Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now Learn more

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 14, 2002
Words cannot express how much I love this movie, but I will try my best. "Pulp Fiction" is one of my favorites. Quentin Tarantino is a very gifted director/writer. Although I love his directing, I must say it is his writing that really impresses me. But I will get to that later on in this review.
I think it's safe to say that the first time this movie was released on DVD, it was a little more than disappointing. There were no special features, sound and picture was so-so; I mean, my laserdisk at least had three different trailers of the movie. So, of course, I was very excited to learn that this movie was being re-released in a fully loaded special edition. Re-buying the movie was well worth it, for this edition of the movie is far superior than the other one.
The movie really consists of three different stories; not in any order. Any one of the stories could be their own little movies. The players are two hitmen, a boxer, the big boss, the big boss' wife, a crazy gun store owner, a gimp, a cop named, Zed, a man who makes problems go away, and a little suitcase with "666" for the combination. You add all this together and you get one hell of a movie.
The acting is more than superb; including one terrific cast with some heavy hitters (Travolta, Jackson, Thurman, Willis, etc.). Tarantino is a master when it comes to writing and directing. Especially when it comes to writing. I have never heard such clever and brutally honest dialogue in any other movie. I have said it before, and I will say it again; Tarantino reminds me of Raymond Carver, except with more humor.
Now, on to the special edition of this DVD. Is it better than the previous version? YES! Tons of special features, and not to forget the fact that the movie has been restored in high definition. Picture looks very clear. And the sound is also a lot better. You can watch the movie in DTS, which is always a good thing.
Special features.....where do I begin? There's a ton of them! It's not even funny how much stuff is loaded on this bad boy. And every one of them is great. Features include a documentary, an interview with Tarantino on "The Charlie Rose Show," trailers, filmographies, and many more. If you love special features, then you will not be disappointed.
"Pulp Fiction" is a great movie, and the new DVD edition is outstanding in every way. If you still have the older DVD of this movie, get this one now! If you haven't seen it yet, check it out when you can! Of course, with any other movie, there is a chance you may not like this movie. That's fine, nothing wrong with that. Don't let hype ruin your preception of the movie, just watch it as if it were any other movie. You like it, great; if not, well, at least you gave it a shot. Filled with sharp humor, great characters, outstanding dialogue, and some of the craziest surprises and twists, "Pulp Fiction" is a wonderful film, and will continue to be one of my favorites.
1414 comments|277 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2011
Movie - 5.0

The first time I saw this I was like, 12 years old, and it was on VHS. It looked cool at the time, but my teenage brain couldn't handle anything past the loud voices and constant cussing, but kudos for style points. The second time I saw it (maybe another 12 years after the first) I believe it was supposed to be a DVD rip, but the sound encoding was atrocious, so I only enjoyed it in part. The the third time I saw it (about 3 months ago) was off of Netflix streaming with decent enough audio, but not so great video. Ironically enough, the one time I finally get to see and hear the darn thing with quality A/V is on Blu-ray. That being said, it should go without question by user vote on IMDb, critic appraisal, or any number of awards and accolades given to this film that Pulp Fiction has cemented itself as a true game-changer in the halls of cinema legend. Be it the achronological storytelling, the sassy script, the dark humor, the quirky characters, or just the amazing level of star power involved from every which way, there's a lot to like about this film. For me, personally, it's the method. I don't mean the cut-up timeline (which is enjoyable in itself and keeps you on your toes), but how so much of the dialogue is "just there" from a purely jovial or character-developing perspective. Talks of Amsterdam and their legalization of drugs, the differences between European and American culture, the frivolous comparison between a foot massage and going down on a girl, the significantly comedic monologue of a P.O.W. storing his best friend's watch up his anus for years only to deliver it to his son, and all kinds of other seemingly random stuff "capped off" by a stride at redemption would make you think otherwise about this being nominated for seven Oscars, right? Well, as most people often say about Quentin Tarantino films, "you should just see it for yourself to know what I mean." And the result after almost 20 years? It's a part of our modern day pop culture with all kinds of quotable lines, a beacon of entertainment and inspiration within the industry,and, for all intents and purposes, one really fun movie to watch. Is it for everyone? Of course not. But most would say it is.

Video - 5.0

- Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC
- Video resolution: 1080p
- Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
- Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

The front and back of the slipcover and the back of the cover art says that this transfer was supervised by Quentin Tarantino himself and even has a copy of his signature on the slip, so what you see here was what the director intended. And I have to say, after 3 very poor video outings (VHS, a crappy DVD rip, and Netflix streaming), I have to say I've never seen the movie look this good (literally). The production budget was only $8 million, which by today's standards would still only be about $12 million. But wow, am I glad Tarantino used some quality film stock. First and foremost, I have to commend the black levels. All the tiny little details, linings, reflections, and textures look absolutely pristine on this presentation. Particularly, the wetness of Jules' Jheri curl, as laughable as the look is intended to be, adds a nice aesthetic sense of throwback to the Blaxploitation genre that Mr. Jackson's character is portraying. And then you have the hallmark scene where Vincent is taking Mia to Jack Rabbit Slim's, which is FULL of dark lighting, and yet still manages to display an amazing amount of detail around the restaurant itself, its patrons, on Thurman's hair, and in Travolta's suit in addition to the smoke he's blowing. Colors, while somewhat muted from an art direction standpoint, are surprisingly bold. The scene where Butch is taking money from Marsellus in the bar is full of red light, but in comparison to other brightly red-lit backdrops (which isn't many), I'm pleased at how a lot of the detail still remained intact. Then, of course, is the blood. Maybe it was more so the stuff they used to be the blood, but when it splatters, it looks great. Not real per se, but it's one of those artistic subtleties that Tarantino does well in his films. I am also happy to report that there is very little, if any, hints of dirt or artifacting. There's a fine layer of grain (and I mean very fine), but it doesn't seem like any DNR was added. Edge Enhancement? Not too sure, I'm typing this review with only 4 hours of sleep and might've seen a tiny little bit, but it's hard to say when I'm not all there. Regardless, though, I can tell you everything else looks superb, especially for its age.

Audio - 5.0

Languages
- English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1

Subtitles
- English, English SDH, Spanish

Another big part of Tarantino's films outside of its aesthetic and literary homages is the sound, particularly the music. As soon as Surf Rider starts playing it's easy to tell that this DTS-HD MA 5.1 track will do its job and do it well. LFEs are at their most prominent when any of this great soundtrack starts playing. Even as the radio switches to Jungle Boogie in the opening sequence, there's not a discrepancy to be heard. But how do the rest of the sound elements hold up on this seemingly quaint sound design? I mean, how can 230 pages of script possibly earn a 5 point rating? Oddly enough, this film's sound scape has a LOT of immersion. Shortly after the credits have done their thing we get a great audio treat in the first scene where Pumpkin and Honey Bunny are contemplating their change in venue for an upcoming robbery. I actually wouldn't even know this if I hadn't accessed all the extras, but the trivia track says that even in this very first scene, despite the achoronlogical plot structure, if you listen hard enough during Pumpkin and Honey Bunny's conversation you can distinctly hear Jules talking to Vincent in the background from a scene to be shown later on in the film. How cool is that? And while the weak point of the sound effects may be in the meager gunshots, the sheer sense of engulfment that every other crowded scene has to offer is sonic gold. Directionality and separation sound wonderful during these parts putting you right there in the thick of things. Meanwhile, high and low ends still manage to be very well-calibrated, specifically in the scene where Mia is getting her adrenaline shot between all the paper raffling around and the eventual thump on her chest. Oh yeah, and the dialogue couldn't be any clearer. From Jules' intimidating preacher vibrato to Fabienne's sweet and sexy accented-English, the movie has never looked OR sounded better. My favorite scenes to test the audio would be the aforementioned robbery attempt at the beginning of the film and the always-exalting trademark scene of Vincent and Mia going to Jack Rabbit Slim's (when they walk to their table and when they start dancing).

Extras - 5.0

Wow, I should really have taken a nap before work instead of trying to rush this review out for everyone to get a fresh take on the product, but I'm glad I at least got to learn a lot of things despite my soon-to-be headache at the crap hole at which I work. At any rate, this BD is loaded with extras. Most of them are DVD ports, but I'd never seen this on DVD anyway, and thus, am just seeing all of this for the very first time.

- Not the Usual Mindless Boring Getting to Know You Chit Chat (HD; 43:01)
A new HD retrospective with most of the film's actors discussing how they were cast, how the shooting went, and all of the things that ensued after the film came out. There's a lot of information here about the movie itself, its writing, and how a lot of the actors felt working with Tarantino.

- Here are Some Facts on the Fiction (HD; 20:37)
Another newly-produced featurette that shows a roundtable discussion with critics and their thoughts on how Pulp Fiction has affected the industry, their favorite parts, and some of the things that make the movie so good.

- Pulp Fiction: The Facts - Documentary (SD; 30:31)
Is from the Special Edition DVD (as is everything else from here on out) and is something of a mishmash of the pre-production, filming, and reception of the movie up to 2001.

- Deleted Scenes (SD; 24:30)
Feature commentary for 4 out of the 5 scenes by Tarantino and are enjoyable, if you want to at least take a one-time look.

- Siskel & Ebert At the Movies: The Tarantino Generation (SD; 16:00)
Is a short look at the quick rise of Tarantino's status and whether or not they think he was legit at the time. It comes off rather pretentious, though, so I wouldn't recommend it.

- Charlie Rose Show (SD; 55:27)
Features a GREAT interview with Tarantino and discusses a lot of his film-making roots, his philosophy as a movie-lover, and what he believes makes a good film.

- Independent Spirit Awards (SD; 11:29)

- Cannes Film Festival - Palme D'Or Acceptance Speech (SD; 5:20)

- Marketing Gallery (SD; 16:13)
Lots and lots of trailers/teasers.

- Still Gallery

- Enhanced Trivia Track
A trivia track that pops up all sorts of tidbits of information in the subtitles telling you all the quirks about the film itself, if any of you like that sort of thing (and some of it being very funny).

Overall - 5.0

As fervid as my review sounds, I'm actually not that big a fan of Tarantino. Aside from seeing this and Inglorious Basterds more than two times each, I've only seen his other films once. I didn't really get into Reservoir Dogs and the Kill Bills were stylish enough, but keep in mind it's been nearly five years since I've seen those, and five years is a lot of time for my brain to better develop. But to the point, yes, Pulp Fiction is definitely one of those films that somehow managed to turn a bunch of dialogue into a fun and raucous movie. It's well-written, especially well-acted, and is a good way to spend two and a half-hours. With top-notch A/V quality and over 3 hours of specials, an SRP of $19.99 is practically nothing for such an renowned title that finally made its way to a proper BD release.
1717 comments|162 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon October 2, 2002
Pulp Fiction was a groundbreaking film in a couple of different ways. It was an independent release and its success opened the door up for all kinds of maverick filmmakers and companies to release films that otherwise would have never been made. It also had a profound stylistic influence. It was a hip movie with sharp dialogue, graphic violence, cool soundtrack and intricate plotlines. In the wake of its success, many movies try to copy this style, but most failed as they lacked Quentin Tarantino's unique vision. Mr. Tarantino was able to pull John Travolta out of a decade long funk and directed him to the finest performance of his career and one that garnered his second Academy Award nomination. He also pushed Bruce Willis to a stellar performance that showed he was more than just an action hero. The cast is first rate including a beguiling Uma Thurman, Ving Rhames, Harvey Keitel, Eric Stolz, Rosanna Arquette and Christopher Walken. The best performance of all is given by Samuel L. Jackson who is absolutely amazing. It was a crime that he did not win the Academy Award for the role. Pulp Fiction is broken up into three parts and includes flashbacks, flash-forwards and twists and turns and some mysteries that are never revealed. It is a rare film that is both stylish and full of substance. The new Collector's Edition is a huge step up from the original edition which offered virtually no extras. The sound and visuals are crisper and cleaner and the extra features are great. One excellent extra is a Siskel & Ebert show dedicated to the Tarantino phenonmeon, which looking at it eight years later is quite interesting.
11 comment|78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2000
"Pulp Fiction" is like a novel with five chapters that was ripped apart and put back together with the chapters all mixed up in random order -- where does it start and where does it end? That said, it's a hilarious crazy-quilt of a movie, superbly directed by Quentin Tarantino. And yes, there is a straight story line throughout... chronologically, the actual story begins with Samuel Jackson and John Travolta on their way to a hit ordered by their boss Ving Rhames, and ends with Bruce Willis and his pregnant girlfriend zooming out of town on a homicidal maniac's stolen motorcycle. Each short story in the movie is complete in itself, and yet each makes up part of the whole.

The actors are terrific. Jackson and Travolta are great as the two hitmen Jules and Vince; Uma Thurman is exellent as the boss's wife; Bruce Willis is funny and yet moving as the boxer who saves the boss's life after the boss ordered a hit on him, and Harvey Keitel steals the whole movie with his performance as the almost inhumanly efficient Wolf. Even Tarantino himself can't resist joining the fun and plays the role of Jules's sometime partner Jimmie, very annoyed at being roused out of bed at the crack of dawn to help dispose of a semi-headless corpse. There are so many priceless scenes in this film that it's hard to pick a favorite. It's a wild, crazy, mind-boggling movie that gets better and better each time you watch it.

Judy Lind
0Comment|98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2012
Pulp Fiction (1994)
Crime, Thriller, 154 minutes
Directed by Quentin Tarantino
Starring John Travolta, Samuel L. Jackson, Bruce Willis, Uma Thurman, Christopher Walken and Harvey Keitel

It's not easy to write about Pulp Fiction. The plot is deliberately non-linear and we follow several stories at once. The opening scene is set in a diner and we see two people discussing the virtues of robbing restaurants. The closing scene returns to that same diner and we see the result of their attempts as they interact with other characters we meet during the course of the story.

Crime is a recurring theme and part of the story focuses on Jules Winnfield (Jackson) and Vincent Vega (Travolta) as they carry out hits for their boss. We get to know these characters well, and that's one thing that makes Pulp Fiction great. Tarantino's dialogue is very distinctive. It's funny and true to life, but it also provides plenty of exposition and characterization. You will come away from Pulp Fiction feeling as if you know Jules and Vincent. Like any employee, they talk about things other than their job. Whether it's burgers, miracles, or foot massages, it's always entertaining.

Another thread follows Butch (Willis). He's a boxer who is paid to fix a fight, but he wins anyway. That means he has to go on the run.

One thing I like about Tarantino is the structure of his films. He regularly includes a scene immediately before a sequence to explain the motivations of the characters in that scene. In Kill Bill 2, remember how Beatrix was shown learning skills from Pai Mei immediately before her escape from the grave? In Pulp Fiction, Butch is given a watch. Christopher Walken's cameo is one of the funniest I have seen in any film. He explains how he and his father protected the watch and why it's important that Butch looks after it. This explains why Butch will risk death to return to his apartment and recover the watch later in his life.

A third story shows Vincent taking Mia Wallace (Thurman) out for the night. Her husband is likely to kill him if he makes a wrong move, so his night is filled with tension. The dialogue is at its best when the two talk in the restaurant. Tarantino makes some good observations, such as why we feel the need to talk about trivial things rather than enjoy the silence.

All of the characters are connected with each other. Butch will eventually meet Vincent and Mia's husband. Vincent and Jules will meet the robbers shown in the opening scene.

Perhaps the best story in the entire film involves Winston Wolfe (Keitel). He's a man who knows how to solve problems and he doesn't waste a second or expect anyone to deviate from his instructions. An unfortunate accident leaves Jules and Vincent in an awkward predicament. They have to dispose of a body and remove all traces of the incident. Tarantino even makes a cameo in this chapter as Jimmy.

Pulp Fiction will confound some viewers because it doesn't follow an established structure. A character might die in one scene and show up later in the film. The plot meanders all over the place and offers a glimpse into the lives of these colorful characters. It's not important what happens to them; it's more an exercise in style and mood. Pulp Fiction happens in an unfamiliar world.

The music and dialogue are vital ingredients in any Tarantino film and this one is no different. The actors have so much fun delivering his words. If you focus on Jackson, it's hard to imagine anyone else playing the part of Jules so well. Willis plays Butch in the same way. There are unlikely alliances, a Mexican standoff, shots of women's feet, shots from inside a car trunk and all the things you would expect from Tarantino.

I've heard people complain about the violence in Pulp Fiction, but there aren't actually many deaths and most of the violence isn't directly shown. One thing I should mention is the language. If you are sensitive to excessive swearing, this film might not be for you. But the swearing does fit the characters and it always feels authentic.

Tarantino's films are a lot of fun. If you have a sense of humor that's similar to mine, you might find it among the funniest material available on film. I grin my way through all his films and Pulp Fiction feels about an hour shorter than it actually is.

The Blu-ray presentation is just about perfect.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2000
This is of course the best film ever made. I own the DVD, but can't understand the shortage of extras. The laserdisc format has plenty of extras. For example it has the tralior and T.V. spots. Behind the scenes, the Making of Pulp, the Charlie Rose interview with QT, and four deleted scenes hosted by QT. Why couldn't we get those with the DVD format. Hopefully in the near future, a re-release of the DVD will include these goodies and maybe perhaps a Tarantino-Bender commentary track and a director's cut of the complete film. The current DVD provides average picture and sound. It is the best movie ever made and gets better each time you watch it. You will also find out new things every time you view it. For instance, the gun on Butch's counter didn't belong to Vincent, it belonged to Wallace. Remember, Jules had already quit. Butch doesn't have any intention in throwing the fight until Vincent picks a fight with him. It's true, go back and watch how Butch acts while talking with Wallace and then how mad he gets when Vincent starts with him. Plus Fabeine is pregnant in the movie, listen very closely to what she says. The movie also has a comic side to it. I think it's funny how Vincent basically caused everything in the movie. Just think, Vincent caused Mia's overdose by purchasing heroine from Lance, in the first chapter. In the second chapter, "The Gold Watch," Vincent picks a fight with Butch. Then Butch throws the boxing match. Then in "The Bonnie Situation," Vincent tells Jules, "Do you feel like having breakfast?" Then they go to the diner, and you know what happens. Vincent is the films main character, and without him there wouldn't have been a movie because he started all the problems. Ask yourself these questions while viewing this. Why DON'T Vincent and Jules die in the apartment? Why DO Vincent and Marvin die after "Devine Intervention?" Why does Jules let Ringo LIVE? Why does Butch go back to SAVE Wallace's life? What is in the BRIEFCASE? Tarantino wasn't lazy when writing and directing this film. The more you watch it, the more likely you'll have the answers to these questions and more. You need to watch it more than two times to understand it. If you didn't like it the first time, give it another try. This movie is NOT bad, overrated, boring or too long like some people say. The actors are great and perfect for thier roles. Any real movie fan will agree with me. People ask me what the movie is about and its difficult to say. It's about a lot of things like honor, pride, luck, faith and redemption.This is my favorite and the greatest movie ever made!
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2000
Pulp Fiction. It took the movie world by storm and made Quentin Tarantino a household name. It's certainly far from the best movie ever made, but the excellent cast and unique style make a great film. The DVD quality is very good. The playback on a Sony DVP-S7700 is flawless. I'd rate it 5 stars as a DVD, but the lack of any special features is a little disappointing for such a widely popular cult film.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2011
Please describe the audio and video quality of any Blu-Ray you review. Thanks to those who do this.

This is a fantastic Blu-Ray disc of Pulp Fiction. The video quality is outstanding. I didn't see any grain at all, and the detail was excellent. The aspect ratio is 2.35:1, not 1.85:1 as advertised. I would have been very disappointed if it was 1.85:1.

The sound is DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio, not 6.1. Audio was adequate for the movie, which didn't have a whole lot of surround sound or sub-woofer bass. I have no complaints about the audio quality.

I am very pleased with this Blu-Ray purchase. This is one of my favorite movies, so I was waiting for the Blu-Ray. I think they did a great job making it.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2011
The movie is great, and indeed looks awesome on Blu-Ray...

But remember when the Collector's Edition of Pulp Fiction included a 16 page Booklet and a Menu from Jack Rabbit Slims? Pulp Fiction (Two-Disc Collector's Edition)

I really miss the days when upon opening a new DVD you were actually impressed by the amount care and effort that went into the presentation & packaging of the DVD.

The current Blu-Ray release of Pulp Ficition does away with all that "unnecessary" stuff and just gives you the disc, nothing more of value to read or flip through. My Blu-Ray from Amazon came in an "Eco-Friendly" case that blows chunks. No printing on the reverse side of the cover that might show a scene or two from the movie, include a list of Chapters, or actor/director Bios; just plain bland white.

They did spend some extra money on three different types of anti-theft stickers. I'm sure this prevented untold numbers of thefts from the Local Amazon Stores. Before I could open the case, I had to first remove an outside sticker designed to prevent me from opening the case, simply labled "Security Device Enclosed" it performed it's task admirably. Once I got past the first layer of security, and got inside the case I was greeted with two additonal and different anti-theft sticker devices which were both very difficult to remove cleanly, I then threw them away. So much for being Eco-friendly. Can someone please remind me again why Amazon needs security stickers? Since this was a pre-order one would think Mirimax or Lionsgate or whover would know the discs were going to Amazon, who doesn't need them.

(Speaking of pre-orders, 6 days after the release date they lowered the price to 12.99 as a Thank-you to all who pre-ordered at 14.99)

To be fair, they did include a standard external cardboard sleeve with the classic shot of Uma on the cover. Of course, they slapped two other Stickers on the front to cover her up. The first sticker tells me I can scan it with my Smartphone and watch the trailer on my 4 inch phone screen, thanks to this 1 1/2 inch "Wimo Enabled" sticker. Wow, who WHO KNEW, you could Stream a trailer from the internet and watch it on a web enabled phone? The second sticker was a plain 1 1/4 inch yellow square with the words "Director Approved" and Quentin Tarantino's scribled signature. There's also a magic number on it, "3000017221". This same number is on the same sticker that's on my Jackie Brown Blu-Ray. I must now look for this whenever I buy a Tarantino Blu-ray release because without it I won't be sure of what I'm getting.

Apparently, someone in marketing thinks spending money on stickers will entice someone to buy the Blu-Ray. Even though the average person will likely ignore them or peel them off and damage their cover in the process.

In light of a great movie, I feel the release is somewhat lackluster in it's presentation, especially compared to the Collector's Editon DVD released in 2002: Pulp Fiction (Two-Disc Collector's Edition)

It would be nice if attention were paid to these types of details so that collectors and fans of film would have something more substantial to show for their money than a Shiny disc and a translucent blu-ray case with recycle arrows carved out of it. Boring shiny discs can be rented using any number of online or local rental options. Were they to make the experience of purchasing Blu-Ray disc a little more special, more people might be inclined to purchase more movies to add to their collections.
66 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Almost everyone I know who has seen this film either loves it or hates it but all agree that it is almost impossible to take your eyes off of the screen. Pulp Fiction not only attracts our attention, it demands it. Much credit must be given to director Quentin Tarantino who co-authored the Academy Award winning best original screenplay with Roger Avary. The influences on his development as a filmmaker are too numerous to list here but it is worth noting that Orson Welles, Daffy Duck, Akiro Kurosawa, Dashiell Hammett, Spike Lee, and Francois Truffaut would be on it. Many believe that this film saved John Travolta's career. His portrayal of the dangerous but somewhat dimwitted hit man, Vincent Vega, is brilliant. In fact, Tarantino assembled an outstanding cast and somehow coordinated the various plots in which they are involved. Destinies intersect, sometimes causing violent collisions. The film's accelerated pace, however, does not preclude "eye of the hurricane" moments as when Vincent dances with Mia Wallace (Uma Thurman) in a nightclub or when Butch Coolidge (Bruce Willis) and Marsellus Wallace (Ving Rhames) are held against their will by a psychopath. Tarantino has a very traditional view of film making: He wants vivid PICTURES and he wants them to MOVE. He also cherishes effective use of language, almost to the point that some scenes seem "talky." My guess (only a guess) is that because Tarantino seems to be a compulsive conversationalist, he and members of his cast and crew never stopped talking about Pulp Fiction from the beginning to the end of its production and that many of them are still discussing it nine years after it was first released.
This is a nasty, sometimes violent, occasionally hilarious, but never dull film. To those seeing it for the first time who almost immediately become uncomfortable, my advice is to be patient and allow the narrative to continue. You may end up being repulsed. Fair enough. But you may also find yourself enjoying what is deliberately and pre-eminently an unorthodox examination of how MOVING PICTURES can tell a story with compelling impact. For me, the vivid images and my emotional reactions to them dominate the literate, at times loopy dialogue. FYI, the special features provided with the DVD Miramax Collector's Edition include "Pulp Fiction: The Facts" (an original documentary), behind-the-scenes montages, a production design featurette, a Siskel & Ebert At The Movies feature ("The Tarantino Generation"), Tarantino's Cannes Film Festival - Palm d'Or acceptance speech, his appearance on the Charlie Rose Show, and various reviews and articles which discuss the film.
11 comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.