Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars22
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 15, 2014
I had a copy of this book as well as two others by Lilly that I greatly treasured. After moving house more times than I care to count, I confess to having lost those volumes somewhere along the way. A pity because Lilly's work has always been an inspiration to me. He was a controversial and scholarly researcher who was not afraid to undertake research on a particular issue simply because it made his colleagues uneasy. LSD's potentially useful mental health applications and the value of complete sensory deprivation in a flotation tank to learn more about psychosis brought on by prolonged isolation made a lot of scientists treat Lilly as a pariah. That never deterred him. However, Dr. Lilly was ultimately most famous for his research in interspecies communications using captive wild Dolphins. His methods and procedures were scientifically impeccable but he came to realise that the Dolphins had a level of consciousness on a par with or superior to that of humans. The finding shocked him. The ethical implication of keeping a sentient species captive for his scientific convenience was clear to him: it was not acceptable. What he had learned from his work with the Dolphins in his specially designed tanks was that interspecies communication was not only feasible, it was inevitable once we stop assuming that animals are "inferior" to humans. At the time (early 1960s), the primary differences between Humans and Animals were the human invention of language and the use of tools. Starting in the late 60s and early 70s, however, it became apparent that animals are capable of creating both language and tools and had done so for a long time. As better field observation protocols developed, the assumptions based on unique human language and tool-making began to fall away. Much of the credit for that should go to Dr. Lilly. He had a brilliant mind and an independent spirit that refused to conform to other people's definitions of "normal" which was only a synonym for mediocrity in his book.
I am delighted that Programming and Metaprogramming is back in print. Some books should never go out of print.
11 comment29 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 1998
This is a both a period book of historical significance and a book that set the stage of the "New Age" flood of hip books. John Lilly began as a seriously respected main stream scientist. His book "The Mind of the Dolphin" began his journey into alternate spheres of realities. After spending many hours in sensory deprevation tanks both with and without the addition of LSD he began to present writings such as this to detail his inner exploation in a manner similar to Tim Leary and Richard Alpert aka Babba Ram Das. Now many years after having read this book I would like to have a chance to re-read it, especially in light of the advances made in main stream Neuro-Psychiatry. What was thought to be "fringe science" may make more sense in light of our recent advances. This book is more coherent than his later work, "Center of the Cyclone". As a knowlegeable armchair psychopharmocologist and a professional psychotherapist I can say this book needs to be re-evaluated.
0Comment23 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2009
A difficult but enlightening read. As a previous reviewer said, an attempt to write an owner's manual to the brain: a guidebook on voluntary neuroplasticity and modifying your own internal wiring. Obviously not the final word but a worthy effort and far ahead of its time (in the West at least).

A pioneer in many fields. Highly recommended.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
I was fortunate enough to receive a pre-release edition of this book and it really helped to open my eyes into the early research that John C. Lilly performed using mind altering substances and sensory deprivation.

As a fan of floating, I took for granted the experience that float tanks provide without ever really knowing the history behind it all.

This book contains early John Lilly findings that inspired further isolation research by Lilly involving the magical boxes we now call float tanks.

Overall... the quality of the printing is spectacular and it's nice to see a reprint done right!
0Comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
In this book Lilly describes self-metaprogramming, the idea that your internal software, the way your brain operates, the loops that run all day, the self doubt, self criticism, the echoes of childhood trauma, the habits and patterns we accumulate, are entirely up for refactoring, for rewriting, is possibly the most self-empowering idea I've encountered.

Lilly was also a pioneer of Float Tanks, one of the single greatest external tools for achieving effective self-metaprogramming, and this book sheds light on the early days of this effort.

Thank you, John C Lilly, and thank you Coincidence Control Publishing for releasing this edition unabridged, straight from John's biocomputer to yours.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
Lilly was one of the greatest scientists and pioneers on the limits of human possibility of modern times but after his death a collective amnesia has descended and his is now almost forgotten.

Lilly was a generation (or more) ahead of his time. He is almost single-handedly responsible for the great interest in dolphins (which led to the Marine Mammal Protection Act in the USA and helped to found the animal rights movement). In 1958 he noted that the brains of elephants and cetaceans were larger than ours, that we should not abuse them and that it was one our most important projects to communicate with them. He invented sensory isolation tanks (at NIMH in 1954) and used them extensively with and without powerful psychoactive drugs at a time when it was thought that either the brain would shut down or one would go insane if external stimuli were eliminated.

He created methods for implanting electrodes in mammal brains and was planning to do it to himself. He was one of the first to make serious use of computers in bioscience research and created the hardware and software to make the first attempts to communicate with dolphins. He self experimented with dangerous physiological investigations in high altitude medicine for the military during WW2, took LSD with dolphins and movie stars, submitted himself to the rigors of Arica training, and taught classes at Esalen.

He was the first one to investigate the bizarre psychedelic ketamine, and his results (published in the two last chapters of his book `The Scientist`) are still the best data on the dose/effect relation of any psychedelic on one person. And all this happened before most of us were born!

He had courage, honesty and integrity that is rare anywhere and almost nonexistent in science. His goal was to find the ultimate truth about everything and he went about as far as anyone ever has. He had little patience with the stupid and hypocritical games one has to play to fit into monkey society. Of course the reaction of the establishment was predictable. He left the NIMH and was never given any government or academic support for the last 35 years of his life. His paper and comments at a conference on sensory deprivation were removed from the published version. He was not invited to government sponsored symposia on dolphins(he had refused to help develop them as weapons), though he clearly knew more about them than anyone in the world.

