Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Right on", November 21, 2011
This review is from: Prophets in Their Own Country: Women Religious Bearing Witness to the Gospel in a Troubled Church (Paperback)
Talk about a lioness and her cubs!
Sister Sandra is a fearless, accurate and totally refreshing author. Her book is divided into three parts.
1. A detailed report of the Vatican's recent inquisition into the affairs of American religious sisters and the latters' reaction to it. "Being under seige as a problem in and to the Church they love and serve is profoundly unnerving and demoralizing." "What could possibly justify such universal suspicion?"
2. A compilation of articles previously published in the National Catholic Reporter pointing out the impossible and medieval practices of the apostolic orders in the past who were forced by the hierarchy to lead cloistered lives while struggling with the demanding problems of the needy.
3. She refers to Vatican 11 (which I conclude that she feels, as many of us do, was inspired by the Holy Spirit) that the calling to religious life requires a vow of obedience. While the clergy vow obedience to the hierarchy, religious take a vow of obedience to God..."a commitment to continuous discernment...sometimes not only diffrerent from but opposed to what is 'on the books' of the official Church." She elaborates a great deal on this point. Her conclusions relate not only to sisters but also to all the faithful. Whether or not you care about the sisters and their plight, this section alone is worth reading if you are a humanist.
My favorite quote..."the new will continue to happen. At this moment, we are it."
I loved the book. What a voice! I read it in four hours in one sitting.
Good luck, gentlemen. You are pitted against amazing foes, as the author points out. Although the nunbers have decreased, the spirit has not.
Make no mistake. Sister Sandra is not only a precise scholar, but she is determined, an engaging author, never dry, especially when her ire and humor collide.
My money is on the sisters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars US Religious Women, May 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prophets in Their Own Country: Women Religious Bearing Witness to the Gospel in a Troubled Church (Paperback)
Excellent comprehensive, thoughtful perspective on how Post-Vatican II Sisters have been living out their Apostolic Mission in the US. Realistic and objective discussion of why some have left their order, why others have stayed despite the Vatican Investigation with its implied fault-finding, and why the numbers of women entering the Religious Life have decreased. Especially clear on the MEANING of PROPHET,how it relates to Jesus' life and mission, and why it is needed now. Should be required reading for all Clergy at every level and for lay-Catholics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prophets in Their Own Country: Women Religious Bearing Witness to the Gospel in a Troubled Church, February 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prophets in Their Own Country: Women Religious Bearing Witness to the Gospel in a Troubled Church (Paperback)
I read the articles in this book earlier and was fascinated. This book pulls them all together in a very understandable format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prophets in their Own Country, September 6, 2012
By 
Margaret A. Kinney (Dearborn, Missouri) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In light of the controversary surrounding the Women Religious in the United States I wanted to read about their rich history and their witnessing. I couldn't have picked a better book. Sr. Sandra Schneiders is truly a gifted writer. I had the pleasure of attending a 3 day retreat given by her and was not disappointed then and am not disappointed now. The book will give you an insight into the different orders of Women Religious, their history, how this investigation all started and where they are now. The women religious who make up the LCWR are truly prophets in modern history and I am so proud to call them my "sisters". After reading this book, which I have recommended to many friends, I came away with a new awareness, added respect and deep admiration for Women Relgious. I am very proud to say "Sr. Schneiders you have taught me well, again."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful book!, September 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prophets in Their Own Country: Women Religious Bearing Witness to the Gospel in a Troubled Church (Paperback)
I first downloaded this book on my Kindle. Having read it, I was so moved by the excellent writing and the importance of the story that I bought a hard copy for my library. The author is honest and concise. I am not Catholic, but I am a dedicated Christian. I serve God in as many ways I can but the Religious sisters who have given their very lives to the God we all serve deserve positive recognition--not condemnation. This is the best book I have found that explains the investigation of the Religious by the Vatican and the pain it is causing the Religious sisters who minister "where the rubber meets the road". May God bless each one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, September 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prophets in Their Own Country: Women Religious Bearing Witness to the Gospel in a Troubled Church (Paperback)
Sandra Schneiders is an insightful writer who makes you see with new eyes. This is a must read for every American Catholic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game Changer, June 29, 2013
By 
Paul R. Clark (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Five stars for the honesty and originality that Schneiders employs in the writing of this book. Part of the book is a collection of emails and articles written on this topic, and the raw emotion coupled with a logical approach to the problem help clarify what is happening to women religious during this investigation. This book brings to life issues that should not only be important to women religious, but to all of us whether we are Catholic, or Christian, or merely seeking a better picture of this awful moment in Catholic Church history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meaty, Theologically and Historically Sound, June 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prophets in Their Own Country: Women Religious Bearing Witness to the Gospel in a Troubled Church (Paperback)
Thoughtful, scholarly and insightful analysis of the difficulties between American Catholic women religious and their critics among the hierarchy in the U.S. and Rome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prophets in Their Own Country, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prophets in Their Own Country: Women Religious Bearing Witness to the Gospel in a Troubled Church (Paperback)
I loved it! Schneiders is right on target! May she continue to write as the investigation continues.Her research and presentation are superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for This Age in the Church, March 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prophets in Their Own Country: Women Religious Bearing Witness to the Gospel in a Troubled Church (Paperback)
Schneiders does a magnificent work of perceiving and presenting the complexities of the recent investigation of U.S. religious. Helpful for anyone who wants to read a wise interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Prophets in Their Own Country: Women Religious Bearing Witness to the Gospel in a Troubled Church
$20.00 $15.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.