Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Prospekt's March
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it CaseLangVeirs Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 24, 2008
I've been an avid fan of Coldplay since A Rush of Blood to the Head, but never did I think they would become something too beautiful for words. Truly, if you haven't heard any of their music after X&Y, you will be completely surprised.

As a historian, musician, and rather open-minded person, I've found both Viva La Vida and Prospekt's March to be absolutely fantastic works of art. There's a story here. Listen to Violet Hill, and then listen to Prospekt's March. Take in the music, but don't forget the history behind it. Figuring out exactly what they're talking about is one of the most exciting things in the world. I won't spoil it here.

As for the new tracks on Prospekt's March, well, they're not new. They're leftovers from Viva La Vida, which is actually a great thing. These songs won't be left to the depths of history and never heard again.

1. Life in Technicolor ii is perhaps even better than the original. Why Chris axed it is a mystery to me.

2. Postcards from Far Away: A short piano session, but beautiful in its sound. It really reminds you of a postcard or connection from a distant place.

3. Glass of Water: Epic. The buildup is fantastic. I won't even try to explain it here.

4. Rainy Day: Somewhat similar to Viva la Vida in its use of some orchestral instruments. Very varied. It's like a hundred things are happening at once, and the lyrics go well.

5. Prospekt's March: In sound, opposite of Violet Hill. In lyrics, possibly one of the most beautiful songs in recent times.

6. Lost+: Nothing new here, you could've gotten this weeks ago from the Lost EP. It's the remix with Jay-Z; while it doesn't sound that bad, it's not crazy or anything. Good effort by them to branch out, though.

7. Lovers in Japan (Osaka Mix): Basically, Lovers in Japan without the ending piano session. Also, this song was mastered slightly differently, as Chris's voice is further and various instruments are closer. If anything, it sounds more like the music video.

8. Now My Feet Won't Touch the Ground: Somewhat reminds me of Til Kingdom Come, but still an amazing song nonetheless. A good finish for an EP.

Overall, it's not a completely different beast. It's just a great addition to an already amazing line.

Heartily recommended.
44 comments|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2008
If you are a true Coldplay fan then I'm sure you have listened to Viva La Vida so many times that you know all the words. This small collection of songs will be sure to feed your appetite for new Coldplay. The songs here are all amazing and add to the huge collection of awesome Coldplay music. Also the price is amazing. This is almost a full album of songs for half the price. It can't be beat. I especially love "Life In Techniolor II." I absolutely love the original and this version adds lyrics to make the sound even better! :)

Bottom Line : Buy this album if you love Viva La Vida and want more amazing Coldplay!!! :)
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2008
After their massively successful, and amazingly good, "Viva La Vida," Coldplay found themselves with leftovers from their recording sessions. So, just in time for the holidays, Coldplay gives us their musical gifts in this tight EP, complete with new tracks, remixes, and new versions of old favorites.

But let me first say that this album cannot be compared to "Viva La Vida" in quality with the new tracks. The great production values are still there, but they simply don't match up to the standards of 'Viva.' It wasn't until the third listen that the quality of the songs really started to shine on their own. They're still not 'Viva,' and it's probably best that they were left off, but they're still great songs in their own right. From the completed "Life In Technicolor," or the new "Glass of Water," each new track has something to give. Coldplay also goes purely acoustic on "Now My Feet Won't Touch the Ground," which surprisingly works from the sometimes over-produced band.

However, there are some questionable tracks on here. Mainly the "Lost" remix, featuring Jay-Z, which sounds like Justin Timberlake's "Until the End of Time," with Beyonce just implanted over the song. It adds absolutely nothing, and the rapping is bad. Sorry Jay-Z, you got lost in there somewhere. "Lovers in Japan" is also supposed to be a remix, but there is no noticeable difference between it and the original. It's placement on the album therefore is rather mystifying.

