build and Run Scalable Web Apps on Google's Infrastructure (Animal Guide) (Paperback)
I've worked with the App Engine for about six months and have gained most of my knowledge from the online documentation. I wish I had had this book when I started. This is the best explanation I've seen of entities and how they relate to transactions. The code examples in Python and Java are extremely helpful and give great insight into how the two languages approach the App Engine abstractions. The sections on data modeling and Django integration are particularly good. Not only did this book fill in gaps in my knowledge, but it is sufficiently detailed that I'm sure I will keep it on my desk as a reference. I've tried the other App Engine books and this is by far the best. If you have any interest in the App Engine, start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars App Engine for the real world, December 31, 2009
This review is from: Programming Google App Engine: Build and Run Scalable Web Apps on Google's Infrastructure (Animal Guide) (Paperback)
I think the book does a great job at explaining Google App Engine. There was no "technical fluff" added to the book which I always appreciate. By "technical fluff" I mean unneeded text which should be looked up else where like in documentation. Also, I found the book very easy to follow and found I could manage to jump around from one chapter to another without reading the book linearly. For example, I was able to read the 1st chapter and a half and then jump to the Django chapter and get a sample Django 1.1 app with the admin interface live on App Engine without much trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and concise book to get you started on GAE, January 30, 2011
This review is from: Programming Google App Engine: Build and Run Scalable Web Apps on Google's Infrastructure (Animal Guide) (Paperback)
... Metadata...
Title: Programming Google App Engine
Author: Dan Sanderson
Publisher: O'Reilly
ISBN: 059652272X

... Disclaimer...
1. I purchased it using my own money.
2. I have a beginner-level understanding of GAE before I read this book.

... Some background on Google App Engine...
Google App Engine (also used by the acronym GAE) is a platform for developing and hosting web applications in Google-managed data centers. It was first released as a beta version in April 2008. Google App Engine is cloud computing technology. It virtualizes applications across multiple servers and data centers. Other "cloud"-based platforms include offerings such as Amazon Web Services and Microsoft's Azure Services Platform. App Engine differs from services like Amazon Web Services, though, in that AWS is Infrastructure as a Service while App Engine is Platform as a Service. (From Google App Engine, Wikipedia)
As always, you can find more details on Wiki.

... Now, let's talk about the book...

Programming Google App Engine (GAE) is an extremely practical book.

It starts off by giving readers an overview on what GAE is capable (And incapable) of - From how it's architected, to how you, as a developer in GAE, administrates your app on Google's cloud.

Then it dives all the details - From how to register and create the basic application to data storage, caching, web request, messaging and job scheduling, and the book wraps up with showing you how you can deploy your application to GAE.

You can find all the topics the book covers here.

... The Goods...

#1 Chapter one is fantastic. It re-tells the story of "This is how you get started with GAE" in a concise story - Comparing to Google's Getting started guide, this chapter not only saves you time, but also cut the unnecessary brain power and memory space to comprehend something you really don't need to understand at this early stage.

#2 The 3 datastore-related chapters (Chatper 4 - 6), while long, tells you the differences between a traditional relational database and Google's BigTable data storage mechanism. It also points out what you need to watch out for when designing a data model for GAE to a certain extend - Which is extremely helpful to get you started.

... The Bads...

If the author could use a small project as a example to demonstrate all the points he discussed in the book. It'll make all theories easier to understand - In the datastore section, due to my heavy background in relational database, I need to re-read couple sections to fully understand what the author was trying to convey. There are examples - But they are all isolated, and at times it could be a bit confusing to re-learn another example.

... Wrapping Up...

Great book - Good price, great info. I should have spent the time to read this book instead of browsing Google's GAE tutorial online. I'd recommend this book to anyone who're interested in building his/her own App on Google's cloud.

... On The Side...

In the datastore chapter, while the author did cover the basics on how the BigTable implementation differs from relational database. I'd like to see more in terms of how, if you're from a relational database background, how you can adopt the new data store model without bringing your "old self" into the new technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Guide For Experienced Web Developers, January 7, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Google App Engine: Build and Run Scalable Web Apps on Google's Infrastructure (Animal Guide) (Paperback)
This is a great, and fairly in-depth, guide to the Google App Engine API's. It presents both Python and Java API's on equal footing. Navigation through the book was very clear and straightforward whether you want to take the Java or the Python path. The development environments are presented as well. This book will be most useful if you are already familiar with web application development and just need a tutorial with simple examples for how to do this type of programming on the Google App Engine framework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Google App Engine book available, January 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Google App Engine: Build and Run Scalable Web Apps on Google's Infrastructure (Animal Guide) (Paperback)
This is currently the best book on the market describing Google App Engine -- and to the best of my knowledge, I've reviewed them all, either through Safari Books Online or in book stores. The author, Dan Sanderson, is a tech writer and software engineer at Google and clearly had access to the development team. The book is current (or current enough) as of December 2010. While some of the information is available online, the book contains information I've not found elsewhere. Most helpful is product architectural descriptions, in particular, descriptions of datastore indexing schemes and transaction processing. It addresses programming in both Python and Java. I highly recommend it.

