Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Basic Description of the Gameplay
Since there's not one up yet, I thought it might be helpful for people looking at this game to know roughly how it is set up

You start off as one of 3 friends who are torn apart by a civil war, with you and one other friend ending up on one side and the 3rd friend ending up on the other side, so you have to fly against your former friend. That's as far as the...
Published on July 13, 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too good.
I bought this game to support Game Arts, the makers of Grandia... My favorite game of all time.

Their game direction has fallen a bit since the PS1 though...

This game is a cluster bomb of bright colors and trails, confusion, and obscure objectives.
Most of the time I had no idea what I was really supposed to be doing, and just shot down...
Published 21 months ago by Andreas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Basic Description of the Gameplay, July 13, 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Since there's not one up yet, I thought it might be helpful for people looking at this game to know roughly how it is set up

You start off as one of 3 friends who are torn apart by a civil war, with you and one other friend ending up on one side and the 3rd friend ending up on the other side, so you have to fly against your former friend. That's as far as the story side of it really goes as far as affecting gameplay. There are a ton of cut scenes that are very well done so at times this is more like watching a movie than playing a game. The down side to that is that the movie you'd be watching is your typical anime, so not everything makes sense and people frequently do things that look pretty but otherwise seem pointless

Ok, so as far as the gameplay itself goes, you're flying a fighter in space and the whole game is pretty much through your view of the HUD in that fighter. You have a very very small radar screen which is almost useless, but there will be on screen arrows and circles pointing out various important targets and objectives, so the radar screen is really not needed anyway

You have 4 weapons on your ship at any given time, most of which have a limited ammo capacity. You can select these weapons from a list of what's available to you before the mission starts, sort of like Wing Commander, if you've played that. If you run out of ammo during a mission, which never seems to happen except with your anti-ship missles, you can dock with your carrier and re-supply during the mission, then go back out

After the level ends, you'll be rated on how well you did, how much stuff you blew up and which objectives you achieved, then docked for friendly fire, and then given a points total. You can then spend those points to buy better weapons for the next mission

As far as the actual flight controls and all that, I find them confusing in the default arrangement (the bumpers are your weapons buttons?) but they're customizable so that's ok

My main complaint about the game, as of maybe 6 hours in, is that some of the major points are not explained well enough in the rule book, for instance the fact that you basically have to use anti-ship missles to hurt big ships like frigates, and all of your other weapons won't hurt it. It would be nice to know that before you run your guns dry trying to strafe one. Another thing that would have been nice to know up front is that you can click the right thumbstick to look behind your ship and lock on missles to ships that are behind you. But basically after you fail a few missions you'll figure it out, so its not so bad

my other complaint is that your targeting system is kind of iffy when it comes to cycling through the enemies in the area, seeming to skip certain ones. That can be a big problem when you're on a level where you have to take out a certain guy before time runs out and you can't get that guy to come up on your target list, even though he's right there

Other features include special moves like being able to slow down time for a minute in order to get a difficult shot, and afterburners that make you go faster but drain your shields. I'm not 100% sure since I'm on my first play-through, but it seems like the missions may branch out based on how well you do in earlier missions; for instance if you're supposed to guard 3 frieghters and all 3 survive you might get one mission, but if only 1 makes it you might get a different one.

There's a tiny bit of strategy in that you can tell your wingman to attack certain targets or come help you out, but honestly I tried it a couple of times and couldn't tell that they ever actually did anything that I asked them to do, so I'm not really sure how much that enters into the actual gameplay experience.

Anyway, that's all I've got for now. I'm not as far along as I usually get before reviewing a game, but I figured since there was next to nothing about this one in the product description some of you might appreciate a quick run down. I would definately reccomend you pick it up and give it a chance, especially since its only $40
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid space-shooter with some minor hiccups, July 16, 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception will probably be one of the most under-appreciated Xbox 360 titles released this year. It came out in Japan about a year ago, but didn't release here in the states until the week of the annual Electronics Entertainment Expo. With the gaming community's attention at E3, Project Sylpheed's arrival has tragically gone overlooked.

