Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine tale of hypocrisy in Washington
Those of you who resent Republican attempts to legislate morality will
take heart from Garrett Peck's fascinating story of "Prohibition in Washington: How Dry We Weren't." Peck's description of t genesis and ultimate he failure of prohibition demonstrates the futility of trying to force other Americans to adopt standards contrary to common sense and popular will...
Published on April 21, 2011 by Lorenzo Hill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, fast read
Great, fast Christmas break read. Lots of historical tidbits and very interesting for a DC resident. However, my main gripe is that most chapters are only just historical tidbits that just scratch the surface of information before moving on. Kind of kept me wanting a little more in-depth research, but overall an enjoyable book.
Published 18 months ago by LK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine tale of hypocrisy in Washington, April 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prohibition in Washington, D.C.: How Dry We Weren't (Paperback)
Those of you who resent Republican attempts to legislate morality will
take heart from Garrett Peck's fascinating story of "Prohibition in Washington: How Dry We Weren't." Peck's description of t genesis and ultimate he failure of prohibition demonstrates the futility of trying to force other Americans to adopt standards contrary to common sense and popular will. Peck's entertaining and easy to read tale of the bootleggers and speakeasies in Washington DC during prohibition is filled with irony. Most interesting is the hypocrisy of the Congressmen and Senators who voted dry to appease their constituents and then retired to their offices or private venues to imbibe. Anyone who takes the time to read this book will get a close-up of the Washington of nearly a hundred years ago and, if they live in or have been in Washington, will recognize many of the venues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great local history, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great local history by someone who leads the Prohibition tour around D.C. and obviously has a great personal interest in the subject matter. An interesting read for any Washingtonian curious about what was happening in D.C. during Prohibition, and how the city where the law was passed acted during the noble experiment. Peck interviews local relatives of Prohibition figures and explores the haunts of Prohibition excess and the most notable local characters. A great read for anyone interested in the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Research, Well Written & Fun Read, June 3, 2011
By 
DC guy (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prohibition in Washington, D.C.: How Dry We Weren't (Paperback)
This book is so much more than a mere re-hash of Mr. Peck's popular "Temperance Tour." The book is well-researched and includes many "then and now" pictures, lots of interesting facts -- e.g., during Prohibition, any well-heeled Washingtonian could get a drink by snagging a invitation to an embassy event -- and even some vintage highball formulas. The book makes a great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and fun, May 25, 2011
By 
P. Rothstein (Falls Church, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prohibition in Washington, D.C.: How Dry We Weren't (Paperback)
Historian and author Garrett Peck has written an informative, interesting, and entertaining book about Prohibition in Washington, DC. For those who pass sites in DC every day, it's a particularly great read --"Oh, so that's what went on in this building eighty years ago?" For those looking to liberate themselves from the Appletini and other similar "concoctions," the recipes in "Cocktail Interlude" will provide welcome relief. Whether you enjoy history, liquor, DC, or just some enjoyable reading on a Sunday afternoon, this book will be very satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rambunctious Introduction to Prohibition, May 12, 2011
By 
This review is from: Prohibition in Washington, D.C.: How Dry We Weren't (Paperback)
What fun! Peck nicely combines his skill as a tour guide (he leads a Temperance Tour in DC) and as a popular historian to good effect. "How Dry We Weren't" is a breezy read that gives the reader a real appreciation of the lunacy of Prohibition and its rotten effects on our nation's capitol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Read From Author Garrett Peck, April 13, 2011
By 
pinmagic "Neil" (Arlington, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prohibition in Washington, D.C.: How Dry We Weren't (Paperback)
Following on the heels of his first book, "The Prohibition Hangover", Garrett Peck's new book covers the history, the impact, and the legacy of prohibition on the city of Washington, DC. If you live in DC, you'll recognize the many locations cited in the book. (Some are still in business today.) If not, you'll get a flavor for the city, which was supposed to be the Temperance Movement's "poster child" for the dry cause, but was anything but. The book makes clear that hypocrisy in politics is nothing new - presidents and Congressmen alike publicly supported prohibition, while privately imbibing in their own personal stashes of booze.

The book is light and fun - it's filled with old-time photos and maps, and even includes a section of cocktail recipes from Washington's history (including the original "Joe Rickey", called "air conditioning in a glass").

All-in-all, a fast and fascinating read on a unique chapter in American history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, fast read, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great, fast Christmas break read. Lots of historical tidbits and very interesting for a DC resident. However, my main gripe is that most chapters are only just historical tidbits that just scratch the surface of information before moving on. Kind of kept me wanting a little more in-depth research, but overall an enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lively jaunt through those crazy "dry" years, January 30, 2012
By 
JOHN DEFERRARI (Washington, D.C. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prohibition in Washington, D.C.: How Dry We Weren't (Paperback)
Author Garrett Peck knows how to keep his readers entertained. He starts with a fascinating topic--how DID we manage to actually change the U.S. Constitution to prohibit the sale of alcoholic beverages? And what was it like to live those years in Washington? Peck weaves many engaging tidbits into this crazy story and tells many side tales about businesses that went bust or shady characters that suddenly learned valuable new trades when the rules of the game changed suddenly and then almost-as-suddenly changed back again. "How Dry We Weren't" sums it all up, and I recommend a good glass of wine or a favorite bottle of beer as you sit back and enjoy this very engaging book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prohibition in Washington, D. C., August 29, 2011
This review is from: Prohibition in Washington, D.C.: How Dry We Weren't (Paperback)
Author Garrett Peck takes you on a time-travel tour of Washington, D. C., in the crazy dasys of Prohibition. He knows that history is the impact of individuals, from Wayne Wheeler of the Anti-Saloon League to George Cassiday, liquor supplier to numerous Congressmen who had voted for the Volstead Act. Peck's tone keeps the story mildly amusing as well as informative. The book is studded with photos, including Woodrow Wilson's private stock and federal agents on a raid. You don't have to live in Washington to enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars interesting topic, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prohibition in Washington, D.C.: How Dry We Weren't (Paperback)
a disappointing read, not really that interesting as there really wasnt much to comment on during this time in dc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Prohibition in Washington, D.C.: How Dry We Weren't
Prohibition in Washington, D.C.: How Dry We Weren't by Garrett Peck (Paperback - March 25, 2011)
$19.99 $16.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.