Note this is not a book on Google Web Toolkit (GWT) and I've yet to find one I recommend. To develop an application for App Engine, you will need GWT as well. Programming in GWT has been a walk on the wild side. There's much conflicting information on the web and it requires a bit of 'nuclear particle physics' software engineering to sort it out -- you fire a 'software proton' through GWT and see what spews out the other side. With enough protons, the product internals are gradually revealed. Programming Google App Engine considerably reduces the need for this kind of experimentation on the App Engine side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beginners and Hobbyist, September 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Google App Engine: Build and Run Scalable Web Apps on Google's Infrastructure (Animal Guide) (Paperback)
I am extremely disappointed in this book.

I expected more from O'REILLY publishing and a whole lot more from a Google employee with working experience using GAE.

This would have been a good book if you have no idea what is GAE.

The book tries to split between Python and Java rather than try to get one language right and has syntax errors in some of the example code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for GAE Applications, February 13, 2012
This review is from: Programming Google App Engine: Build and Run Scalable Web Apps on Google's Infrastructure (Animal Guide) (Paperback)
Salient features of this book that makes it a worthwhile buy:
1) App Engine Architecture with figure 3-1
I do not think this information is really anywhere in the public domain. This is good information for anyone considering GAE as a serious delivery platform. This section gives out a very detailed intro into how the app engine is spread out. Very good information for Architects when thinking about GAE app design.
2) For each area of GAE, there is an example in Java as well as Python. While I lean toward Java, this is important for serious GAE adopters because for certain areas of GAE programming, python may have better facilities.
3) There is no other authoritative book on GAE. This book is from a Google Employee. He has more information on GAE than outside authors.

What needs improvement:
1) Ideally the book should consider an application as example and highlight how GAE features can be made use of, wrt the application.
2) The author clearly has python expertise compared to Java. There are some chapters where it is evident that Python programming got the treatment while the Java description is lacking. I am unsure if this is due to lack of clarity in GAE for that area.
3) Eclipse Google Plugin. It is not used very well in this book. The deployment etc is mainly done via the python scripts. The plugin is pretty well sophisticated to handle GAE app deployment/redeployment/debug etc. I do not see local debugging also described here for Java applications.

Anil Saldhana
Chicago Java Users Group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good title from O Reilly, October 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Google App Engine: Build and Run Scalable Web Apps on Google's Infrastructure (Animal Guide) (Paperback)
It didn't take long for me to read over this book and come to grips with Google App Engine.

It quickly helped me know what the App Engine would be great for and the limitations of the platform.

Id recommend it for anyone looking at using the platform as it saves you hours of looking though online documentation that I found a bit thin and can help you come to grips with the use of the platform for Java and Python.

Having Django in the book is also a great plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Overview and Reference, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What I liked most about Dan Sanderson's book is that provides and superb overview of the Google App Engine (GAE) and the Data Store. The examples that Dan choses are simple, but sophisticated enough to provide real insight into the construction of a realistic GAE application. "Programming Google App Engine" also gives one the confidence to explore more topics outside of the scope of the book. Because of that, I was able (after several failed attempts) to put together working Python applications based on GAE.

The book assumes no experience with GAE, but it best suited for someone with either programming or Python experience. The one shortcoming of the book, in my mind, was the section regarding Django; while I recognize the book may be a couple years old, and the preferences of the community change, there are a number of difficulties with using Django and GAE that are not explored. (I don't think the examples, as written, work in this case).

In sum, if you are considering the Google App Engine, this is an excellent first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow, February 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Google App Engine: Build and Run Scalable Web Apps on Google's Infrastructure (Animal Guide) (Paperback)
For the experienced Java EE programmer, this book is good enough. Not good for anybody else. Its treatment of the datastore is its weakest point. It explains the concepts decently well but the weakness lies in using the low-level API only, w/o using higher level JDO/JPA SDKs such as Objectify, which is what most programmers will end up using anyway. Also, this idea of trying to handle both the Python & Java APIs to GAE does not give the author enough space to go in-depth into either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Programming Google App Engine: Build and Run Scalable Web Apps on Google's Infrastructure (Animal Guide)
Used & New from: $0.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.