Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Need a Quick Review of Data Structures and Algorithms? Make This Your "Little Black -- or rather -- Yellow Book.", February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview (Paperback)
I was surprised when this book arrived; it was much thinner than expected but it packs a lot of punch. The author succinctly describes the data structures, algorithms, and the code; the weaknesses and the strengths of each solution. Think of this text as a Strunk and White for the programming set. I was looking for something to help learn C++11 and one way I learn a new language is to solve little programming puzzles and this book made an excellent guide. The text starts with elementary data structures and it quickly builds up from there. It may be a primer for technical interviews but I think it is also valuable as a desk reference for quickly reviewing and implementing data structures into your coding solutions. Let me know when Volume II is ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to learn fundamentals needed for difficult problems, April 2, 2012
This review is from: Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview (Paperback)
Programming Problems: Fundamentals in C++11 is an effective in bridge in the gap between computer science theory and the practical problems encountered day-to-day in the software engineering industry. It provides an important refresher for professionals in the field and a challenging set of practical problems perfect for new graduates hoping to gain insight into potential questions that may be asked during technical interviews. Every problem is fully worked through and implemented in code using the new C++11 standard so the reader can compare the output of his solutions with that of the book. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to build their understanding of the fundamental data structures and classic algorithms of computer science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for interviews with top notch companies, April 28, 2012
This review is from: Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview (Paperback)
I have nearly three years of experience in the industry working for one of the top software companies, after completing my PhD in computer science. In my opinion, this book is easily the best around in helping prepare both fresh graduates and currently working professionals for interviews for software postitions. One of the best features of this text is examples where actual interview problems are discussed, the quaility of these questions is very close to what is asked in the industry today. Another great part of this book is that all the examples in the book are in C++, which have been compiled and run for correctness.

I strongly recommend this book as "THE" text for anyone appearing for interviews for software positions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book to Read, November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview (Paperback)
If you need to improve your understandings to algorithms with practical samples but concise content, this book would fit for your needs.
This book is very short but the codes in this book deserves to read as interesting quiz.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview (Paperback)
Extremely useful set of books - gives you answers to most technical interview questions. Be sure to carefully read both volumes and work on a code before going to an interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview (Paperback)
I found this book to have a lot of useful information in it and would recommend it to anyone in programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, March 16, 2013
By 
yongfeng liu (University Park, PA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview (Paperback)
It is a great book which is very helpful with people preparing for technical interview. It has lots of vivid examples which can help people to understand the problem. The examples are really good which are hard to find in other books for technical interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is source code available?, August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview (Paperback)
Where can I download source code for both Volume I and II?
And it would be perfect if main (driver) is included for testing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, helpful little book, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview (Paperback)
It's not the best book around in this category but it's a handy book to have and covers some important material that often comes up in tech interviews. I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for technical interviews, June 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview (Paperback)
This book contains many fundamental problems for technical interview. Although identical question might not be directly asked in the interview, it is still important to review all these problems. I would suggest use this book for first-round revision for technical interview, then use "cracking the coding interview" to practice more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview
Programming Problems: A Primer for The Technical Interview by B. Green (Paperback - March 29, 2012)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.