Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A double-dip, but worth the trip!
It's true: Universal just got around to releasing decent DVD's of Psycho II and III last year. But this set marks the DVD debut of the often-overlooked Psycho IV. So yes, it is a bit redundant for fans who already own 2 out of the 3 films here. But at such a low price, I think it's worth it.

Psycho IV: The Beginning was made for the Showtime cable network in...
Published on September 13, 2007 by A. Gammill

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Perkins Will Never Die
The three movies that follow up on the original "Psycho" are not classic films, but Anthony Perkins himself is definitely a classic. Since he has been gone for a number of years now, it can be easy to forget just how great he was. Seeing these three films should serve to remind the viewer of the darkly unique qualities that Anthony Perkins possessed.

My...
Published on June 3, 2010 by K. pratt


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A double-dip, but worth the trip!, September 13, 2007
By 
A. Gammill (Tupelo, MS United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature) (DVD)
It's true: Universal just got around to releasing decent DVD's of Psycho II and III last year. But this set marks the DVD debut of the often-overlooked Psycho IV. So yes, it is a bit redundant for fans who already own 2 out of the 3 films here. But at such a low price, I think it's worth it.

Psycho IV: The Beginning was made for the Showtime cable network in 1990. The film was released on VHS the following year, but that tape has long been out-of-print. The film itself achieves something quite amazing, considering (1) It's the fourth film in a series, and (2) it's a made-for-t.v. movie--not usually the mark of quality entertainment. It was written by Joseph Stefano, who penned the classic Hitchock-directed original based (loosely) on Robert Bloch's novel. At the time Psycho IV was made, Stefano was open about his distaste for the previous sequels, which were made without his involvement. But for fans worried about continuity, the film doesn't really ignore the events of Psycho II and III. . .it just doesn't dwell on them.

Fans of the previous films might also be concerned (SPOILERS AHEAD) about Anthony Perkins' reduced screen time, since about 70% of the story is composed of flashback to Norman's younger days. But the script gives Perkins some great dialogue, most of it between Bates and the late-night radio talk-show host he's called. And Stefano--himself a long-time recipient of psychoanalysis--fills Bates' backstory with moments of both cruelty and, in rare moments, subtle beauty.

For the uninititated, parts II and III are also fine sequels (take THAT, Mr. Stefano). Psycho II is the more well-regarded, with its slow-building suspense and more restrained approach. I actually prefer Psycho III, which balances some over-the-top gore with black humour that I'm sure Hitch himself would have appreciated.

The bottom line is, you're getting 3 superior horror sequels at a bargain price. What more do you need to know? Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The return...and return...and return of Hitch's original bad boy!, December 28, 2007
This review is from: Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature) (DVD)
Twenty-two years after Alfred Hitchcock unleashed Norman Bates to the world, Anthony Perkins returned in his signature role in the first of the sequels: Psycho II. Directed by Richard Franklin, it is a handsome production and repeats some of the same thrills, although bloodier, as the original. Vera Miles returns as "Lila Loomis," sister of "Marion Crane," the famous shower victim played by the late Janet Leigh. Jerry Goldsmith provides a slick score that is surprisingly romantic at points, not as nerve-wracking as Herrmann's schizophrenic strings.

Released three years after the first sequel, "Psycho III" provided Perkins the chance to not just star in but direct the film. Perkins decided to have a little fun with the assignment and had some lighter and somewhat humorous touches along with the murderous mayhem. Though released theatrically, "Psycho III" looks more like a television film and, with a few edits here and there, could have aired with a disclaimer or two. Diana Scarwid co-stars as a defrocked nun, the subject of Bates' passions.

1990's "Psycho IV" originally aired as a production on the Showtime cable network. It is a well-acted look at the events that initiated Norman Bates' (Perkins again) actions. The always dependable C.C.H. Pounder is great as a radio personality that gets to the "root" of Norman. Olivia Hussey is just the right blend of beauty and paranoia as Norma Bates. Henry Thomas captures the nuances and physical movements of Perkins in his role as Norman in the flashback sequences.

A major coup for the telefilm is the fact that it utilizes much of Herrmann's music, along with new cues by Graeme Revell.

Director John Landis appears as the station manager where Pounder's character works.

Though the films pale in comparison to Sir Alfred's masterpiece, they each boast something noteworthy and entertaining...and Perkins IS along for the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes! Mother, June 24, 2007
By 
pure rock (hamilton ont Ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature) (DVD)
It's about time that Universal woke up and released Psycho 4 on dvd in region 1. I have been waiting since 1999 for this. It really should have been released by it's self or in a box set with all four films, but I'll take what I can get. Thank God I can finish the psycho collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Fantastic Deal on a Hollywood Classic!", March 30, 2009
By 
Terrance Richard "Terry Richard" (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature) (DVD)
There is no arguing about the deal that we consumers get with this amazing DVD set; we get all three follow-up films in the "Psycho" series. If you already have the original "Psycho" I highly recommend buying this set. Buying the films seperately will cost more money, and in this case all the films come beautifully restored with superb audio.
"Psycho 2" is really one of the best sequels in Hollywood history, as we see Norman Bates being released from prison after 20 years. Anthony Perkins, who reprises his role in all the films, is magnificent, and Vera Miles returns in the second film, who is determined to prove Norman is still the murderer he always was. Part 3 features Diana Scarwid, from "Mommie Dearest", who encounters Norman at the hotel. They become friends as secrets of their pasts binds them. Perkins also directed the third installment. The final movie, Part 4, originally aired on cable television in 1990, and is the lesser known of the films, but it's still a great piece of film work. In this we see why Norman became the killer he was, as the film explores child abuse. Norman's mother is depicted as a crazed, abrasive, and sexually promiscuos slut who never tires of heaping scorn on her son. I have to say the woman who plays the mother in this is quite an actress.
This DVD set should be included in everyone's DVD library. Also, you must purchase the original "Psycho" that comes in 2 DVD's, as it features a clean print of the film and a ton of bonus fetaures. The DVD set featuring the last 3 films only includes the trailers, but at least they are on DVD for life-long preservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 for 4, August 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature) (DVD)
The great things are the long awaited North American DVD release of Psycho IV, and some decent extras on the disks. The bad is that they released 3 movies and extras on 2 dvd's. A beautiful box set of all 4 movies was released in England, so I don't know why they couldn't do that over in America for a classic movie series like Psycho. Universal should have also considered releasing 4 by itself since 2 and 3 have already seen dvd release, or at least done something new to 2 and 3 for those who have to double dip and purchase this set to get part 4. This is worth it to get a very good movie in IV which is a prequel mostly, but also a sequel at the same time. Certainly worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor Norman, His Evil Mother Keeps Forcing Him To Kill Again . . . And Again . . . And Again, August 27, 2008
By 
This review is from: Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature) (DVD)
This is an excellent triple feature. It has three solid sequels to the mega hit "Psycho" - the film that revolutionized the movie industry. After viewing all three features back to back, I felt extremely depressed and sad for Norman Bates. You will learn how he became insane. It wasn't all his fault. The "Psycho" series has made me reevaluate my beliefs about the death penalty. Norman was a serial killer but he was definitely innocent by reason of insanity. You might be insane if you had gone through what he experienced. Let's take a peek at his life:

"Psycho II" - 5 stars. Released during the midst of the slasher frenzy era, this sequel is nearly as good as the original. In fact, it is one of the best sequels in horror movie history - as good as Halloween II and Friday 13th II. Anthony Perkins and Vera Miles reprise their roles as Norman Bates and Lila Loomis. Twenty-two years have past since Norman was arrested for stabbing Marion in the shower. He is deemed sane and released despite protests from Lila. Norman moves back home and the killings begin again. Could the killer be Norman? Has his mother returned from the grave? Or could the killer be someone completely different? Cute and adorable Meg Tilly ("Agnes of God" and "The Girl in a Swing") stars as Mary, a co-worker who has been thrown out of her apartment; she is befriended by Norman who allows her to stay with him. Will she die in the shower like Marion Crane? This mystery sequel is packed with red herrings, plot twists, gory murders, and a wonderful surprise ending. It reminded me of an Italian giallo (murder mystery).

"Psycho III" - 4 stars. Another fine sequel but it has substituted nudity for good plot development. This one doesn't have the mystery and suspense of the previous one. We know who the killer is. However, "Psycho II" does boast a few gory death sequences. The most imaginative, shocking one occurs at the beginning when the nun falls from the church belfry. Diana Scarwid stars as Maureen, the disenchanted nun who is befriended by Norman. Once again, he see her as another Marion. Jeff Fahey ("The Lawnmower Man") is the slimy, blackmailing musician, Duane Duke, who is hired by Norman to be his assistant. "Psycho III" would've been more enjoyable if someone had been framed for the murders and the real killer escaped justice. When first viewing this film, I had feared the series had ended but, thankfully, I was wrong.

"Psycho IV - The Beginning." - 4 stars. Prequels don't normally thrill me. Watching them makes me feel as though I'm reliving what I've already experienced. However, this one does an excellent job of explaining Norman's insanity. The beautiful Olivia Hussey (original "Black Christmas") is excellent as Norman's schizophrenic mother. Multi-talented CCH Pounder ("Tales from the Crypt: Demon Knight" and "Face/Off") is great as the talk show radio host, Fran Ambrose, who races against time to learn the identity of Norman's next victim. This film has a few surprises. The ending is left open for another sequel.

This triple feature is a must have for "Psycho" fans. You would be psycho not to purchase it. I paid less for it than I would have for a single feature. All three films are in widescreen. All have trailers except for Part IV, which is on DVD for the first time. There are no extra features such as commentaries and galleries. I'm not an extra features person Most of the time, I just want to see the movie.

Spoiler Alert! Fans of "Psycho" deserve another sequel. Part IV was released eighteen years ago and was left open with Norman's wife pregnant with his child. Today, the child would be grown. Would he or she be homicidal like their father? The child should be a girl; little Norma murders men who try to seduce her. The film could be similar to Hammer's "The Hands of the Ripper." She witnesses her father stab her mother to death and is emotionally traumatized. Consequently, she continues where her father left off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way To Go..., March 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature) (DVD)
All three of these movies are excellent installments in the Norman Bates (Anthony Perkins) saga. PSYCHO 2 has Norman's return home after 22 years in a mental institution. He must adjust to life in the world he'd left behind. Meg Tilly (IMPULSE, BODY SNATCHERS) moves in w/ him at the old homestead, and strange, homicidal things begin happening. Is Norman losing it again, or is someone trying to destroy him? It's great to see Robert Logia (SCARFACE, LOST HIGHWAY, INNOCENT BLOOD) as Norman's psychiatrist, and Dennis Franz (TV's NYPD BLUE) as the Bates motel's smarmy manager! PSYCHO 3 concerns a nun (Diana Scarwid from STRANGE INVADERS) who arrives at the Bates motel after a traumatic event. Many deaths ensue as Norman attempts to "help" the young noviciate. Jeff Fahey is memorable as the latest creep to manage Norman's motel. PSYCHO 4 has a married (!) Norman calling into a radio show and telling the host (a concerned CCH Pounder) about his tragically twisted, early life w/ mother (Olivia Hussey from BLACK CHRISTMAS and HEADSPACE). Henry Thomas (E.T, DEAD BIRDS, 11:14) plays young Norman. P4 gives an excellent back-story to Norman's behavior, as well as being a satisfying conclusion to the PSYCHO films. Yep, this trio is the perfect package for the PSYCHO fanatic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Collectors Must Have., November 10, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature) (DVD)
The bundled pack of the Psycho movies add a finishing touch to the original Hitchcock classic Psycho and at a very reasonable value. This one belongs in any collectors stash as it adds the finishing touch to a masterpiece of horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two very worthwhile sequels...and a fascinating prequel, November 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature) (DVD)
Beady-eyed, twitching Norman Bates--the late great Anthony Perkins--returns to menace audiences with three surprisingly effective sequels.
"Psycho II" (1983) is probably the most ponderous film of the three (as far as pacing goes). After twenty-odd years in an institution, Bates is eligible for parole...much to the protests of Vera Miles, reprising her role as the sister who's been forever haunted by Janet Leigh's death (from the original). Bates returns to the motel--and his old home--and is almost immediately besieged by memories of "mother". The main question being: Is this all in his mind, or is the horrible past repeating itself? There are some nice wink-wink moments, such as Bates cutting a sandwich (you can hear a hair-raising scrape sound effect) and contemplating the blade. Does he lapse back into his old ways? Sorry, you have to watch. The Perkins-directed "Psycho III" actually delves into issues of religion & romance (yes, believe it or not, Bates almost has a girlfriend!)amidst the bloody mayhem. A young woman (Diana Scarwid) fleeing her deeply troubled past as a nun wanders onto the Bates motel property. Coinciding with a rowdy football party on the premises--which, of course, Bates gleefully slashes his way through--Bates inadvertently rescues the girl from a suicide attempt, and to his surprise, begins a courtship. There's a wonderfully bizarre showdown in a motel room between Bates & drifter Jeff Fahey--himself driven as looney-toons & applying blackmail--as these two caged-up crazies go at it to a brutally disturbing conclusion. My fave was a darkly-amusing moment in which the local sheriff--investigating the disappearance of a young woman Bates just off-ed--absent-mindedly crunches from an ice binge tainted with the victim's blood as Bates' face twitches in acknowledgment. But will "mother" once again interfere with Bates' chances for happiness? You can pretty much guess...The most fascinating offering is the final chapter, "Psycho IV: The Beginning", a prequel which cleverly fills in the blanks to Bates' past, courtesy of him chatting about matricide on a local nighttime radio talk show. Now released from the hospital, married, and starting over at a new home, Bates peels away the psychological layers of his deeply troubled past via flashbacks to his relationship to mother (played terrifically by Olivia Hussey as a pretty but seriously schizophrenic person)as moments of twisted manipulation, obsessions, and near-incest surface. As the talk show host connects the dots & conclude that their anonymous caller is none other than the notorious Bates, they become frantic with keeping him on the air & talking. Sure enough, Bates plans a "birthday surprise"--returning to the long-abandoned, creepy Bates property to commit one more murder. But the twist ending will finally bring closure for the Bates character.
Good transfer to DVD for all three movies (although there's no "making of" featurettes). For fans of "Psycho", this is well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This review is for Psycho 2, not the set, but it is a great deal., February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature) (DVD)
I will first start off by saying that this is the best deal you will get for the whole set (minus the first), but I just want to say "BRAVO to the dos". Psycho 2 is perhaps one of the greatest sequels I have ever seen. Seldomly few series ever create a sequel worthy of having so many stars. I am 16 and have watched well over 200 horror movies, quite possibly more, and I have watched a many horror series. Alien series, Chucky Series, Scream, Saw, Of the dead's, Planet of the Apes, 28 later zombies, Children of the Corn, Halloween, Friday the 13th, Resident Evil; the list can go on. When I watched this sequel, it nearly threw me back in my seat. I would tell you the parts in the film that were breath taking to me, but I would only ruin the shock & awe to come. Trust me, this sequel was worth the 22 year wait.
They tried to change him, they tried to fix him, they tried to get him to see the truth...but the mother...never...DIES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Psycho II / Psycho III / Psycho IV - The Beginning (Triple Feature)
$14.98 $9.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.