Overall, if you loved "Viva La Vida," or you're just a fan of Coldplay, then pick the album up. Clocking in at a little under half an hour, the EP has songs that shine apart from the main album, which is what the best EPs do; provide a home for good songs that don't really fit anywhere else. And that's exactly what this EP does, even with a couple of misfires.

Real Score: 4.5
66 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2008
I loved Coldplay's newest album "Viva La Vida." To me the music was more polished and mature than their last two releases put together. Strong musicianship, dark progressive overtones, and sweeping soundscapes made that album powerful and majestic, something the music world desperately needed in these times of manufactured garbage the RIAA seems to throw at us daily.

The songs on "Prospekt's March" were remixes, extras, and other bits and pieces from the "Viva" sessions. Most of what's here resembles what was on "Viva", and is just as powerful and exciting to listen to. "Life in Technicolour II" is an expanded version of what we heard on "Viva", and was actually slated to be the first single (with the lyrics) before Chris Martin axed it and the band decided to do something different with it. "Lovers in Japan" also appeared on "Viva" and appears here as well, in more of a remixed form (Osaka Mix, as it's called). The beautiful "Glass of Water" is majestic, and "Now My Feet Won't Touch the Ground" could've easily been a single on its own.

Unfortunately, the awesome song "Lost" is marred by the rapping of Jay-Z. I'm not sure what that was all about, and I suppose I should applaud Coldplay for their creativeness, but it just doesn't work. "Lost" is an epic piece that fit snugly into the "Viva" story and this version here pays horrible tribute to that song. This is not to disrespect Jay-Z, it's just that "Lost" is a masterpiece on its own, and interspersing rap bits over it just doesn't work.

All in all, though, it's nice to have an EP release like this. Bands don't do this much anymore, and it's nice to have the sophistication and musicianship of a band like Coldplay which allows us to hear the scrapped bits, if you will, in addition to the more polished material.

For those who are vinyl buffs, this is available on a limited edition LP as well. Amazon is stocking that as well.

Happy Listening!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2008
For $5, you can't beat this. That is as much as a Starbucks latte.

The songs are a nice addition to the Coldplay repertoire.
Nothing incredibly new or amazing, but they have vocals on Life in Technicolor, which gives that beautiful arrangement new life.

yeah, buy it!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2009
This is a nice collection of songs, out for a limited time only. It is typical Coldplay. What you get here is 3 alternate versions of songs from their Viva La Vida album and an additional 5 extras. What Jay-Z is doing on 'Lost' is beyond me..he single-handedly destroys a very good, melodic song. I am disappointed that the original Viva La Vida album did not include the missing tracks found here (especially the vocal version of Life in Technicolor), and can't help feeling that this is just another way of extracting more money from the true fans. With that said, the songs are strong without being over-adventourous. Fans will love this (as I do), but casual music lovers will get all they want from the 'mother' album. It looses 2 stars from me, simply because I believe that this and Viva La Vida should have been just one album.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's been five months since the release of Coldplay's "Viva La Vida" album, and while I was quite enthused when it came out, I must also admit this: I haven't played it nearly as often as I thought I would, and certainly a lot less as compared to their other albums. Now comes this release, a companion EP.

"Prospekt's March" (8 tracks; 28 min.) is billed as "8 new tracks" and in the technical sense that is certainly true, but a closer look reveals a slightly different picture. Two tracks are slightly redone from the album: "Lost", now with Jay-Z rapping for about 30 sec. midway through the song (for no rhyme or reason), and a remix of "Lovers In Japan", which really doesn't sound that different. Another track is the fleshed out opening of the short instrumental of the album, and I like "Life in TechniColor II" quite a lot actually. Then another track, "Postcards from Far Away" is a 45 sec. piano interlude.

So that leaves in reality 4 new tracks for us to sink our teeth in. "Glass of Water" is the very best of them, an epic piano-driven stomper that is among the very best, if not better than anything on the "Viva" album, just outstanding, and this EP worth is the admission price for this alone. "Rainy Day" is nice, but non-essential". "Prospeckt's March/Poppy Fields" is really 2 short songs stapled together, not unlike a number of the songs on "Viva", and quite nice. The other "must have" nugget on here, though, is the closer "Now My Feet Won't Touch the Ground", a 2 min. introspective song with just Chris and his acoustic guitar, reminiscent of, say, "The Blue Room EP", just beautiful.

In all, this is a very welcome addition to the "Viva la Vida" album, and to the Coldplay catalog, period. At $5.99, this is a no-brainer. BUY IT.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2009
Like many other Coldplay fans, I enjoyed "Viva la Vida" - but it felt like something was missing. What was missing was the second half of the album, now released as an EP called "Prospekt's March". While some of the songs are the same, the new releases far surpass anything on "Viva la Vida", including that album's title track.

Both records open with 'Life in Technicolor', but the new version of the song is finished with lyrics. Another highlight is 'Glass of Water', a brilliantly crafted piece about optimism. 'Rainy Day' is a bit quirkier, with a Beatles' vibe to it. 'Prospekt's March/Poppyfields' could have come off of U2's "All That You Can't Leave Behind", though that certainly doesn't detract from its feel. And 'Now My Feet Won't Touch the Ground' is a near-acoustic masterpiece.

Any downsides to the EP? Sure. As others have said, Jay-Z's vocals on 'Lost+' are offensive, and don't really add to the song. And while the new remix of 'Lovers in Japan' is nice, it's not a whole lot different from the original. Still, the album is far and above anything Coldplay has ever produced.

If "Viva la Vida" was autumn leading into a cold winter, "Prospekt's March" represents spring after the snow melts. The two records are great bookends to each other, though this one is the better of the two. If you have "Viva la Vida", you really need to hear "Prospekt's March" to understand the brilliance of Coldplay's latest masterpiece.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2008
I've really enjoyed this EP much more than I expected. The new songs are very good and album-worthy. But what I have enjoyed most are two of the alternate versions of songs from Viva La Vida. "Life in Technicolor" didn't make much of an impression on me on VLV, whereas I really like the longer version with lyrics on Prospekt's March. While the new version of "Lovers in Japan" is not notably different from VLV, it is detached from "Reign of Love" with which had been combined into one track on VLV. "Reign of Love" is fine, but it should have been a separate track. I'm grateful that the Prospekt's March version allows me to listen to "Lovers in Japan" on its own. The one part on the EP that didn't work that well for me was the "Lost+" version of "Lost!", which adds a bit of rapping by Jay-Z. Some reviewers clearly like the Jay-Z version, others notably dislike it. Regardless of how you feel about the track, it doesn't really fit in with the feel of the rest of the EP. Instead they should have used the softer, piano-based version called "Lost?" from the Lost EP. That aside, the songs on this EP fit together beautifully to become a complete package that is more than the sum of its parts. Enjoy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 7, 2008
I snagged this when it was $5.99 on Amazon a little while ago, and was quite pleased by what I heard.

Life in Technicolor II is -- like its predecessor on VLV -- an incredible, infectious opening number, and I'd go so far to say that with its greater length, plus vocals, is even better that the original. And I'm thrilled that they've provided a version of "Lovers in Japan" as a stand-alone version; truthfully, I don't care for the "Reign of Love" 2nd part on VLV.

Rather than do a complete song-by-song review/critique, let me just say that nearly all the other songs on this cd are creative, musically pleasing and a continuing sign that Coldplay is going to be a band that will evolve and stay on the scene for a long time.

One downer is the Jay-Z guest rap on "Lost!" Talk about an Excedrin moment, ouch. I cringe to think of the reviews had Coldplay included this one on VLV; Jay ruins what is my favorite VLV song.

All in all, a solid addition to the published Coldplay repertoire!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.