Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've heard the man in action and seen his written work..., August 28, 2006
By 
Hobbes (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans (Paperback)
...on his website, shownotes, and podcasts. He practices what he preaches, and his own podcasts are a model for quality audio, intelligent and unobtrusive use of music, clear structure, and being enticing, yet informative. His online material on getting started in podcasting puts a lot of useful material in one place, just what the doctor ordered to do the most important thing: diving in and turning out a quality product from the word go.

His forté is promotion, to make yourself known, for developing niche credibility, product recognition, etc. and doing so using internet technology and information based services/products. As such, the name of the game is proper presentation of that most critical information: who you are and what you have to offer. Jason Van Orden models how to do so professionally, compellingly without being annoying. No overuse of exclamation points and superlatives, here.

I've been using his information to get my own personal and professional fledgling podcasts off the ground. Cannot recommend his work enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grow your podcast audience in a single-step..., November 27, 2006
This review is from: Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans (Paperback)
Here is Don The Idea Guy's one-step guide to successfully building awareness and audience for your personal or professional podcast -- BUY THIS BOOK NOW!

As a marketing and promotions consultant, I'm working with a growing number of clients who've created online programming in an effort to build their respective businesses. The problem is, many think that the hard part is creating the content itself, and once recorded the work is over. WRONG! The biggest challenge is yet to come...

Challenge #1: Making your audience AWARE of your program

Challenge #2: Getting those who are aware to actually CHOOSE your content over the hundreds (thousands!) of other podcasts already out there -- with new ones being created daily. Jason Van Orden provides real-world strategies for successfully overcoming these two greatest challenges.

Every hard-earned lesson and every bit of advice on what works (and what doesn't) that I've learned along the way seems to be inside this book.

"Promoting Your Podcast" is the book I wish I could have read before creating my first client podcast, and it's the book I would have written had I thought to record all those lessons along the way.

An excellent resource on what to do AFTER you've made the effort to create your content. I'm going to start giving copies of these to all of my podcast clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most USEFUL podcasting book I've read, December 24, 2006
By 
This review is from: Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans (Paperback)
If you are a podcaster, or even thinking about being a podcaster, get this book. Also, subscribe to Jason Van Orden's blog and podcast, "The Podcasting Underground". You'll thank me later for this sound advice. Why? Because this tome is chock full of explicit, practical, hands-on, darned useful advice for how to publicize your podcast effectively, and build a growing community of real fans for your show. This stuff really works. I've been using Jason's recommendations for a few months now on several corporate podcasts that I produce, and we've seen an immediate and marked increase in the number of listeners and subscribers, as well as those that want to contribute back to the ongoing success of the show -- a solid base of participating fans, not just passive listeners. What I love best about this book is that Jason isn't afraid to tell you precisely what kinds of tools you should use, and how to best use them. He puts many generally held beliefs about podcast promotion into proper perspective, and helps you focus on those specific actions that can produce real results. I've read almost a dozen books on podcasting over the last few months, but this is the one that I find myself pulling off the bookshelf over and over. It *is* that good. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promoting Your Podcast Delivers, November 9, 2006
By 
This review is from: Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans (Paperback)
Jason Van Orden has delivered a book that is both enjoyable to read and in-depth. If you're looking to go beyond distribution on iTunes and the other directories to build your auidence, then this book is a must read. Most strategies are free, costing only your time to implement. I've seen my shows The Dalai Lama From Brooklyn and Random Kindness both benefit within days of working through Jason's recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Recipe for Podcast Promotion Success - You Are The Media - Let Jason Show You Media Promotion, October 3, 2006
By 
Paul Colligan (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans (Paperback)
What would you pay to have a top expert in Podcast Marketing walk you (or your staff) through every single step of the Podcast Marketing process? Thousands? Would it be worth it? Yes! Do you need to? No! Hand them a copy of this book and expect results, because they will happen. Jason has held nothing back and I honestly can't believe he is selling this treasure--at any price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I have no need for the other podcasting books I bought!, June 29, 2007
This review is from: Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans (Paperback)
This book takes you step by step through the process of promoting your podcast. Imagine that, it does what it says! It explained everyting in a way even a techonophobe could understand, thanks for that by the way. No techie babble. My podcast was ranked in google within 24 hours of following Jason's advice. This is the book to read if you actually want people to every come to and listen to your podcast. Jason Van Orden is the podcasting KING! The only downside is I bought 3 of the other top podcasting BEFORE books buying this one, what a waste the others are...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great info even for established podcasts!, October 11, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans (Paperback)
I was happy to come across "Promoting Your Podcast". Even though I have been podcasting for over 4 years now there was some great info on how best to get listeners. Other great topics such as linking with other shows, blogs etc. Worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST BUY!, December 23, 2006
By 
This review is from: Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans (Paperback)
Jason gives you the whole game on promoting your podcast. You should also listen to this podcast for even more information. I'm a podcast and I use the tips from this book for my customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Offers good tips and strategies for promoting your podcast, April 15, 2011
By 
AdamSTL (Saint Louis, Missouri) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans (Paperback)
This book offers good tips and strategies for promoting your podcast (back when I purchased it in ~2006). Some of the information is, of course, dated at this point - i.e., submitting to podcast directories/services that no longer exist. However, Jason is very good at what he does and most of the material can be modified to work today (2011).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good marketing info, April 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans (Paperback)
There are some gems in here for those looking for help to market their podcast. If you don't know how to start a podcast, this may not cover all you want, but that isn't the purpose of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Promoting Your Podcast: The Ultimate Guide to Building an Audience of Raving Fans
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.