Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promethean brings a new perspective to the World of Darkness.
Promethean: The Created enables extremely tragic roleplaying where players take on the roles of Prometheans - created beings similar to the Monster from Frankenstein. These creatures want more than anything to become human, which involves a long and difficult journey of self discovery and personal evolution that most Prometheans fail to complete. Humanity offers the...
Published on September 13, 2006 by C.W.Richeson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Conflicted
There are some really great ideas in the book, and I love the fact that it has an individual win condition for players, but it is saddled with the New World of Darkness rules.
Published 13 months ago by Brianna Sheldon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promethean brings a new perspective to the World of Darkness., September 13, 2006
This review is from: Promethean: The Created (Hardcover)
Promethean: The Created enables extremely tragic roleplaying where players take on the roles of Prometheans - created beings similar to the Monster from Frankenstein. These creatures want more than anything to become human, which involves a long and difficult journey of self discovery and personal evolution that most Prometheans fail to complete. Humanity offers the promise of eternal life (Prometheans become nothing when they die), acceptance (Prometheans exude a supernatural aura of distrust), and peace (Prometheans suffer from great mental distress).

This is not a game for everyone. For many people this game is going to be too depressing. Humans (even the supernatural) turn against the character at every turn, nature fears and rejects the Promethean, and anywhere the Promethean stays becomes a desolate Wasteland. The character will develop mental derangements during the course of play, create another lonely monster in the quest for Humanity, and even at the end of the long road may fail to become human. If you enjoy playing action and adventure games, where the heroes battle the forces of evil and ultimately save the day, then this one might be worth a pass.

However, for those who are interested in a thought provoking examination of the good and bad of human life this could be a wonderful game. It serves as an excellent vehicle to pose questions like "What is the nature of morality?", "What does it mean to be human?", and "What would you do for acceptance?" A narrowly focused game, Promethean is meant to tell a certain sort of tragic tale and the mechanics reflect this at every turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DARK AND GOTHIC NEW CREATURES FOR WOD, December 31, 2006
This review is from: Promethean: The Created (Hardcover)
Promethean The Created is a new hardcover book for use with White Wolf's mega-popular World of Darkness RPG, and represents a broad new canvas for fans of the game. Promethean offers a new type of character to build and play...soulless corpses, reanimated with life and representing pure Greek Tragedy in their scope, or pure gothic horror...or maybe even both to players. The book bases its background on the myths of things such as the Frankenstein monster, golems, and other such constructs. First, the book does a fantastic job of providing background on these creatures as well as source books and films, giving payers a wide array of options. These created need not be pieced-together bodies of corpses. As pointed out, even creatures such as DC Comics' The Swamp Thing are considered a created being.

Chapter One is vital and provides the player and GM with the setting and background for Prometheans. This is very key as the background of these characters is perhaps more important than any other type of WOD character. All manner of sample Prometheans and methods of creation are included...from alchemical to electricity to primordial beings. You'll find yourself mesmerized for hours by the depth of research done by the game designers. I'm not sure how much of this will ever be used, but it makes for interesting reading nonetheless.

After you've read about these various types of constructs, chapter two will not get you into the character creation phase. Let's just say there's a heck of a lot more to do here than rolling a few dice. Select the character's attributes, skills, specialties, features, and various advantages. There are some excellent examples provided to get players moving in the right direction in creating their Prometheans. There's a boatload of skills and powers with which to equip your character. These include various uses of fire and electricity, but also subtler mental powers as well. This is one of the very best sections in the book and one of the best such sections I've ever read for any RPG system. The amount of detail that the eclectic nature of the promethean abilities is stunning, and even a bit intimidating.

Succeeding chapters deal with Promethean antagonists and storytelling, as well as the Promethean condition and how they affect those around them. The book is capped off with a lengthy appendix. There is so much in this 280 plus book that it's impossible to cover it all in this review. Suffice to say this is one of the most richly detailed RPG supplements I've seen in quite some time. The book is accompanied by the usual outstanding art that you've come to expect from White Wolf.

This is a grand new book in the World of Darkness mythos that opens up a whole new landscape for its fans.

Reviewed by Tim Janson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prometheans, March 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promethean: The Created (Hardcover)
The concept of this game is great. You play a souless creature seeking to understand the human condition and what it means to be human, as well as become human.

