Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginning programmers
This is a great book if you know what you are getting - a text that teaches you the basics of Java in parallel with simple game programming. In that sense it is somewhat mislabeled. This is great for high schoolers and up who are interested in both subjects, and is particularly good for people who don't have the patience to go through Core Java(TM), Volume I--Fundamentals...
Published on June 28, 2008 by calvinnme

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying projects, not quite basic enough for a true beginner
We've had this book for about 6 weeks. First off, I must say that the projects within it are completely satisfying. My two boys have loved the end result.

The book is written in a nice conversational tone with plenty of written information. My guess is that it is an excellent book for people who have a very easy time extracting information from reading...
Published on July 10, 2009 by Stacy F.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginning programmers, June 28, 2008
This review is from: Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
This is a great book if you know what you are getting - a text that teaches you the basics of Java in parallel with simple game programming. In that sense it is somewhat mislabeled. This is great for high schoolers and up who are interested in both subjects, and is particularly good for people who don't have the patience to go through Core Java(TM), Volume I--Fundamentals (8th Edition) (Sun Core Series), which is the best book on Java programming on the market, in my opinion. The games are pretty simple, so you won't get bored with the details, but there is enough meat here that you will learn something. However, don't expect to get excited by the results of the simple games that you write either. When you're through, you'll have some idea of how to think like a game programmer and have a basic understanding of Java. Once you do understand Core Java and this book, you might want to check out Killer Game Programming in Java, which is the best book out there on game programming specifically in the Java language, even three years after it was published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun witrh Son, March 22, 2008
This review is from: Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
This is a great book for parents to share with their kids who love video games and have an interest in computer programing. The design of the book is perfect and the conent is easy to apply, even for a computer programing novice. In fact, schools would do well to incorporate it into their computer curriculum as I never met a kid who didn't want to beat the game. I "used" the book with my son and we had a lot of fun developing a program together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying projects, not quite basic enough for a true beginner, July 10, 2009
This review is from: Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
We've had this book for about 6 weeks. First off, I must say that the projects within it are completely satisfying. My two boys have loved the end result.

The book is written in a nice conversational tone with plenty of written information. My guess is that it is an excellent book for people who have a very easy time extracting information from reading. Some of us have this gift. Some of us need more pictures, and perhaps some sidebar explanations with more visual features and more basic information.

Having programmed HTML, I was familiar with the finicky nature of code. However, I have had a very hard time understanding the information in the book and applying it to code without totally cheating and looking at the way it should be written.

My son and I, as kinesthetic learners are having the same difficulty. However, he has a sponge-like brain and can remember bits and pieces of code. He is starting to stray from the projects and create his own. (Thank you Ian Cinnamon!) I, on the other hand, have swiss cheese for brains, and nearly everything I read leaks out.

In closing, I believe this is a good book. I am just going to need to read a few other books on the same subject to pull it all together in order to offer assistance to my children when they get stuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book should be withdrawn from sale, July 17, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
Simply put, the programs as printed are buggy and are often of poor style. The programs are poorly explained. Finally the website that apparently had the sample code for download no longer exists. I can see no reason for ever purchasing this book. This seemed like a fine idea but the editors at Mcgraw Hill were clearly asleep on the job and let this through with no editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars collection of java programs written by a teenager, July 14, 2012
This review is from: Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
This book is written by a kid, but i I would discourage kids from reading it.

It is not an introduction to a good style programming.
After a trivial Section One (by the way projects 3 and 4 are buggy), the book
offers a ready to use code (with many ad hoc constants, typical for kids programs),
running for few pages per project.
The introduction to java in "Section One" is filled in with small talk,
instead of analysing simple working code, like (page 1)
"Statements
These let you do things! Like printing to the screen ...
They always end in semicolons."

The main problem is that the code is NOT available for download.
The website has undergone changes and [...]
is not available anymore.

The author, Ian Cinnamon, has in the meantime become a student and entrepreneur
[...]
I wish with the enthusiasm for programming and training he has now,
he will attempt writing a decent introduction to game programming.
Such a thing is still missing on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, August 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
This book is not very good at all. It is filled with huge code listings of very simple code but very little explanation or deeper theory on game programming. Might be useful to a complete beginner who just wants to copy some code and see some running Java but if you have any experience at all you will probably be bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Promised companion web site with sample code does not exist, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
No use, Still advertised and promised companion web site with sample code does not exist! Spend your money on something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but needs a lot of work., August 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
I don't doubt Ian's prowess as a programmer, but this book is not well written/edited. There are many errors that I would not have noticed had I not had previous programming experience. Also, the descriptions of the purpose of adding particular code is a little vague at times.

Overall: Ian's book is pretty good, but has a lot of errors that need to be corrected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs an experienced programmer, July 15, 2012
By 
E. Bryant "Astro" (Annapolis, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book started out okay, and every step was explained. But when it got to the racing game there was a lot of code for this game that was not explained as you were going along. Thus there was a lot of errors and I gave up on reading it at that point. It would have been helpful if the author had explained more about how the classes were going to be used and how to save them in relationship to the actual program. I may go back and try to pick up were I left off and see if I can get any more out of it, but the games seemed to be primitive up the the racing game and I wondered if that had little explanation how would it be it the graphics became more complex. The author has a lot of potential, but I do not think the editor or the person reviewing the code to see if there was problems with doing the games did their jobs correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but not without erros, October 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
This is a pretty decent book. You will want to make sure you have some experience in Java or programming in general before taking on this book. It is not "hard" code, but a complete beginner would be lost due to the very short and vague explanations of the code.

This book is not without errors either, I found 8 just in the first 11 pages. Surely a technical editor should have caught these,and they are easy to spot, but a total beginner would be confused as to why the code does not work as expected.

Overall a good book, for being written by someone so young. I think the author was 15 when the book was written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius
Programming Video Games for the Evil Genius by Ian Cinnamon (Paperback - February 29, 2008)
$29.00 $19.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.