An arcade-style action/shooter, PS:AoD takes place throughout several human-inhabitated solar systems during the 26th (or was it 27th?) century. To be honest, the details of the story aren't that memorable. The game opens with a surprise attack from rebel forces who have banded together to overthrow the supposedly tyrannical government that controls all but four of the human-settled planets in the galaxy. Katana Faraway is on a training mission in a prototype spacecraft called the Delta Saber when he and his squadron are overtaken by a swarm of enemies on their way to attack a major settlement. The story thus follows Katana and the two flights of Delta Sabers from the outset of war to its dramatic conclusion above Earth itself.

The story, which is fleshed out through over an hour of very well-done cutscenes, mostly just serves as a backdrop for the epic space battles that ensue. Each mission usually has two or three parts, and typically has you destroying a certain number of fighters or sinking an enemy flagship. There are also a number of hidden objectives in each mission (normally at least three or four), and are given to you through audio cues or just plain guesswork (i.e. destroy the enemy destroyer that's so far away you can barely see it). Overall the missions don't have much variety, especially when compared to great space-combat games like Colony Wars, but they do get progressively more difficult and often culminate in some exciting moments. Shooting down your first super battleship with nothing more than some well-placed rockets is truly remarkable and results in some of the best explosions see in any game to date.

Speaking of, the graphics in the game are actually pretty spectacular, especially considering the game is technically already a year old. As evident in the in-game cutscenes, there are some excellent lighting effects at work and the whole game seems to be rendered with some really subtle cell-shading (sort of like Zone of the Enders 2). The special effects really make this game shine: vibrant contrails, massive ships, motion blur, and some incredible explosions from the later super-weapons you can acquire (just wait til you kill a carrier in one hit from a maelstrom bomb). However, there's one aspect of the graphics that is also the game's biggest downfall: the HUD. Besides the fact that all your ship's information takes up the complete bottom third of your screen (even on a 16:9 TV), there's just so much other stuff going on at any given time that you'll often be disoriented and overwhelmed. Every single ship onscreen has some sort of reticule and amplifying information attached to it. Multiply this by twenty to thirty fighters on the screen at once, plus multiple targets on the bigger ships, and you can really see how this could detract from the experience. There were several times I crashed head-on into my own carrier to attempt a resupply just because I couldn't tell where the ship was because of all the other HUD information in the way.

The controls on the other hand really do well to augment the experience. You can configure them however you please, and there's also an option to switch between professional and novice flight controls (the professional option has separate buttons for yaw, while the novice option integrates both roll and yaw into the left stick). By default, the right and left triggers control your thrust, and the right and left bumpers control your nose weapon and main weapons (up to 3) respectively. Various manipulation of the triggers allows you to do pretty cool moves and really lets players develop their own dogfighting techniques. For instance, if you're in the middle of a huge furball of fighters, you can double-tap the right trigger to activate an extremely powerful boost to gain some distance. Then if you slam on the brakes with the left trigger, hold B (the manuever button), and hit up on the left stick you'll do an instant 180. With your ship facing the huge mass of enemies, you can hold the left bumper to start acquiring missile locks (up to 60 locks for certain missiles). For an extra touch of style, you can slam on the afterburners with the right-trigger (while still holding the left bumper to keep obtaining locks), and when you've flown back through the mass of enemies, double-tap the left trigger to cut all power to your engines, pull the nose of your fighter back around to the enemies so that you're floating backwards, and let loose with a ton of missiles from a perfectly safe distance. The super-boost and power cut moves are also extremely useful when battling the many huge battleships, cruisers, destroyers, and carriers you'll encounter too.

All in all, Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception is one of the best games to be released this summer. However, that's not saying very much considering how completely lackluster the last several months have been for gaming. If you loved games like Descent: Freespace and Colony Wars, then Project Sylpheed is right up your alley. Otherwise, it could just be a forty dollar diversion to hold you over til something bigger and better comes around.

GOOD:
-Epic battles
-Tight controls
-Gorgeous special effects

BAD:
-Obtrusive HUD
-Uninspired story

WEIRD:
-Not once is the term "Sylpheed" ever mentioned...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a hidden gem, October 26, 2008
By 
karinto (Atlanta, GA, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I actually like it more than Ace Combat 6, and though they're two very different shooters, I think that tells a lot. The controls are good, the graphics are nice, and your fellow pilots are acceptably intelligent. The one thing that's missing is multiplayer. This is one game that would work perfectly with multiplayer online co-op or versus. I'm hoping they'll do a sequel with multiplayer.

If you downloaded the demo on Xbox marketplace and thought the mission was pretty hard, don't fret. The demo mission is one of the extra challenge missions in the add-on pack. The story missions don't start out that hard, and by the time you reach those missions, you have a much better arsenal. The difficulty is also adjustable.

Afraid because the critics reviewed it poorly? Don't trust those negative reviews. Trust the people who actually played the game for some time like us on Amazon and Metacritic.com's user reviews.

Definitely worth the $25 new from Amazon, and the other new/used deals on Amazon are a true steal. When you do get the game, don't forget to download the free extra challenge missions/leaderboard add-on from the Xbox marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shocking sleeper!, August 4, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
At first I was taken aback by the cheap price. However, I took the risk since it was so cheap of a game and I have some faith in SE. First of all, the videos in the game are shockingly pretty and are very well done! The music was also awesome! It was a mix of techno with very action packed scenes with crazy stunt dog fighting.

The story was well written (as expected of SE) with a killer ending that's really worth the time invested to watch. The game has replay value so you can unlock the best weapons in the game and easily get all the achievements (24/24). The laser surfboard weapon was a personal favorite of mine until I found out that there is even more FREE content available for people with X-Box live accounts. Go into game marketplace and download the free expansion! The bonus stages are very tough, but if you manage to win even one of them you are rewarded with killer new weapons to play with at anytime you choose.

The only let down with this game are the controls are a pain in the neck to get used to, but they do work. The best part is that you can totally customize the entire controller to be as specific as you want it to be. I turned the controls into something you'd see in the game H.A.W.X. then I had an instant winner of a game with no fuss over controls.

Give this game a try, you won't be disappointed for your money's worth. It (in my opinion) is currently the best deal for an X-Box 360 game on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great space shooter, January 14, 2008
By 
John (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is an excellent game, for several reasons:

1) The story. Unlike other space plots, there are no aliens here. Just human against human. I personally like the idea that we have enough evil in us to cause us each other grief forever, without the need for an alien race. Plus, you gotta love the over the top anime-esque characters. Also, the "overpowering central government" vs. "freedom-seeking rebel alliance" paradigm is always entertaining, even more so in today's world.

2) The gameplay. It just works. After learning the controls, you can dive in and start fighting right away. But for those who are really into it, there is alot of depth to the gameplay mechanics, such as sliding, gliding, using weapons layouts properly, using special attacks, etc. You could spend alot of time playing over and over again trying to improve your mission grade and using more advanced techniques.

3) Fun factor. The game is just fun to play, period. There's that intangible fun factor that some games have and others don't, which Project Sylpheed indeed has. It makes you want to keep coming back for more.

4) Awesome spaceships. One thing I loved about the old Silpheed for Sega CD was the ship design was so cool. Especially at the time as a teenage boy when I was into spaceships and jets. I find the same feeling comes back to me when playing this game. I love going to the hanger view and just looking at the Delta Saber. So if you are, or were as a kid, into cool spaceships, you'll like the spaceship designs in this game, both yours, as well as all the big battleships and cruisers.

Overall this is an excellent game, one of the funnest 360 games I've played in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Undeserved attention to a great game, August 26, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I also don't understand why this game has gone by without much attention. It's really fun and the graphics are amazing. About the controls you can always customize so that's not a big issue. When I play the game I recall the dog fighting scenes in space from the Robotech Macross Saga Series. Stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, July 22, 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The story line is creative. There are some things about the game that are very annoying (like the the lock-on feature, that seems to pick enemies at random). I have to admit that the game is addictive. Graphics are fantastic, and the missions are challaging, but not impossible. Try the demo on xbox live first, but although short, you will find yourself playing the game all the way through over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ADDICTIVE space-combat simulator action, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I wasn't expecting too much on this one, given not many games approach sci-fi space combat in a realistic manner.

I was extremely surprised that this game exceeded my expectations in every particular. More to the point, this is about the first space combat game that uses principles of naval warfare in realistic fashion - a surprise and delight all the same.

The story has been covered in other reviews - I'll skip on that for now, except saying that it would have been nice for the story to be longer. Coming from an older 360 game, no big deal; this was one of the first releases, and the dev team probably didn't have a lot of time to flesh it out.

The combat is the major selling point. Your fighter, in typical super prototype fashion, can carry a rather massive arsenal and enough ammo to put a serious dent in an entire enemy fleet. This is, surprisingly enough, a very good thing - you will need that much ammo, and you will need to RTB for reloads and repairs frequently enough. Trust me on that if nothing else. You will have over 300 warships to slag in the course of a single run through on a game, and if you scrap half of those, you are doing good.

Of course, being a fighter in a game about fighter aces, you will have more time doing fighter-on-fighter engagements than you will be doing fighter-on-ship. This is where Sylpheed really shines in the realism department. In proper simulacrum of combat at astronomical ranges in space, very often you will not see your enemies before you shoot them down. Your radar is your friend; learn to use it properly, and you will prosper, young ace. Another thing that is properly realistic is your arsenal mixes energy, ballistic, and most helpfully, missile weapons. Chasing down enemy fighters and gunning them into salvage is possible, and in some cases is your best bet, but when doing crowd control against masses of fighters your missiles will be your go-to solution for clearing the unfriendly skies.

Replay value is extensive. It is effectively impossible to unlock all the arsenal in the game with one pass, or two, or even three. Thankfully, your unlocked weapons stay with you, allowing you to rack up higher scores on your second and subsequent passes. If you want to see the glorious heavy-hitter weapons, you will have to work the game over a few times to score the necessary points, but it will be worth it. And, if you are a compl33tionist, the tour-de-force challenge of the game is to sink 1 gigaton of enemy forces - yes, you read that right, 1 billion tons of bandits need to fall under your guns. Given that your average pass through the game will net you roughly 80-100 megatons of sunk battleships, you'll be at it for a while. On the plus side, it does count enemy fighters in your kill tonnage, so every little bit helps.

If you want a good immersion in futuristic space combat done as an extension of modern-day warfare principles, this one is a keeper. And, at around 4 hours a playthrough, with plenty to unlock on another round, you'll want to play it several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Project Sylpheed, May 15, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Project Sylpheed is one of those games that are just fun. It's not going to make you think about life and everything it, and the game is not artistic (don't get me wrong, the graphics look great, especially for it's age). It has a story that's fairly basic and a number of very annoying characters.
However, if you look past that, it's a fun game. The campaign has 16 chapters (I think), and each chapter has 1-3 missions. The missions vary from outright dog fighting, protection/escort, warship combat, to a mixture of the 3. Once you finish the game, you can go back through and do time and score attacks to try and out do yourself. You can also download a pack of challenge maps (6 in total for free), which can be a bit difficult. Depending on how you're playing, it can be a bit repetitive at times, but this can easily be offset by toying w/ your load out. If the game is too easy, switch to unguided rockets and cannons or try and stick w/ a Light Weight Load out. There ends up being a good variety of weapons you can pick from as you complete the game (Some unlock automatically, but most must be purchased w/ points that you earn). A couple of the achievements take a while to get, and all of the missions have hidden sub-objectives you can try to get as well. Personally, dropping a 60 missile barrage into a group of incoming enemy ships or dropping a Maelstrom bomb down on an enemy carrier never gets old.
The Hud is a bit cluttered, as other have mentioned, and I wish there was a way to control that. There can also be a ton of information on allies/enemies on screen at once, and can easily get overwhelming at first. This is something I got adjusted to after a bit, so that could be hit or miss. I'm pretty sure there's a demo available to download, so I would highly recommend that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy fun, if you can overlook the characters, March 29, 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
First, I'm not a fan of JRPGs (too cliche and annoying to me). I didn't buy this game for the story.

I was looking through "the bargain bin" at my local gamestop and saw this being sold for less than $15. I thought, doesn't look all that good. A few days later, I was bored and decided to look up some reviews on this game. I'm glad I did. Screenshots don't do the game justice! The action is absolutely chaotic, with missiles flying every which way and huge star ships providing heavy firepower amidst hundreds of smaller fighter ships dog-fighting. It's really a visually stunning game.

The story-line could be better; it's your typical macross/gundam-esque star-fighter cliche, but that's not the point. Project Sylpheed is just plain FUN, which can't be said about most games these days.

Don't overlook this gem like I almost did, it's worth your time and definitely worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception - Xbox 360
$19.99 $6.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.