Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with detail yet very approachable and easy to read
I'm coming at this as a Ruby beginner but experienced software developer. The book really got me up and working with Ruby very quickly. It's great for easily finding topics to explain code I'm reading and does a great job of explaining how features work that I'm new to (I'm coming mostly from C++ and am blown away by what Ruby can do!)
Published on April 1, 2011 by Stephen Huston

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not What It Was Advertised To Be
This book doesn't seem to be very logically organized or put together. Perhaps someone with tons of programming experience will appreciate it - I did not. For someone just starting to learn Ruby, stay away from this book - I think you might be disappointed.
Published 12 months ago by Carol L Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive tome, September 20, 2012
This review is from: Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby) (Paperback)
As in previous editions, "Programming Ruby 1.9" covers the Ruby language and standard libraries in thorough detail.

This book is unique in that it contains two distinct sections. The first half of the book is the Ruby tutorial, which explains the hows and whys of the language. The last half is reference material.

The tutorial section is not designed for non-programmers. If you don't have much programming experience, this book will not help you understand the concepts, only how to implement them concisely and elegantly.

The reference section covers the Ruby standard library. Some of the more obscure bits of the standard library are surprisingly hard to find online, so this book is one of the few I actually use as a reference while programming. Flipping to the relevant section is far faster than trying to sift through pages of years-old blogposts for the specific method you need.

The writing is clear and effective, and the examples are well-thought out. Every language book should be like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for learning Ruby and as a reference, April 8, 2012
This review is from: Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby) (Paperback)
This is an excellent purchase for those who want to learn Ruby or work with the language. It teaches you everything you need to know step by step, clearly. The last few sections are for reference and I often refer to them when for any reason I can't access the Ruby online documentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book for Ruby users, need some advanced topics, March 20, 2012
By 
Xiaoge Su (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby) (Paperback)
I bought this book because reading a paper-back book is more comfortable than the online book on ruby-doc. The book is clear, well-formed, starting from the most essential topics (as I have read matz's book I neglected them). However the part III, Ruby Crystalized, is the most attractive part and it talked both the programming styles and tricks for intermediate users. Also the reference of classes, as appendix, is a valuable replacement of the online doc. The problem is the part "Extending Ruby" which teaches how to write a plugin for Ruby is missing. I cannot find it anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Use this book, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby) (Paperback)
Had to learn ruby quick for work. This is a great go to book for when I am stuck. Use this book for great ideas and cleaning up code
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, January 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby) (Paperback)
Great 'must read' book. Really appreciated all the hard work for authors to write this book. Highly recommend for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For advanced programmers interested in all the theory, July 12, 2010
By 
M. Toll (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby) (Paperback)
I really didn't enjoy this book. I purchased this book based upon the reviews and my hope was to use it to get up to speed on Ruby in a rapid manner. The author makes all kinds of assumptions that the user already should know certain things. While there are many examples, they are very dense and theoretical in nature. The author spends more time giving every possible theoretical way of using a particular feature of the language and does not offer many real world examples.

I am already an experienced programmer having mastered Java, PHP, C, and Visual Basic. Still, I find the syntax of Ruby hard to understand and this book does not help. I am not going to give up on Ruby. I will keep this book as a reference and seek out some other instructional guide for learning the language.

My advice to those wanting to learn Ruby for the first time - buy a different text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Others better, July 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby) (Paperback)
The book offers lots of detail and theoretical/algebraic examples. Very dense even on simple facets of ruby, but then gets lost in theory trying to explain moderately difficult aspects. I am a firm believer that when an individual masters a topic they can explain even the most difficult aspects in a clear way....no present contrived examples that are almost formulaic in there presentation. I'v had to read a few sections several times only to undercover the author was just trying to explain a very trivial aspect of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do you expect?, April 28, 2009
By 
This review is from: Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby) (Paperback)
I have had this book in PDF in beta. I have a copy of the Second Edition but I still wanted this newer version. High quality as you'd expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The holly bible of Ruby 1.9, May 28, 2009
This review is from: Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby) (Paperback)
The definitive guide to Ruby 1.9. There isn't another resource to looking for. It isn't neccesary..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ótima Picareta., August 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby) (Paperback)
Gostei muito do livro, fácil entendimento aborda deste coisa simples até mais complexas. Agrada a todos os gostos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Programming Ruby 1.9: The Pragmatic Programmers' Guide (Facets of Ruby)
Used & New from: $1.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.