While a great concept, the game isn't for everyone. Due to the very presence of Prometheans creating Wastelands and inciting a mob mentality, hatred if they stay too long in an area, the Promethean troop or character always needs to be on the move.

So if you're not willing to have your chronicle on the move or playing with a mixed group of other Supernaturals, the very nature of Promethean will create some problems and based on group maturity, this can be good opportunities for rp or break the group.

I personally think Promethean does best as a stand alone chronicle. And it does involve some reading to fully grasp the concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, October 26, 2008
By 
Henrique Rodrigues (Porto Alegre, RS Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Promethean: The Created (Hardcover)
Mature, well-written, rich both in dramatic ambience and in-game setting. Promethean could well be considered the New World of Darkness' top game of top games. Sure Vampire, Mage, Werewolf, Hunter and Changeling are fantastic - and the World of Darkness generals alike - but this one is so special you just cannot get enough of it. An extremely happy purchase, and a confirmation of its qualities above all greatest expectations. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good but..., February 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promethean: The Created (Hardcover)
In my opinion it doesn't mesh well with the other world of darkness books as these seem to be much more powerful than most of the other races i've seen. Probably the best book for 1 gm and 1 player out of them all, havn't tried a group of promethean players yet, but they work great for an enemy for other races
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Lore, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promethean: The Created (Hardcover)
I have loved the New World of Darkness. I love the lore behind Promethean, but honestly, even after reading this book, I am still uncertain how to play Promethean. It is a very high-concept game, and I am cool with that, I am not big on "combat games" anyway. My issue is with Character Creation. How do you make a character that is not an exact replica of the Progenitor of the Lineage. Each one becomes nearly identical in personality. For people who take a lot of pride in their character's back history, it will be hard for them to negotiate Promethean, because often, NO back history exists. I haven't played it yet, but I know that a lot of people consider it their favorite line because of the high-concepts involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Conflicted, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promethean: The Created (Hardcover)
There are some really great ideas in the book, and I love the fact that it has an individual win condition for players, but it is saddled with the New World of Darkness rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game..., February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promethean: The Created (Hardcover)
I wish this line of game was not limited run, as I really liked it. Being able to create a character that can be like Frankensteins monster is great (mine was made up of Elvis impersonators). I would say this game is a must have and play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Twist on Normal nWoD, January 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promethean: The Created (Hardcover)
Unlike other World of Darkness books, the introduction of Promethean creates a new, albeit depressing, atmosphere for the story. Unlike most of the other types of supernaturals, Promethean's have little to no access to any social aspect in the game. If they try to gain a place in society, nothing but woe and hatred can come of it. While the powers of Promethean's (Transmutations) are an amazing interpretation of alchemy, the players will be more concerned with other things in the game. Combat takes a back seat to getting through each day, not making wherever the player goes a desolate hell-hole, trying not to awaken ravenous Pandoran abominations, and of coarse striving towards the goal of true humanity. Promethean is a great addition to any storyteller's arsenal. One recommendation is to have games either strictly, or mostly Promethean based to to the different nature of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD ADDITION, April 16, 2008
This review is from: Promethean: The Created (Hardcover)
I enjoy the WOD and most of it's associated products on the whole i find the production values higher then wizards of the coast. I have purchased all the other supplements for wod and while i still value changeling as the best I very much enjoyed promethean. The idea of the golem and frankenstien appeals very much especially since a great many of us feel misunderstood at some time or another. the book is well layed out and a joy to read I especially like the opening piece as i believe it really captures the feel of the game. This book will appeal to those who value a strong story line set in a world like our own but whose darkness is personified in various supernatural species. But be forwarned the tone of this game is all about isolation and loneliness in an attempt to garner enough good karma to become human and while we can relate many gamers might not like the idea of playing a character who is reviled by everything and everyone. overall high production value, well thought out and an entertaining system of tranmutations. this tome can be mixed with the others but on the whole promethean don't really play well with others even their own so the story teller might have to make some modifications to make this one work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Promethean: The Created
Promethean: The Created by Justin Achilli (Hardcover - August 10, 2006)
Used & New from: $43.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.