Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and Informative Read - Well worth buying
Having attended the recent WebVisions Conference in Portland Oregon (May 14 -18) one of the authors of this book, Russ Unger was a conference presenter (luminary.) Referencing the book, along with the title of his presentation "It's a Good Time to Be You," he made a compelling presentation describing the role of User Experience Design and Designers in this new era of...
Published on June 4, 2012 by Gary D. Moses

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book to get the whole idea.
A lot of repeating information. It could be more straight to the point in some parts.
Anyway I totally recommend this guide.
Published 15 months ago by Daniel Yustos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and Informative Read - Well worth buying, June 4, 2012
By 
Gary D. Moses (La Grande, OR, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Project Guide to UX Design: For user experience designers in the field or in the making (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Having attended the recent WebVisions Conference in Portland Oregon (May 14 -18) one of the authors of this book, Russ Unger was a conference presenter (luminary.) Referencing the book, along with the title of his presentation "It's a Good Time to Be You," he made a compelling presentation describing the role of User Experience Design and Designers in this new era of smart phones, ipads and enhanced desktops. Coming from a somewhat backward web world where people in my position are still considered 'webmasters,' I found his presentation right-on and insightful and immediately went on to acquire the book before leaving the conference.

After sitting on it for a week, I finally thought I'd take a look, mostly to review materials from the conference. 2 days later I had read every word, cover-to-cover and found it not only well written, (there were 3 typos (grammar) - sorry Russ) conversational style, highly legible - a typographically well designed read, but addressing what I had been attempting to put into context in the field of web development and design. Great examples from the trenches, a good review of the players in this arena along with a healthy amount of reference websites and resource materials. The metaphors of the 3 categories for further exploration were cleverly listed as 'Surfing,' 'Snorkeling,' and 'Deep Diving.' Good stuff.

If you're at all curious about what all this UX stuff is about, this is a good start. Also, I believe if you're looking for a good summary as well as some real world examples of UX in the field, Russ and Carolyn Chandler have put together a valuable working resource/reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covers the fundamentals, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Project Guide to UX Design: For user experience designers in the field or in the making (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I have been learning UI/UX in my design program and this covers all the fundamentals plus more that we have been learning in class. This is a relatively new field for designers so I feel it is nice to pick up for a review or learn the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good methodology and real life scenarios, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book, recommended read to learn about a project life cycle from a UX point of view. Only thing is that websites examples are quite old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Project Guide to UX Design: For user experience designers in the field or in the making (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Was recommended to read this book from my design mentor at my company, and it definitely helps explain what is expected of you as a UX employee at a software company - great and easy read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, use it for my classes at design colleges, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Project Guide to UX Design: For user experience designers in the field or in the making (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is a great introduction to the field of UX. The text starts with a high level appraisal and then moves into some actual examples with enough substance not to bore an intelligent learner.

I use this book as a backbone in my UX classes taught at Seattle area design colleges. Great framework for young learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb review. Excellent handbook., July 20, 2012
By 
Eric Reiss (Copenhagen Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Project Guide to UX Design: For user experience designers in the field or in the making (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Time and time again, I hear from potential clients who want my company to "sprinkle a little UX dust" on some tired offering. Well, user experience (UX) isn't a condiment, it's the main course. Do it well, and your company will profit. Do it badly, and you will lose big time. This excellent book helps take some of the "indefinable fuzziness" off the concept of UX and makes it both understandable and operational. Buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good step by step dive into project management, April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Project Guide to UX Design: For user experience designers in the field or in the making (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Well thought out, good examples, plenty of references and resources. All around, it is recommended for anyone interested in UX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love this book. Very informative and an easy read. I dont have any background in User Experience and was still able to follow along and learn a ton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview for new UX designer, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Project Guide to UX Design: For user experience designers in the field or in the making (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is just the thing for an internship for a user experience designer working on a new large web app.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Approach to introduce UX design, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Project Guide to UX Design: For user experience designers in the field or in the making (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Most books on the market talk about UX design very theoretically.
However this book introduces UX design practically by the approach of mapping onto every stage of projects.
This helps the people who are already working in this field to enrich their knowledge and mindset.
For example, when I was reading the book I could easily match my project situation with the book content, and then I found the content I desired and put it into practice when I did documentations and presentations.

The only weakness of the book is that the content are not in-depth enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.