Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prototype 2, two steps forward, one step back
Ok, ok.. we all know the common complaints like less than stellar animations, rehashed materials, subpar story, excessive swearing, ect ect. To be honest, so what? Who are we kidding here? Anyone that played the first Prototype knew what it was and likely what the sequel would be. Seriously, did the first Prototype have an epic, page-turning story? Nope. Next-gen...
Published on April 25, 2012 by Jes

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to play, but something is missing
I played Prototype and enjoyed it... I'm playing Prototype 2 and enjoying it too. However, I can't help but feel like it's lacking in the story department. There's barely anything there, and what IS there, I'm just not that interested in.

This series will never reach the heights of, say, Assassin's Creed/Uncharted/Rockstar Games because there simply isn't...
Published on April 27, 2012 by E. Kay


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prototype 2, two steps forward, one step back, April 25, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Ok, ok.. we all know the common complaints like less than stellar animations, rehashed materials, subpar story, excessive swearing, ect ect. To be honest, so what? Who are we kidding here? Anyone that played the first Prototype knew what it was and likely what the sequel would be. Seriously, did the first Prototype have an epic, page-turning story? Nope. Next-gen animations/graphics? Nahhh. Innovative, creative side-quests? You got to be kidding me.

The first Prototype was a respectable attempt at gore-filled, city smashing, turn-your-brain-off entertainment. Prototype 2 followed in its footsteps perfectly. An open world game full of random people to chop/slice/absorb/explode/splatter, vehicles to destroy/demolish, and a bunch of random collectables to hunt down tied together with a passable storyline and a mix of barely developed characters. And there is nothing wrong with that kind of game, not one thing. Granted, it may not be worth $60...

Far too many negative responses to this game are from people that got their hopes up. They got suckered into the marketing and somehow forgot what the first Prototype was. Hint: It wasn't a live-action trailer with a Johnny Cash soundtrack. It is what it is folks.... a game based on an old Hulk game model; mindless, gory, entertainment.

Take it at face value and it is a great way to spend a weekend. Any attempt to bring thinking into it and you'll ruin it. So, much like the SyFy original films of today: sit back, turn off the old grey-matter, and watch some crap get blown up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This game is FUN, haters go back to Liberty City, April 26, 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I had a lot of fun with the first Prototype. The sequel is better in pretty much every way. The graphics are better, the mission set up is better, the story (while not great) is better. If you played the first game you know what you're getting yourself into. Full on over the top, comic book style, ultra-violence. It is what it is. That's what the developers set out to make and in that regard they succeeded.

I've seen several reviewers complain about the language in the game. All I have to say to that is don't buy a mature rated game again. There is no more foul language in this game than in a GTA title. In context, the F-bombs make perfect sense to me and haven't distracted me from my fun one bit. James Heller is one pissed off protagonist. If some manic murdered my wife and child I'd be dropping some F-bombs myself. Also I've been in the military and that is how men in the armed forces talk. Get over it. This game isn't for kids!

On to the review:

Graphics:
Greatly improved from the first game. The city has far more detail than before, in the first game the city was really drab and boring. In prototype 2 the city looks great, easily on par with a Rockstar game. Heller himself is animated well though some of his moves are obviously taken from Mercer. The other characters in the game, look much better and there is a greater variety of civilians and infected.

Game play:
The controls are pretty much the same, not a bad thing, but seem easier to pick up. I especially like how they added a "quick-time" dodge prompt like in the Batman games. This has saved me a lot of poundings (I'm playing on the hard difficulty). They got rid of the optional events from the first game and added side missions that lead to upgrades. I find myself focusing on these rather than the main story. They still have the "events" but they are handled via Radnet DLC where they release the events over time. These also unlock upgrades to Heller. Overall, the way they laid out the way you gain power is paced better and much easier to understand. Nothing like the monster list of abilities from the first title.

Story:
Story is not why you play a prototype game, it could easily be Resident Evil done as an open world game. Gentek (Umbrella) created the virus that made Mercer, Heller, and all the "infected". They in turn are supported by Black Watch, a military organization that specializes in putting down biological threats. This game is about revenge! Heller wants to kill Mercer for the death of his wife and daughter. Pretty straight forward. There have been a few twists and turns, a few double crosses. Not too bad, but not too good either. Most the time the story is just a reason for you to go hunt and destroy. That's all it's needed for in a game like prototype.

Final Thoughts:
This is the game I expected. No more no less. When I've had a tough day and just want to cause chaos, NYZ is where I'll blow off some stream. The feeling of jumping 300 feet off the top of a sky scraper and gliding half a mile is awesome and I haven't tired of the movement in the game yet. Is it violent, oh yes. Is it brutal, uh huh. Is it everything they said it would be, definitely. That's saying a lot now a days (I'm looking at you Bioware!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont judge this game until you upgrade Heller and reach the Red Zone, May 21, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I was starting to feel regret seeping into my mind about 6 hours into this game. Something just didnt feel right. Yeah i was having a pretty good time playing the game. Things just felt like they could be cranked up a few notches on the fun meter. Thats when i made it to the Red Zone, the final part of the game where the whole city is in ruins and overrun with infected. The buildings are the tallest here and you can use your Heller to his fullest potential. I highly suggest upgrading his jumping/ running early in the game, so when you make it to the red zone you are flying over huge sky scrapers and doing elbow drops on tanks from 50 floors up. It is quite exhilirating. The rush of vertigo never gets old and slaying hundreds of infected and taking on the challenging brawlers and strike teams is sooo much more fun when you have massive buildings to scale and plan out your attacks. This game redeemed itself in the red zone and now i dont regret buying it at all. The improved graphics help alot with the immersion as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Bloody Fun, April 28, 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Prototype is an open world game that provides the gamer with a playground for destruction. Think of it like Crackdown crossed with GTA. It is a game similiar to Infamous but with more destruction. The first game came out in 2009 and was pretty good at the time but seemed a little unfocused. Other than the effects the graphics were poor and the Web of Intrigue was a good idea but not executed well, because certain characters would only appear in certain areas at certain times to absorb them and get the pieces to the story, so many probably did not even see alot of the cutscenes to understand the story.

Three years later we have Prototype 2 and a lot of work has been put into this one. I can tell because I played the first on both the 360 and PS3. First the graphics are miles ahead of the first game, sure it is not Assasins Creed or GTA quality, but those games have nowhere near the destruction, special effects, or moving parts going on. The lightning and the colors make the graphics stand out and look more polished. It won't win any awards, but its improved.

The story is more coherent and I find the man scorned revenge government conspiracy thing pretty cool honestly. Gameplay is alot like the first, but some of the powers are even more devastating, and the dodge has really been fixed to allow getting behind an enemy very quickly. They did away with the hundreds of orbs you had to collect from the first game with noway of knowing witch ones you didn't have. Now the collectibles are easily identified by your pulse radar and each area on the map gives you a summary of whats in that area of the city and they serve a purpose to upgrade your abilities. The seven weeks worth of radnet events are a decent idea for a few extra buffs to your powers, but it's not as meaty as I invisioned it being. It is nice that the developers actually made some bosses for this game worthy of fighting.

Prototype 2 does have some issues like the targeting and camera can still get wonky from time to time and for many the story will be throw away. The game is far to easy, which is a double edge sword here. The first game had some frustrating difficulty spikes. Proto 2 is much more balanced but with the powers you acquire the game becomes easy because the difficulty does not scale. So my suggestion is to start on hard and if you finish the game there is a new game + option to play on Insane if you like.

I have enjoyed this game some far and if you liked the first, you should enjoy this one even more. If your new to the series and you are looking for a game to have fun, create destruction, and feel like a superpower. I don't think Prototype 2 will let you down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to play, but something is missing, April 27, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I played Prototype and enjoyed it... I'm playing Prototype 2 and enjoying it too. However, I can't help but feel like it's lacking in the story department. There's barely anything there, and what IS there, I'm just not that interested in.

This series will never reach the heights of, say, Assassin's Creed/Uncharted/Rockstar Games because there simply isn't enough to get invested in.

A game can be fun to play... and Prototype IS fun enough... but I would prefer to have more of a story to draw me in and guide me forward.

I think we've come to expect better stories from games these days, right? It'd be like having a movie with 100% special effects and no plot and no heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comparing to the first, August 3, 2012
By 
JJ (Northeast Michigan) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I really liked the first Prototype, to me this is what video games should be. Drop you in an open world with limitless power and let you have at it. That being said most of this review will be comparing this game to the first Prototype.

The graphics are much better, everything has more detail in the world around you. Unfortunately some of the animations suffered, like when you consume someone, they dumbed it down a bit.

The game play is much better, they let you hot key your favorite powers so that when you are in Heller form you could claw one guy with 'x' tendril another guy with 'y' and then block an incoming missile with your shield by pressing 'right bumper'. This makes the combat flow a lot better. Also, you start with some powers that you had to earn in the last one, like glide and air dash so that makes it easier to get around initially.

The side quests are great and unfold organically, in the last one you would see an occasional red head appear on the radar and you would have to consume them to unlock a memory. Now it's a yellow head that starts a side mission, it works a lot better. Also the challenges are back and they are fun to mess with.

All in all this is a great game and it's worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars super happy fun time, January 27, 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This product is amazing!! At first I was wondering how it worked but soon found out with the right angle I can open up the space time continuum. That being said for the price this prototype space/time machine is well worth it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Game Ever, January 26, 2014
This review is from: Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Would have been 5 star but the game was extremely short and other than that it is incredible this game is definitely a top 100 game of all time! Definitely buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superpowers are awesome!!!!!, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game straight out rocks. The game progress, powers, side missions and everything are great. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not what I was expecting, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The first game was okay. It had okay graphics, story, and it really was repetitive. The second game however, improved on everything. I would definitely recommend it to anybody who liked the first game and to anybody who enjoys explosions, Gore, and having God-like powers (like it says on the back of the box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Prototype 2 - Xbox 360
Prototype 2 - Xbox 360 by Activision Publishing (Xbox 360)
$29.99 $13.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.