Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Mudcrutch Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 13, 2012
Not only are there far better self help books than this, but the authors also ask you to fill out an online questionnaire to accompany the exercises. After doing this, their company contacts you and tries to sell their cookie cutter coaching service for anywhere between $2000 - $16,000. When you decline their offer they get very personal, pushy and manipulative. A quick search on the net also shows that a lot of people feel they have been conned by these guys and have not received what they were promised. My advice would be to steer well clear of them, they're not accredited by the International Coach Federation and they're the sort of operation that give coaches a bad name!
11 comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
I think it is important for readers to understand what this book is and how it came about from the bare bones history of how they got their start and what their core business really is. These two got their start as door to door sales people selling pest control (Orkin I believe) in California in the late 1990's. Their business model was simple: when they and their contracted sales team (like many sales outfits they never actually were Orkin employees only had the name on their shirt) sold a monthly service on a yr contract they were paid a significant portion of the year if not all of it as a commission. Orkin would do that because they had statistics that showed that if they got that first year they would keep a significant amount of their clients the following years. This was a common model for sales companies originating from the college culture of Utah and Idaho.

Many other companies have grown out of this culture. Recently one of the companies that used to sell pest control and moved to door to door alarm system and home automation sales sold their business for $3 Billion. Randy and Ethan recognized that they had a good thing in their ability to recruit motivated young people who had served Mormon missions and have them sell in more ways than door to door. They moved into a different arena and connected with the seminar driven "success & self help" arena. Randy & Ethan began to pitch a no risk win-win sales relationship to self help gurus such as Tony Robbins who would fill arenas with people who had hopes and dreams looking for inspiration. You see each of these seminar sales self help gurus would largely make their money on books and tapes with low production costs and high margins.

The high margins were justified to a buyer with the hope that the guru inspired. The guru would attempt to sell a percentage of those that attended a package of material somewhere between 5-20% of the room would buy. Randy and Ethan would then supply the sales team and take a portion of that high margin by creating a call center team devoted to aggressively selling the attendees on a package of material. They would attempt to take those leads and increase sales to as much as 40% of those that attended. The higher priced the product the more motivated they were to land a client and take those "warm leads" and sell them something that they had not bought at the seminar.

But that was not the end, what if they could help the guru create more seminars with higher price points and more margin? The client would then get into a series of promises that they would learn the next secret from the next week long seminar, the next dvd set, the next "boot camp," or "mastermind session conference call."

Things then evolved into coaching. High margin, high leverage, and seemingly high value personal attention. As they diversified in this arena they moved into real estate. There were plenty of gurus and plenty of leads. The real estate boom became a perfect situation of a "everybody is doing it, why can't I get it in on it too?" feeding frenzy that had a very important component and that was easy credit.

The large majority of sales in this business are facilitated by the ability of the client to drop $500 for the first round, $2000 for the second round, $6000 for the third round and $10,000+ for the coaching on a credit card. All with promises that they will make way more than that with the knowledge they glean from their education.

Their "polaris point" or "star" was money. Lots of easy money selling hope on a credit card. There really are a lot of people who are not pleased with either the simple success self help segment of their business or the RE side.

The fact is that there are entire unrelated companies set up buy the cold, disgruntled, frustrated former client leads from Prosper Learning who had been to seminars and bought coaching packages and then never realized the promises of actual real estate deals and untold wealth and sell them real FDIC and foreclosed properties over the internet with guess what; a credit card. They say that they are actually creating value for the customer that Prosper left their clients without. This time it is tangible. They buy those homes in bulk for lets say $4,000 and sell them for $12,000 in a week or a month or maybe two. Some of them just set up the sales and make a transaction fee.

There is no such thing as "refer a friend" or "I am a life long client" in this business. They are not the only ones of course and no one puts a gun to anyone's head. It is simply churn and burn selling hope and prosperity on a credit card.

When you read, just keep all of this mind and realize that real value will be created because you will do it and you will have to work hard for it. If you must get self help, find it used on Ebay or Amazon and learn from someone else's mistakes. If you need an education go get an MBA, it will often cost you less.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2011
I did not know what to expect. A book on prosperity is what Randy Garn had told me he had written.

I had come to know Randy as a co-founder of Prosper Inc., a coaching group, and I knew Randy's company had achieved a lot of success and that Randy had graduated from Harvard Business School. But, when it comes to writing books, smart people running very successful companies can write some very dull, boring books.

As someone who has read literally thousands of books on numerous subjects, I must admit, I possessed a lot of skepticism. Was this going to be another rah, rah book on "you can be wealthy too"?

When I received Randy's book called Prosper: Create the Life You Really Want, I noticed that his co-author was CEO and co-founder of Prosper Inc., Ethan Willis. I turned to read about Ethan and discovered he had co-written a #1 Wall Street Journal and New York Time's bestseller called "The One Minute Entrepreneur." Ethan also had been recognized as "Entrepreneur of the Year" by Ernst & Young.

O.K. Two smart guys.

When I started reading Prosper, I was immediately intrigued when I came to the fact that Randy and Ethan had founded Prosper in 1999 and had coached over 75,000 people of all ages in 80 countries to become more successful. 75,000 people is a lot of people!

As I kept reading, the book reminded me of a great European film that starts out with no rush to wow you; then, suddenly you find yourself hooked by its genius.

That's what the book Prosper does.

In today's crazy, frantic age with so many unknowns and great uncertainty, Prosper becomes the comforting voice that lays out a compelling blueprint for living a fulfilled life.

Prosperity is defined as money + happiness + sustainability:

"We see prosperity as multidimensional. When you are happy, when you have enough money and when you are at peace with earning that money, this leads to [a] sustainable state we describe as Prosperity. Balancing these three things - money plus happiness plus sustainability - leads to prosperity. The prosperity that we value depends on creating income consistent with our inner selves, our core selves, and without that, no amount of external compensation can fully make us happy...

"This book is not about happiness. It is about how money interacts with our lives and how we spend our days and efforts earning it...By money, we mean income sufficient to support your goals...

"How much money is enough to ensure sustainable prosperity? The answer is enough to support your financial dreams in a way that honors your deeply-held values and principles but not so much that your money distracts or alienates you from those very values or principles. The trick is to make your work feel more like an activity you enjoy than activity you dread."

When you read Prosper, you start to realize that prosperity comes from the inside out. Prosperity takes into account your entire being. You have to like who you are and be brutally honest about what you really want. What makes you excited to jump up out of bed and want to take another step in your journey called life?

To start or accelerate this prosperity journey, you need to ask yourself - or with the help of a partner - some questions such as:

1. What does my ideal lifestyle look like?
2. What can I do to improve the most important relationships in my life?
3. What makes me happiest? Why?

Prosperity is much more than financial success since financial success alone is often short-lived, inconsistent or anti-climactic.

The goal is "to create lives of breathtaking wealth, balance and, yes, grace...sustainable prosperity."

The incredible power of Prosper is that it teaches alignment. Think of a car that's out of alignment and not fine-tuned: It doesn't run on all cylinders; the drive is far from smooth and does not reach its full potential.

In Prosper, you suddenly realize that, for pennies, Randy and Ethan are walking you through the Prosper coaching method worth thousands of dollars.

The Prosper Method involves Six Practices:

1. Locate Your Polaris Point
* Your envisioned future; your guiding light or star; your unifying focal point.
2. Live In Your Prosperity Future
* Your envisioned future and earnings are in balance, creating sustainable prosperity.
3. Earn From Your Core
* Sustainability flows from your unique talents and abilities, energized and motivated by your passion.
4. Start With What You Already Have
* Focus upon your hidden assets - that which you possess - your abundance - not the abundance you feel you lack.
5. Commit to Your Prosperity Path
* Involve your entire being and make yourself accountable.
6. Take Profound Action
* Go for it and implement the step-by-step prosperity plan you develop.

You will enjoy the exercises and case studies in Prosper, such as when Ryan Bingham talks to Natalie, a young woman he is mentoring on finding her Polaris Point.

You'll enjoy writing your list to what you consider your 7 wonders of the world.

You'll be surprised at who prospers more: The Lawyer versus The Janitor.

You'll take money quizzes and your Prosperity Profile.

You'll love the story of how Dan Gazaway created an academy for those who want to become baseball pitchers.

In the end, prosperity comes down to you, your own words you tell yourself - your self-talk - and what you believe makes for a life fully lived.

As Eric Butterworth stated "Prosperity is not just having things, it's the consciousness that attracts the things. Prosperity is a way of living and thinking and not just having money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking and not just a lack of money or things."

You'll truly love the book Prosper!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
sadly, the book includes the option to do an online assessment that is no longer working; their FB page was last posted to in 2012; people have complained they cannot reach the test pages, which are supposed to be free if you buy the book; still the book has helpful steps to take on getting clear about the life you want to create
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
I heard Randy Garn speak in September at Elevation-2015 and was so impressed with how genuinely nice and down to earth this very busy man is. I loved the fact that his company Hero Partners demonstrates the power of "retreating" before "advancing" with all Executives and Entrepreneurs they work with. The process in the book PROSPER will ignite the fire within as you learn a clear passionate intention is the magic key to your PROSPERity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2011
The other "reviewers" on this page must be shills working for the authors.

This is yet another boring useless rehash of blah blah blah crap that basically says do what you love, make millions (too bad if doing what you love has little income) and with your happy work and money, you are now prosperous.

There. I just saved you $10.

I can handle it if a book has one thought in it that conveys something of value, but this book is just a vacuum. There's nothing there.

Seriously. Avoid this book. It is truly worthless.
22 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2011
But balance can be really tough to find as you grow your business and go after your goals. Randy and Ethan have written a book that shows you how to create the life you really want and be able to maintain it for the long haul. It's not just about those external drivers, but it's about what you really want in your heart. More time with your family. More money for adventure. Or more success from the things you know you're really capable of doing well.

I've read it once and I'm reading it again.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2011
Other reviewers have talked about the six prosperity practices and the great stories in this book. All valuable. But for my money, perhaps the most valuable benefit of this book is something free that you might otherwise have to pay hundreds of dollars for. The authors offer readers a free online prosperity assessment that is an amazing resource. The assessment is at once a values-clarification exercise and a strategic pathway to prosperity. Think about it. Prosperity is something that can only be defined as a journey from Point A to Point B and beyond. But most of us don't have a clue as to our present level of prosperity and even less of a clue as to the prosperity we hope to find. This assessment is the single best tool I know for creating the conditions for a life of prosperity. Buy the book. Take the assessment. And take profound action. The prosperity you create may be your own.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2015
What a great book!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
Not much to say. I did not like this book. It wasn't what I thought it was. In fact, the company was not what I thought it was....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse