Robin non-member

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Provenzale: Vespro [Import]

Francesco Rossi , Gregorian Chant , Francesco Provenzale , Giuseppe Tricarico , Giuseppe Giamberti , Cristofaro Caresana , Antonio Florio , Cappella della Pieta de'Turchini , Roberta Invernizzi , Roberta Andalo , Emanuela Galli , Giuseppe De Vittorio , Rosario Totaro Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Performer: Cappella della Pieta de'Turchini, Roberta Invernizzi, Roberta Andalo, Emanuela Galli, Giuseppe De Vittorio, et al.
  • Conductor: Antonio Florio
  • Composer: Francesco Rossi, Gregorian Chant, Francesco Provenzale, Giuseppe Tricarico, Giuseppe Giamberti, et al.
  • Audio CD (August 5, 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Alliance
  • ASIN: B00000AE0T
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #139,907 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Sinfonia a 5
2. Deus in adjutorium...Domine ad adjuvandum, versicle & response
3. Dixit Dominus
4. Accipite jucunditatem
5. Confitebor
6. Similabo eum viro sapienti
7. Beatus vir
8. Exulta, jubila
9. Laudate pueri
10. Vanitas vanitatum
11. Laudate Dominum, quoniam bonus est psalmus, Lauda
12. Magnus secundum nomen suum
13. Iste confessor
14. Magnificat
15. Lauda Jerusalem

Editorial Reviews

This delightful fifth volume of Opus 111's Treasures of Naples series presents a reconstructed Vespers service ca. 1671 for the feast of the popular Italian saint Philip Neri. The performers, the Cappella de' Turchini, are dedicated to reviving works from baroque-era Naples, one of the most famously musical cities in Europe at the time. The ensemble's devotion extends to singing with Neapolitan accents--with pungent results (especially from the tenors) that may take some getting used to. It's worth the effort, though: this is earthy, extroverted sacred music, as attractive as it is unfamiliar. The psalms and motets (for one to five singers, sometimes with strings) assembled here tend toward the theatrical, but there are some wonderful quiet moments and delicious dissonances (a favorite is the motet for three sopranos "Accipite jucunditatem," which alternates joyously animated passages with more subdued and reverent writing). --Matthew Westphal

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful baroque Vespers June 26, 2013
This Vespers recording is a lovely contribution to the series of the Neapolitan Francesco Provenzale's works from the early music ensemble Cappella de' Turchini, under the excellent direction of Antonio Florio. It consists of motets and other works forming the Vespers sequence, with contributions by a few other contemporaries such as Caresana and Tricarico. The collection, which includes solo, ensemble and ripieno choral sections accompanied by instruments, is splendid. The work is full of brilliant and fascinating music, of which I'll mention just a few examples: the opening Sinfonia, strongly coloured by a baroque bassoon, makes a fine start. A little later the motet 'Accipite jucunditatem' from Giuseppe Tricarico (track 5), for three sopranos, seems like the epitome of florid baroque showmanship; a similarly arresting effect is achieved by two tenors in Giamberti's 'Similabo eum viro sapienti' (8). In fact the whole programme is characterised by lively melodies and textures, and by brilliant and demanding vocal passages.

Cristofaro Caresana's 'Vanitas vanitatum' (14) is a stunning tour de force, with highly demanding duet passages for contralto and bass - an absolutely remarkable work of bouncing rhythms and delightful sequences, and definitely not to be missed by fans of baroque vocal music. Provenzale's 'Magnus secundum nomen suum' (17) is a beautiful, atmospheric piece, mesmerising in its simplicity.

The performances, under Florio's stylish and energetic direction, are mostly excellent; a few of the voices in the minor roles are not of the highest quality, but in matters of agility and expressiveness they are well up to the task. They are not helped, however, by a somewhat harsh recorded sound giving a brittle edge to the violins and upper voices.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category