He liked to live and work on the edge and few could keep up with him, as this books make clear. If you have read some of his other books it will be much easier going. He was a pioneer in consciousness research and pushed the boundaries of our understanding of who we are and what we might become. Among other things he catalogs the various states reached by drugs, meditation, and isolation, tries to determine their significance, and suggests how to use them.

As a result of all his research, especially his months of continuous hourly injections of ketamine, he became convinced that our ordinary reality was not the only one. During his trips he was often in communication with members of a civilization 1000 years in the future. We all allow ourselves such experiences every time we watch a scifi movie and sometimes it leaves us more than just amused, but when anyone meditates or takes a drug to do it we tend to discount the results. Lilly however, took it all seriously, and parts of his book explain why. Whatever our mind produces --by any means --only happens because our brains are programmed by our genes to make it possible. So it's at least plausible that any of these routes inward reveal fundamental aspects of what's possible for us in the future, or even for some other species elsewhere in the universe.

If you find his scientifically based viewpoints irrational, consider that most people believe without evidence (really with abundant evidence to the contrary) in good and bad luck, in super beings living in space who rule the earth, in a place in spacetime where dead people go, in stars millions of light years away influencing their lives, and in ghosts, angels, witches, and gods that come to earth to inhabit statues that read our thoughts and violate all the laws of physics, chemistry and biology in order to help us personally.

He describes his tank work (and lots more) in The Dyadic Cyclone, The Center of the Cyclone, and in Programming and Metaprogramming in the Human Biocomputer (1967) and other books and papers.

This and his other books are pleas to examine your beliefs with an open mind.

He defines metabeliefs as those about belief systems. He says that our simulations of reality (with meditation, isolation, drugs, computers) can provide access to other realities which may include the future, the past, or extraterrestrial. He refers to metaprograms as learning tools (symbols, programs, languages, ideas, models) which our central programs (mind or part of it) run all the time. Cognitive psychology did not really exist at the time he was most active and now we would likely call the central programs cognitive templates, modules or inference engines.
He refers to self-metaprograms (or essences) as parts of the mind that program our experiences.

Though he carried out an exhausting and dangerous program of self experimentation with psychedelics (what many now call entheogens), he did not believe they are a final or complete path to higher consciousness.
However, as I reflect on this, I note that tens of millions have successfully explored their cognitive templates with psychedelics while meditation alone may have generated a few hundred thousand satoris and probably less than 1000 mystics of whom we know. It is also clear that psychedelics have led millions to meditation.

He mentions the very psychedelic Revelations of St. John and understands that Jesus taught revelation from within-- ie, the same sort of self transcendence as Taoism and Buddhism. He discusses how we use drugs, sex, money, groups, war etc as substitutes for God. God as compassion, science, consciousness or superspace (the then current concepts of cosmology are explained and he imagines the universe collapsing and being reborn--very contemporary!). He discusses god in here vs god out there but notes that if it's out there then its a puzzle where math comes from. His experiences make him doubt that death is the end.

He was very open to all ideas and his desire to consider all points of view makes some parts of his books rambling and a bit incoherent. He crams so many ideas on each page that there is easily enough in each to form the core of ten books or a lifetime of research and personal exploration. Among the blizzard of mind boggling ideas are: war is the result of a future civilization using us for war games; we are god simulating himself, our interstellar rockets find intelligent machines that follow us back to earth and take over; government sponsored meditation classes, computers that control and monitor all communication and take control of civilization, our genes generate the illusion that we live in a certain and determinate universe; we are simulated by God or vice versa.

Though he must have crossed paths countless times with Indian mystics and Buddhists, strangely, he was most influenced by an obscure American mystic named Franklin Merrell-Wolff--another remarkable figure now almost totally lost in time.

Lilly was an extremely bright and highly rational person yet he became convinced of the reality of his extraterrestrial membership in a future civilization and he went into a 6 week depression after a ketamine trip in which they showed him the collapse of the universe.

It was clear to him that the phenomena of the mind were capable of scientific study but this was quite heretical 40 years ago. What a great pity that he never delved into Wittgenstein's philosophy nor became acquainted with Osho!

Some of his books like "The Scientist" end with reprints of some of his papers and poems.

Someone should put all his writings plus photos and other memorabilia on a DVD!
11 comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
An important book. Take your time reading this - it can be quite complex, but, it's fascinating and enlightening stuff. Well worth the effort!
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2006
The book explores parallels between computers and the human brain. It is Lilly's attempt to write an owner's operating manual on how to use the brain and central nervous system.

Lilly's list of scientific achievements requires a full page in Who's Who in America. He pioneered the original neuroscientific work in electrical brain stimulation, mapping out the pleasure and pain pathways in the brain. He conducted the first research on inter-species communication with dolphins and whales. He invented the isolation tank and conducted significant research on sensory deprivation. Lilly died in 2001.
0Comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
an engaging, erudite work on how to use one's brain to the best of one's ability. Philosopher/scientists like Lilly combined such rationality with a real sense of the poet's heart. A rare combination that makes for truly inspired writing.
I highly recommend this book.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Programming and Metaprogramming in the Human Biocomputer' made by Dr. John C. Lilly is a reprint of a very important scientific book that was written almost fifty years ago, still being the most sincere and well-made try to explain and examine the psychedelic experience while using LSD.

Besides those subject Lilly discusses the invention of float tanks, communication with dolphins and other interesting things related to our brain, or as he called it - human biocomputer.

Certainly, Dr. John C. Lilly was a different type of scientist who has turned his back on the academic community to perform research about things that no matter how interesting were still for a long time taboo.

Therefore, if you want to read a scientific book which though fifty years old is today as fresh as in 60s when it was written, you will not regret it if you will select 'Programming and Metaprogramming in the Human Biocomputer’. Writing it Lilly managed to create work that in same time uses scientific approach and particular personal inner states.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse