Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best--EVER!
The original Blues Project's only studio album "Projections" is easily one of the best rock albums to come out of the 60's. Though it is very hard to find in it's original form, it can easily be obtained by purchasing the "Anthology" CD that is offered by Amazon.com. Disk 2 of the "Anthology" contains the entire "Projections" album in its original song sequence. The...
Published on June 13, 2003 by The Green Man

versus
25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ALL THESE TRACKS ARE AVAILABLE ON "ANTHOLOGY"
There's no reason to pay big bucks for this out-of-print CD, as all of the tracks are available on the "Anthology" 2CD... and, in far superior remastered audio quality than on this disc.
Published on July 21, 2006 by BOB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best--EVER!, June 13, 2003
By 
The Green Man (Stone Bank, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Projections (Audio CD)
The original Blues Project's only studio album "Projections" is easily one of the best rock albums to come out of the 60's. Though it is very hard to find in it's original form, it can easily be obtained by purchasing the "Anthology" CD that is offered by Amazon.com. Disk 2 of the "Anthology" contains the entire "Projections" album in its original song sequence. The rest of "Anthology" is also well worth your money, since it is loaded with their best material live, plus numerous rarities previously not available. Go there NOW to get a copy of one of the top 10 ablums to come out of the 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hidden treasure, January 10, 2004
By 
Brett Cooper (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Projections (Audio CD)
Psychedelic fans, dont be put off by the fact they were called the Blues Project, they didn't play blues all the time. They did in fact make (for 1966) some very advanced psychedelia. This album is worth getting for Steve's Song (track 2) alone. Flute Thing is majestic and if you really want to treat yourself buy The Complete Monterey Festival dvd box and see the very swirly psychedelic live version. I rate this album up there with the best late 60,s stuff. Do yourself a favour and buy the anthology as you will get all of Projections plus great tracks like No Time Like The Right Time, Gentle Dreams and a whole disc of their earlier blues stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ALL THESE TRACKS ARE AVAILABLE ON "ANTHOLOGY", July 21, 2006
By 
BOB (LOS ANGELES, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Projections (Audio CD)
There's no reason to pay big bucks for this out-of-print CD, as all of the tracks are available on the "Anthology" 2CD... and, in far superior remastered audio quality than on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Primo 60's East Coast college groove, April 7, 2011
This review is from: Projections (MP3 Music)
I was at Williams College, 1965-69. A housemate from Long Island introduced me to The Blues Project and this album. Along with "Rubber Soul", Laura Nyro's "More Than a New Discovery" and "Eli & the Thirteenth Confession" and a few others, THIS was my entree into the real deal. Al Kooper and Steve Katz went on to found Blood, Sweat & Tears. Crank up "Wake Me, Shake Me"... far out, man. The only place to go from there is The Rascals' "Good Lovin'".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, February 16, 2014
By 
sunshine1949 (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Projections (Audio CD)
I remember this album when I was 17 years old. Some how or the other, I had lost this album. I purchased it to enjoy one more time. yes, it was worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About As Good As Music Got in 1966, Especially in New York City, March 10, 2013
This review is from: Projections (Audio CD)
This record evokes incredibly powerful memories of New York City, especially Greenwich Village, and what it was like musically in 1966 -- it hadn't been all that very long before this that Jimi Hendrix, for one, had been making his name locally on MacDougal Street (before going off to London to find fame and fortune), amid the folk scene spawned by guys like Dave Van Ronk, Ramblin' Jack Elliott, and Eric Von Schmidt (plus new arrivals like Bob Dylan, Phil Ochs et al), with lots of jazz people still around, too, and blues players also throwing their oar in. And all of those currents seemed to coalesce in the Blues Project, more succinctly than with most of the competition (and that competition included such first-rate outfits as the Glitterhouse and the Flying Machine, featuring a young singer-songwriter named James Taylor). The Blues Project didn't last long -- their original lead singer, Tommy Flanders, left almost before they'd had a chance to record (over an internal dispute), and Al Kooper was gone by the spring of '67 -- but they left us this killer studio album.

When people say -- and more than one person has said it -- that the Blues Project, at one point, bidded fair to be New York's answer to the Rolling Stones, it's this record and the live album that preceded it that they're talking about. The mix of blues, r&b, folk, rock & roll, and jazz was as eclectic as anything heard on the Stones' AFTERMATH, and if they never had a singer as charismatic as Mick Jagger (especially after Flanders' departure), they still managed to come up with a group sound that was compelling (think of a band with five members who EACH brought to the table almost as many different streams of musical consciousness and creativity as a lot of whole groups did).

And Sundazed has done us a service by putting out the mono mix on this record, which the way to hear this music -- no artificial separation of the instruments or other tricks, just the sound of the band, concentrated and loud (think of this sort of like mainlining the album . . . .). True, a perfect mono LP on the right system might sound even better, but how many of us have the "right" system, and a perfect mono copy would be awfully hard to find and probably very expensive today. The notes here are pretty good, too, and the artwork was about as cool as New York City-based rock got in the second half of the 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked masterpiece, June 30, 2009
This review is from: Projections (Audio CD)
WHY is this not in print? Projections is one of the best recordings of the 1960's--period. Every song is outstanding, and extremely creative. I got the LP as a gift from my uncle and wore it out, then got the cassette which (fortunately) still is OK. You owe it to yourself to listen to this amazing and eclectic collection of songs. There are a few blues numbers, but a lot of variety--a bit of rock, jazz, ballads, etc. Now let's get it back in print!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome CD, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Projections (Audio CD)
After seeing the Project play in the Village in 1968 and later at the University of Toledo, I've remained a fan for years. This collection has most of my favorites and should be considered a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars early psychedelic music., July 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Projections (Audio CD)
Had Live at Town Hall many years ago, but was amazed at how Projections gets things moving! I can't stop listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GRET MEMORIES, February 26, 2013
By 
bgaarder@hotmail.com (Council Bluffs, Iowa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Projections (MP3 Music)
Was a big Blues Project fan back in the sixties and loved this album. Great to have it and hear it on digital MP3. Genius music back then and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Projections
Projections by Blues Project (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.