Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking Volume
This is the seminal volume in an important field that is bringing individualized medicine to the practice of psychiatry. I keep this book on my desk and not on my bookshelf, because I find myself frequently referring to it during the course of my clinical consultations. The book provides a practical review of molecular genetics and is therefore appealing to a wide...
Published on July 9, 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars on look inside cytochromes
in fact this title tells everything inside the book, it`s about cytochromes and how this works in nowadays psychopharmacology and how i`ll be important for the future. In our daily practice helps a lot !
Published on August 10, 2010 by Eduardo D. Ferreira


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking Volume, July 9, 2010
This review is from: Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics (Hardcover)
This is the seminal volume in an important field that is bringing individualized medicine to the practice of psychiatry. I keep this book on my desk and not on my bookshelf, because I find myself frequently referring to it during the course of my clinical consultations. The book provides a practical review of molecular genetics and is therefore appealing to a wide audience interested in genomic medicine. The book clearly defines how current pharmacogenomic testing can help in making clinical decisions as well as the limitations of testing. The book also provides a summary of the relevant literature and should be a standard reference for all physicians who prescribe psychotropic agents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Introductory Text, November 2, 2010
This review is from: Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics (Hardcover)
The challenge with this domain is that the science is evolving so rapidly, that any snapshot at a point-in-time quickly becomes obsolete. However, the author does cover some of the basics of the CYP genes, as well as transporters. I would recommend this book to the clinician who is not heavily involved in pharmacogenomic research in this field - it provides a great introduction for its intended audience. If you want to remain current with the research, journal publications are the only way to go. I recommend 'Molecular Psychiatry', published by Nature, as well as a number of other publications. For example, as of the time of writing this review, there is early, compelling evidence that an allelic variant of the Neuropeptide S receptor is correlated with increased arousal and anxiety, and is tightly associated with panic disorder in humans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, June 17, 2011
This review is from: Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics (Hardcover)
Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics should be a part of any clinician's library who is prescribing psychotropic medication. It reads easily and is a useful resource to anyone who just wants an exposure to the genetics of pharmacology as well as someone who is interested in pharmacogenomic research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a breakthrough in psychiatric treatment, April 29, 2011
This review is from: Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics (Hardcover)
I ordered this book after hearing a lecture by Dr. Mrazek on Audio-Digest, a medical continuing education program. This book is very clear, arranged to be practical for both clinicians and researchers, and explains a new approach to selection of psychoactive medications based on the individual patient genomic profiles that completion of the genome project has made possible. The field is still emerging, but the information in this volume is immediately and vitally useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book, April 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics (Hardcover)
This is an outstanding book that is extremely useful to the clinician and to the academic. I use it frequently related to patient care and I reccomend it to advanced students, residents and fellows. Certainly, it would be a great basis for a seminar on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars on look inside cytochromes, August 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics (Hardcover)
in fact this title tells everything inside the book, it`s about cytochromes and how this works in nowadays psychopharmacology and how i`ll be important for the future. In our daily practice helps a lot !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics
Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics by David A. Mrazek MD (Hardcover - May 28, 2010)
$49.95 $42.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.