Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing anime series
Over shadowed by series like Sword Art Online & Attack on Titan, Psycho-Pass released under the radar to many (myself included), however this series is not one you'll want to miss. Set in a future where law & order is maintained by a surveillance system that monitors everyone's actions and intents, this standout anime is set up rather uniquely and executed near...
Published 9 months ago by curtis fisher

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nihongo yaku shite ne/
2012~2013に放映された作品ですが、実は録画はしていたのですが未見でした。...
Published 25 days ago by baron35


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing anime series, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Over shadowed by series like Sword Art Online & Attack on Titan, Psycho-Pass released under the radar to many (myself included), however this series is not one you'll want to miss. Set in a future where law & order is maintained by a surveillance system that monitors everyone's actions and intents, this standout anime is set up rather uniquely and executed near flawlessly. Easily one of, if not my, favorite anime series of the past couple years. To top it off a second season has already been announced in the works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where The Stability Of Your Mind Matters more Then Your Moral Integrity., March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
A futuristic world where people are governed by the fear of keeping stability of their psyche or risk imprisonment at minimum. Rather then take chances with humanities emotional chaos a new system dictates a rigid new order that if broken causes the psyche criminal to be hunted by a special department specially created to handle the situation by using the very people it has deemed incorrigible and criminal by its own standards.

The series story is nicely done and will cause the viewer to question which way is actually the correct way humanity should go in the future. The series is bloody for half the episodes and can be pretty dark with some hardcore scenes though it barely keeps itself from going to any hentai scenes. Think a mix of Ghost In The Shell with Death Note and you'll get the picture a little.
The animation is very well done and the soundtrack fits the sci-fi techno beat pretty well. The voice cast for the Japanese cast did a terrific job and for the most part so did the English dub cast though maybe one or two seemed misplaced with their roles.
So for fans of the darker anime series or sci-fi series or just those looking for a good series a new one has been released for the anime buyers to add to their anime collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No high school silliness... just outstanding science fiction, March 29, 2014
This review is from: Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Pros:
Definitely adult in the manner of CSI, Blade Runner, Minority Report
Excellent character design
Superb animation and backgrounds
Seamless CG integration, especially the tech (love that Dominator)
Concise, intelligent, well-paced plot with good turns
Well rounded characters
Gory when required
Unique production style
Strong music and soundtrack
Pays homage to prior, classic sci-fi while carving out it's own niche

Con:
Only one season
Episodes seem a tad short as credits sometimes roll while story is still unfolding - watch credits to the end to make sure you don't miss anything in some episodes
Hard-baked English subs during titles
Possible hard subs in Japanese track (I watched only English)

Watch immediately, if you enjoy strong science fiction action with no high school silliness, fanservice or jetting nasal blood geysers. Psycho-Pass is my new favorite police Sci-Fi, depicting a utopian Japan with a deep dark secret at it's core. Suspenseful, gory and incredibly well written, Psycho-pass passes with flying colors! I can't wait for the movie. For English dialog fans, Funimation's ADR is perfect. I highly recommend this anime and hope many more like it come out on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly unique take on the concept of morality., March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Well I just finished the series and first let me say that this is an anime for adults, meaning that it contains content unsuitable for children (i.e. graphic violence, gore) mainly due to the context of said content. Also, this is what I would call a "deep thinker" which seems to be somewhat difficult to find these days.

If you want to understand the main premise of this show without me spoiling it for you then just imagine a world where a brain scanning technology of some sort has been perfected to the point where a persons overall moral integrity can be measured and assigned a numerical value in relation to their overall mental stability. Now imagine how difficult it would be to keep something so ideally practical out of our justice system. Its somewhat scary, isnt it? Its definatly a type of surveilance that I never imagined before watching this show.

At first when i read about it online the plot of the show seemed stupid to me. I thought they just took concepts from Minority Report (which I didnt really care for) and Ghost in the Shell and made them into a confused, tryhard lovechild, but I was wrong. This show is nothing like Ghost in the Shell, and the concept of the justice system (called SIBYL I think) is much more believable than the quantum inference thingy they had going on in Minority Report. The only similarities I see to GITS is the fact that this show is intelligent and the time setting seems to be in the same ballpark, but in that regard I only mean advanced technology and cityscapes of superstructures glowing with lights. The psychological and philisophical aspects of this show remind me more of Batman since alot of the deep stuff comes from the bad guys. Indeed, the criminals in this show are extremely well done and actually had a purpose to the random acts of violence they performed (which differs from more recent series ive watched, like AOT) so it doesnt just make me feel like they put blood and gore and killing in this show just so people can be like "ooooh violence this is a good anime." Its also very well animated with some really good CG stuff, and they didnt rely on CG to animate the characters as much as other shows (I cant stand that, makes me feel like im watching a Wii game.) The dark and gritty setting is really well done and works well with the plot to "thrill" you. Also, very fluid action sequences which has thankfully become a standard of good anime these days.

This first part is really good, particularly towards the ending, and was perfectly paced. It introduces you to the world of Inspectors and Enforcers (just watch the show) and how they work together, and successfully justifies their purpose as well. The dub is really good, I particularly liked the lead male characters. The opening them is okay but i really liked the drum and bass closing theme, and the second part of this show has one of the best opening themes ever, and as an added bonus its fully translated AND well translated. The characters themselves are amazingly fleshed out. Even the couple characters I didnt like at the beginning totally went 180 on me and I grew to love their personal aspects. All of the personality traits blend together so well that you wont even notice it. The series starts out with a glimpse into the future, but dont worry, this isnt the ending of the show (far from it in fact) and when this part eventually does come you will be not be dissapointed. Every single case investigated in this show is just amazing, but i have to say there were scenes where my mouth was agape either from shock or bewilderment. It seemed that there was an overall theme here and the best way to describe it is "when you gaze into the abyss, the abyss also gazes into you."

I watch alot of anime of all kinds, old and new, and I have to say this is the best out of all the new shows ive watched (Attack on Titan, K, Accel World, SAO, C-Control). Im sure all the AOT fans out there just cant bear to hear that AOT isnt the best show in the world, but it isnt (just my opinion really, if you havent seen that show you should get on it!) and the fact that stuff like that and SAO are more popular than shows like this just disturbs me. Dont get me wrong that stuff is really good, but in the end this show made me feel like I gained something from watching it.

Im gonna go ahead and review part 2, because what you see in part 1 is just the tip of the iceberg, this anime gets MUCH more serious. Also there is going to be a Season 2 and a movie, but dont worry this show wraps things up very nicely at the end of this season.

Please give it a chance, you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silly name but serious anime!, April 1, 2014
By 
Daigoro 2 (Sharon, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
It's Minority Report meets Silence of the Lambs by way of The X-Files in this stylish sci-fi crime thriller that, while drawing heavily from many different existing works and genres, still manages to keep you guessing - and wanting more!

Set in a dystopian near-future where "justice" is dictated by a computer surveillance system (NSA, anyone?) and meted out by government agents and expendable would-be criminals, called "enforcers," with their slick-as-hell handguns of doom, Psycho-Pass tells the story of a new agent straight from the academy who teams up with a motley crew of fellow agents and enforcers at exactly the wrong time. One of the enforcers' past comes back to haunt them as a series of grisly murders rock the city, and shake the new agent's own idealistic worldview to its core.

I have thoroughly enjoyed this series so far, the first half of which builds to a devastating climax in episode 11. The production is outstanding, the visuals are stunning, the sound is fantastic - even the J-pop/rock soundtrack is catchy. But the real kudos here go to the writers and directors who pull off some pretty heavy-duty reflection on a number of serious themes (the relationship of human beings with technology, the nature of human freedom and morality, the relationship of the individual and society, just to name a few) all while entertaining us with intense action and emotional drama. Yes, at times it slows down and gets mired in lengthy dialogue that sounds a bit too much like a freshman philosophy class at your local community college, but that is forgivable, considering the heavy subject matter. And the action really is good, though, as others have said, it can get gory at times, if that kind of thing upsets you (but seriously, people, it's a cartoon, and the gore isn't even really that bad, so relax!). It also has fleeting nudity, so I would give it a solid PG-13 rating as it is not appropriate for youngsters.

All that said, I would enthusiastically recommend this to any fans of serious, reflective sci-fi action and crime thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it! Get it now!, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Gosh I never watched this show, but I'm so glad I purchased this. In a time where all there is are school anime based shows and moe copycats, this is what the doctor ordered to heal your anime soul from the garbage that's being produced nowadays.
The music is beautiful and the tension is exciting from the first episode.
The dub is really good and is a MUST BUY FOR ANY ANIME FAN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rocky start leads to a stellar series, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Psycho Pass was a surprise for me. While I had been intrigued by the trailer, I found the first two episodes extremely weak. The show looked good, and had a decent amount of action, the uneven dramatics in episode 2, mixed with a very nasty, brutal kidnapping in the first episode left a bad taste in my mouth. Still, I stuck with it, and by episode 4, I was hooked.

The characters are in very well written. While it took me some time for me to warm up to the two leads, once I got to the end of this set I was understanding them better, and felt for them as they struggled to find a balance between what is truly right, and what society tells them is right. The side characters are just as entertaining, with Masaoka and Yuki being stand outs for me (with Yuki being a huge shock, since she really only plays a very minor role until the last three episodes).

The art is solid, although some of the design choices, especially when it comes to the characters' eyes, can take some getting use to. The animation is beautiful, with a varied color palette used to create a vibrant and varied world. While the urban settings are drab and run down, the cyber world is flush with bright colors and over the top character designs. When the show moves to an all girls school it is awash with yellows and browns, creating a nostalgic world that seems almost out of place in the future. The action scenes shine, with fluid animation, and some creative uses of CGI when the camera switches to a first person perspective.

Psycho Pass is violent, and can almost feel cruel. This is a show where the heroes don't always make it in time, or they don't act fast enough, and because of that, some characters pay the ultimate price. While the second episode turns the emotional dramatics up so high it almost becomes laughable, the rest of the series gets a more solid grasp of the serious nature of what these characters have to deal with, and allows their relationships to develop at a more natural pace.

I listened to the dub of this show, and I have to say, Funimation continues to turn out some very strong work. While I still consider Shiki to be their best work, once the VA's get comfortable with their characters everyone turns in some stellar performances.

Technically the discs are strong. Both the Blu Ray and the DVD turn out great pictures, although Blu Ray is just a bit more vibrant. The audio is strong as well, with no drop outs, or weird distortions. There aren't a ton of extras, but that's pretty much par for the course for most current releases.

For those who are looking for some dark, futuristic crime drama, I highly recommend Psycho Pass. Now I just need to get my hands on volume 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing a must own!, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Premise... In the year 2113 Japan is overseen by the Sibyl system which actively measures the mental state, personality and probability to commit crimes of its populace these assessments are known as a psycho pass. If a psycho pass is abnormal the individual is told to seek counseling, but if it's too high the individual is immediately pursued and apprehended unless lethal force is necessary. Enforcing the will of the Sibyl system is the public safety bureau's criminal investigation division comprised of inspectors and enforcers. Members of the bureau are issued a high tech handgun known as a dominator that maintains a constant connection with the Sibyl system which regulates the gun's lethality based on the suspect's current crime coefficient level.

Story... Akane is a new inspector of unit one of the public safety bureau's criminal
investigation division her job is to apprehend people with high psycho passes and investigate crimes while also overseeing latent criminals known as enforcers. Each investigation will bring her one step closer to transitioning from an inexperienced rookie to a hardened veteran while continuing to raise the question does the Sibyl system create an idealistic utopia or a repressive totalitarian dystopia.

The animation is gorgeous, the characters are compelling, the story is intriguing and the English dub is excellent making this series a must own for any anime fan and one of my favorite science fiction animes!

Be warned this anime contains graphic violence and gore so it may not be suitable for children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for kids, September 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Most anime appears to be geared toward children and young adults; still enjoyable but not necessarily the best choice for a mature person. However, there are exceptions, and this is one of them. It's got a story, intriguing characters and a concept that would probably do well as the basis for a near-future, sci-fi oriented, live action film.

What if an AI (artificial intelligence) could identify people with criminal intent, or even criminal personality traits? What if said AI could then met out whatever punishment it determined was appropriate, including execution? What if society was reliant upon this system to maintain law, order and public safety? Have I piqued your interest?

So with that out of the way, let me say that this might well be my favorite anime. It's top notch in every respect. I'm not an anime expert nor a movie critic. I write the occasional product review when I've found an exceptional product. I don't presume to know what others may like and it is possible you may not appreciate Psycho-Pass as much as I. But I've just started Part Two and it's even better. So my advise (which is why you are reading this) is to give this one a try. It's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb show and a must watch for any cyberpunk fans, August 17, 2014
This review is from: Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
I love cyberpunk as a genre, the atmosphere and setting is always top notch, yet it seems to be a tradition the a cyberpunk movie or show will have little to no plot. That's what makes this show different. Along side orgasmic visuals and superb animation this show offers interesting, though vaguely generic, characters and awesome mysteries with enough sick twisted content to make any guy happy. The show has one of my favorite styles of story telling in anime in which it starts out vaguely episodic, but the cases begin to intertwine and become one massive, thrilling plot (higurashi for example). If you are in the mood for a dark sci-if thriller I highly recommend trying this show out, and if for whatever reason you don't like the plot, the visuals will make up for it.

When it comes to the actual product I'm afraid I don't have much input. I don't pay a major amount of attention to the quality of what I watch, as long as I can't count the pixels and it doesn't sound like a wall of sound I'm happy. It comes with both DVD and blu ray which is a recent trend in North American anime releases that I love, and has great artwork to show the ark sphere of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo)
Psycho-Pass: Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) by Zach Bolton (Blu-ray - 2014)
$64.98 $31.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.