February 6, 2007 | Format: MP3

Also available in CD Format
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: March 22, 2004
  • Release Date: February 6, 2007
  • Label: Roadrunner Records
  • Copyright: 2004 The All Blacks B.V.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 56:47
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B0011ZYPBI
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (76 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #84,816 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By A. Stutheit on February 14, 2005
Format: Audio CD
Max is back! With him, this time around, Max brings with him a new band lineup, and a theory: to make every Soulfly album sound different. Love this album or hate it, you've got to admit it's mighty creative of Max to incorporate death metal with reggae. Now the Brazilian tribal drums may not be a surprise, but the Spanish/acoustic guitars, flutes, African rainstick, brass band, and Serbian bagpipe (that instrument that sounds like a marching band) sure are.

Now, some would say Soulfly got too experimental on this album but I disagree. The reggae/tribal moments are sprinkled on; most of the songs are still atleast partially metal.

Highlights include:

The title-track, "Prophecy", is an instant killer and concert favorite. A screaching guitar intro begins the song, then explosive and extra crunchy guitar riffs explode out of the gate. This song is not unlike Sepultura's "Roots, Bloody Roots," except it ends with double bass drums that sound like cannon fire.

The next three tracks are more hard hitting metal anthems without a trace of melody. They are some of the heaviest songs Max has written with Soulfly. Plus, track three ("Execution Style") has a nice shout along chorus.

"Mars" is where things mellow a bit. The first two minutes are metal, but it ends softly. The last three minutes drizzle on light acoustic guitar work and soft percussion. This guitar gently wails and almost makes a "wah wah" sound in places.

"I Believe" is a heartfelt and visceral song with punching guitars. Lyrically, it's a brave move for Max: telling the world what his beliefs are (God, spirit, immortality and faith.)

"Moses" is where things really get interesting.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Matthew T. Gilman on October 4, 2006
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This album is sick. In Soulfly, the production value was just stupendous. I'm a big critic on CD quality for music. Besides the songs, that's my main reason to buy or not to buy a cd.

Like the first Soulfly, everything was heavy, the guitars were raunchy, the bass roared and thunked, and the drumbs and cymbals just flared with fury. There was tribal drums written all over it, and you could hear them perfectly and especially with headphones-what side each instrument was panned on.

In Primitve, Max went and made it a co-op album with each artist's track, but the quality was all tuned down. Much like anything of Ill Nino since Revolution, just littled to nothing basically. The guitars were too clean, and the drums were muted out and panned too softly. That, and the vibe was just too uplifting, especially since Soulfly is all a musical therapy/dedication for Max coping with his dead son. This album blew.

Soulfly 3 comes out, and it didn't blow my socks off lol, It'd made me put them back on. It was a good comeback after the embarassing Primitive. I love how it was really more on the political side of the spectrum lyrically, but it's kind of a bore to feel it - now 2 years later with the support of the war and the world totally takin a downfall.
He experimented a little too much on this album. It seemed a little rushed as most of the songs all had their own volume and instrumentation (which is not bad considering it's primarily different artists every other track) But it just wasn't up to par. Honestly, this should've been the original follow up. If they would've just taken more time on this it could've been a gem.

Now, here we are with Prophecy. It's just as hard as Soulfly 1.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Cory G. on July 19, 2004
Format: Audio CD
I have never been a Soulfly fan, prefering to stick to Sepultura after hearing a couple of Soulfly songs and being turned off. I decided I would give them a chance after my friend told me it would be a new band (other than Max) for every Soulfly cd so I hoped that they would get a good band, as I know how rock hard Max's rhythm can be when he wants it to. Well, the band wasn't supertalented, but the music written on here is outstanding. Heavily influenced by reggae, many of the songs are all acoustic and feature non-metal instruments, giving it a tribal flavour like never before. Soulfly have tried and tried in the past to be a tribal-metal band, i hear from people, and I think they have succeeded here. Half the cd is metal, half is acoustic reggae-tribal stuff. Max hasn't sounded this good since Roots (where he sounded WAY better), his performance has surpassed previous Soulfly offerings.
Almost every song is good, only 1 or 2 songs sounded like filler and I got some special edition with 18 tracks that include 6 tracks from a Soulfly concert in Sweden, where the lead guitarist struggles to play Roots Bloody Roots. It was an ok 6 tracks, I think it was with the previous Soulfly band, like the one who played on 3.
As I said, it's very experimental, the melodies are amazing, the drummer is better, the lead guitarist is better, the vocals are better, the bass is better, Max sounds better, the overall songwriting is outstanding and.... I recommend it to music fans in general. This steers away from nu-metal entirely, so don't be scared to buy it. Finally Max is back!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?