Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Kathryn Shay
I've read some of Kathryn Shay's books, but so far this is THE BEST!!! I was a bit reluctant at first to start reading a book where the hero is 47 and the heroine is a 43 year old single mom of a teenage boy. But once I started, I was hooked. I couldn't even put it down until the last page. WOW. The secondary characters Luke and Kelsey are also so likeable and their love...
Published on January 28, 2004 by Dina_179

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2ndary romance was better
Widowed principal is disturbed by new & attractive school psychologist's presence in her school. It heightens when she finds out that he is working undercover with a partner who's posing as a somewhat troubled high-school senior in order to stop a deadly student plot to commit violence towards the staff & students.

This was an ok romance-suspense book. There...
Published on February 25, 2011 by RomReader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Kathryn Shay, January 28, 2004
By 
Dina_179 (Jakarta, Indonesia) - See all my reviews
I've read some of Kathryn Shay's books, but so far this is THE BEST!!! I was a bit reluctant at first to start reading a book where the hero is 47 and the heroine is a 43 year old single mom of a teenage boy. But once I started, I was hooked. I couldn't even put it down until the last page. WOW. The secondary characters Luke and Kelsey are also so likeable and their love story is so touching that I think they deserve their own book.
Kathryn Shay has carefully and precisely brought the reality of high school life into the book. I was a teacher once, and even so I learned a lot more from her book from my own very limited experience. I wished I paid more attention and understanding to my students beyond their scholastic work,then. Aside from the sweet romantic side, the book is very well researched and very informative that any readers can benefit from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece....., March 16, 2003
Agent Joe Stonehouse has dedicated his life to preventing violence at schools nationwide. His current assignment has sent him to Fairholm High School where he has been hired as a school psychologist. Joe is a man that has had many tragedies in his life, from his horrific childhood to losing the niece that was like his daughter in a school shooting. He has trained himself not to feel anything for anyone but his family, however he had never met anyone like Suzanna Quinn, the principal at Fairholm.
Suzanna Quinn is the widowed principal at Fairholm. When Joe Stonehouse and his partner Luke Ludezky want to come into her school prentending to be uncle and nephew, she is incensed. She has always stressed how important honesty is between her staff and students and she feels like it's a betrayal of all that she thinks is important. The hardest thing Joe asks her to do is keep it from her fellow teacher and surrogate daughter, Kelsey Cunningham. Joe convinces her that it is worth keeping from Kelsey as the lives of many students are at risk.
This is my first Shay novel and I was very impressed. The way she depicts the emotions of the characters is heartbreaking. All the characters have had something happen in their past that they are trying to deal with and they all turn to eachother. The secondary characters of Luke and Kelsey is especially heartbreaking, as Kelsey honestly believes she has feelings for a student that aren't at all teacher-like.
Shay also stresses to the reader how common violence is in schools and how important it is that adults, whether parents or teachers or counselers, be available to talk with them without jugding. I can't wait to pick up another Shay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2ndary romance was better, February 25, 2011
Widowed principal is disturbed by new & attractive school psychologist's presence in her school. It heightens when she finds out that he is working undercover with a partner who's posing as a somewhat troubled high-school senior in order to stop a deadly student plot to commit violence towards the staff & students.

This was an ok romance-suspense book. There wasn't any big surprises on the suspense-action part. The main romance didn't grab me but I sure did like the 2ndary romance with the 31-yr-old teacher & 26-yr-old Secret Service agent posing as her 19-yr-old student. Unlike the main romance, the 2ndary one was more emotionally-pulling & exciting. It's sexual tension was far better than the main one. I think part of my liking the 2ndary romance is a matter of my taste. I don't find romances with older-aged couples & especially with one who has a teenaged son particularly interesting to read about. A teacher-student romance with both characters under 40 is more of my cup of tea. Shay's writing is good overall. Dialogue, flow, & characterization were fine.

Limited recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timely well written romantic suspense, August 18, 2002
For the past five years, widow Suzanna Quinn has diligently worked as the principal of Fairholm High School in New York. Her philosophy is openness and honesty with the faculty, students, and parents. Until recently that has proven quite successful, but popular student Zach Riley changes the climate when he shockingly commits suicide leaving a note behind that warns Suzanna of a threat to her.

Secret Service Agent Joe Stonehouse pushed the formation of the School Threat Assessment Team after a gunman killed his beloved niece and four other teenagers. Now he believes Fairholm High School could be in jeopardy based on Zach's suicide note and an alleged hit list. He goes underground as a crisis counselor at the school. However, he finds himself very attracted to Suzanna and knows he violates everything she believes in with his covert activity.

With all the incidents in schools over the past decade and the post 9/11 homeland security question, PROMISES TO KEEP is a timely romantic suspense. The story line is well written as Suzanna epitomizes the struggle when community safety tramples on individual rights and the need to know. The romance between the lead protagonists augments the dispute between Joe and Suzanna on what needs to remain cloaked in secrecy. Kathryn Shay provides no easy answers to the safety and security vs. freedom debate, but the audience will feel they have reader a thrilling complete tale.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, December 4, 2002
By 
Three years have passed since Secret Agent Joe Stonehouse's beloved niece was killed in a school shooting. Since then, he has been dedicated to stopping that kind of random violence. His latest assignment has him masquerading as a guidance counselor and the uncle of a troubled youth, who is another agent, in a high school. His mission is complicated when he meets the principal, Suzanna Quinn, an attractive single mom to whom he finds himself drawn, despite the complications such a romance would create. On top of that, his "nephew" has definitely more than student teacher relations in mind when he sees Kelsey, one of his teachers.
As the two couples dance along the fine line between business and pleasure, a plot to have another Columbine is forming in their school. Romance could compromise the whole mission, and love between any of them could endanger not only the mission, but their hearts and careers as well.
... A timely, current novel that is easy to identify with due to the relevance contained herein, it is a welcome addition to the shelves. Ms. Shay should have broken into the full length novel genre long ago. Her talents are always finely displayed in the deep emotion her words evoke and her well thought out characters. These are all living breathing people you might meet anywhere at any time. The action and suspense balance well with the love, so that neither plot is skimped upon. I eagerly await her next release...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promises to Keep........Interesting Storyline....., August 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promises to Keep (Kindle Edition)
Promises to Keep by Kathryn Shay has an interesting storyline which include two secret service agents, Joe Stonehouse and Luke Ludzecky, who go undercover at a high school in an effort to intervene before school bombings and shootings take place.

Both agents develop love interests in the high school which are totally contrary to secret service regulations. The younger agent, Luke Ludzecky, goes into the school as a tough high school senior and falls hard for Kelsey one of his teachers, while Joe Stonehouse becomes involved romantically with the principal of the school.

I have read several of Kathyn Shay's books and enjoyed each one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pre-quel to "Close to You", April 24, 2007
By 
Tracy Vest (Northern California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When his beloved niece (and namesake) is gunned down in a school shooting, Secret Service agent Joe Stonehouse devotes himself to ridding schools of violence and joins a task force where he and a youthful colleague go undercover to circumvent the potential for bloodshed. A student's suicide and some notes predicting violence (along with a hit list) bring Joe and his partner Luke Ludzecky to upstate New York. Widow Suzanna Quinn has an open policy for her students and teachers, but when she is privy to the undercover operation, she finds herself in a Catch-22, particularly for her colleague and best friend Kelsey Cunningham, who is a surrogate daughter of sorts. Further complicating matters is her attraction to the stoic agent.

Complicating matters for Joe is his maverick partner Luke, who has a mind of his own, and he is attracted to his new teacher Kelsey who is having her own feelings of "Mary Kay Laturno," questioning her own motivations and failings as a teacher. Will they be able to catch the culprit who has targeted the school before it's too late?

Shay skillfully blends romance and intrigue with a ripped-from-the-headlines plot that she executes flawlessly. She has managed to tell a thought provoking story without shying away from hard issues. I found Kelsey to be a bit whiny, but overall, a really good story by a great author. Luke's sister Catherine (or CJ a she is later referred), appears briefly in "Promises" and has her own story in Shay's "Close to You."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An engrossing romantic suspense novel!, June 27, 2010
Fairholm High School Principal Suzanna Quinn is shocked when the school district hires a new crisis counselor for her school - without even discussing it with her. She has developed and maintained an open and safe environment in her school, and cannot imagine why the district feels Fairholm High needs a crisis counselor. And this one - Joe Stonehouse - is dictatorial in his manner, while also declaring that her school is ripe for violence. Needless to say, she finds it difficult to work with him - especially when she finds out he is actually a Secret Service agent heading up a school violence protection program.
This was a timely topic when it was published in 2002, and is even more so today. Verbal bullying and physical violence are rampant amongst school-age children in both middle school and high school. Kathryn Shay postulates a national effort to reduce such violence while demonstrating that the "usual suspects" are not always the students who break down and commit physical violence.
Shay's characters are quickly introduced and well-developed. While the reader may understand from the first that Suzanna and will travel from dislike toward a romantic interest, his job and ensuing school problems throw serious roadblocks in their way. This is one of those books - once started - you don't want to put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stays With You, October 21, 2003
By 
Hello,
I have never written a review for a book before but this book touched me so much thatt I felt compelled. I am still thinking about this book even though I read it a month ago and have read many books since. The topic of school violence is handled in such a realistic fashion that I could see that situation arise in any shool nation-wide. There are also two wonderful romantic stories in this book that are tender and realistic also. Read this book, you won't forget it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promises to Keep (Kindle Edition)
I love discovering new writers that know how to write an excellent book. It would be great if this was a true story and there was an agency that could stop the senseless killing of our young people in a place where they should feel safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Promises to Keep
Promises to Keep by Kathryn Shay
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.