Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


192 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars for the Movie....Zero Stars for Reviewers Here
Pumpkinhead is an orignal and at times, a pretty frightening little horror movie. The film builds suspense, and gives you real characters, not just usual horror film slaughter fodder. If you have not seen this little forgotten gem do yourself a favor, pick it up, and block off a late Saturday night to watch it with the lights off, and big old bowl of popcorn near to hand...
Published on April 27, 2005 by David Girod

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The first SHOUT/SCREAM Factory release which may not be worth the upgrade.
I am a huge fan of this movie and have owned the VHS, two DVD's, and now the Blu Ray version.. I also own quite a few of the Shout/Scream Factory Collector's Editions, and am normally very satisfied..

Upon comparison of this title, I noticed that the picture quality is really no different from the 2008 MGM Collector's Edition DVD release, which was also 16x9...
Published 12 days ago by Jimmy R


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

192 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars for the Movie....Zero Stars for Reviewers Here, April 27, 2005
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pumpkinhead (DVD)
Pumpkinhead is an orignal and at times, a pretty frightening little horror movie. The film builds suspense, and gives you real characters, not just usual horror film slaughter fodder. If you have not seen this little forgotten gem do yourself a favor, pick it up, and block off a late Saturday night to watch it with the lights off, and big old bowl of popcorn near to hand. BUT....by all means, avoid reading most of the reviews posted. Most of the reviewers here are not reviewing the movie, so much as detailing all of the events that occur in the film!! WHY do so many people feel obliged to not only give away major plot points of a film, but basically run down the entire script of the film...I mean really, after reading some of the reviews posted here, the only thing left to watch the film for is to see who provided the catering on the set!! I highly recommend this movie like most of the other reviewers here....but you will enjoy the film so much more if you go into it not knowing what to expect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked horror classic, May 2, 2002
This review is from: Pumpkinhead (DVD)
Stan Winston, who is possibly the greatest makeup artist and creature effect artist ever, directed this unusually good horror film. Lance Henriksen stars as Ed Harley, a man who wants revenge against the city folk who accidently killed his son. He goes to a witch that lives near a swamp and she conjures up Pumpkinhead, a monster that will get revenge on the yuppies. However, Ed begins to realize that he has made a mistake, and he tries to stop the monster he helped unleash. Henriksen is unbelieveably good in his role, and it may be the best of his career. Stan Winston did a great job as director and its a shame he hasn't directed anything since. As with the original Halloween, Pumpkinhead is a horror movie that pulls off being scary and good at the same time without buckets of blood and gore being splashed every other scene. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gothic masterpiece, July 27, 2006
This review is from: Pumpkinhead (DVD)
One of the few movies of the "gothic horror" genre that truly follows the "recipe" of having a moral. The slow transformation of Ed Harley into the creature due solely to his anger and quest for revenge is a lesson to be learned by all of us. Being a Lance Henriksen fan, I thought his role as Ed Harley was his best and "Buck" Flower was great in a supporting role. And anyone who has seen this movie can't help but carry the vision of Haggis in their memory. And Stan Winston, well, what more do you have to know. He is one of the best. Truly an overlooked classic. I have often characterized this movie as "Alien" meets "Deliverance" , but, unlike Alien or Predator, this is a creature with a mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The movie STILL rocks!, June 23, 2006
This review is from: Pumpkinhead (DVD)
I just watched this movie again last night, and it definitely stands up as a great horror flick even now. This is one of those movies that will never get old. I just wish they would release a DVD version with 5.1 surround sound!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IM STILL TOO SCARED TO WATCH!, October 13, 2006
This review is from: Pumpkinhead (DVD)
Oh my goodness. i had to look up this movie, and sure enough, it still scares the hell outta me, i wanna buy it just for memory sake, but i dont think i can watch it. i remember viewing the movie as a child in '89, and you talk about terrified, i dont think any of these so-called HORROR films hold candles to these 80's classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can this movie get any respect???, March 1, 2006
This review is from: Pumpkinhead (DVD)
This is a movie that I wish got the respect it deserves, but it never will. True horror fans will appreciate the true scariness of this movie and the suspense tied all through it.

In a time where scary movies are hard to come by this movie is a slept on throwback classic. Check this movie out in a dark room at night alone and you will really find an appreciation for it I guaranree it.

I didn't describe the movie because I don't want to spoil it for you just buy it now and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Enough Credit, February 22, 2006
This review is from: Pumpkinhead (DVD)
This is a fine quality horror film that doesn't get the honor it should. This isn't just another monster in the woods chasing teenagers movie. This is a tale of revenge, regret and retribution. Good acting, lead by Lance Henrikson highlight this film, along with some incredibly creepy settings. Special effects did a great job with Pumpkinhead himself. If you are a fan of horror, go grab this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally... a Pumpkinhead Special Edition, July 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This new collector's edition of Stan Winston's PUMPKINHEAD includes:

- Audio commentary track featuring co-screenwriter Gary Gerani and creature FX creators Tom Woodruff, Jr. and Alec Gillis moderated by Scott Spiegel

- Seven new featurettes, totaling an hour

- Behind-the-scenes video

- Stills gallery

The movie is widescreen for the first time ever. However, this widescreening was created by simply matting off the top and bottom of the full-frame image. There does not seem to be a definitive source available on the internet, but many believe the film was shot full-frame and then matted off when shown theatrically. If this is true, then this latest DVD does indeed approximate the original theatrical aspect ratio of 1.85:1. The old 'full frame' version of the movie, however, will show you the extra imagery at the top and bottom of the now-matted frame. I don't think we're losing anything. In fact, this new edition is so much more clean, crisp and vibrant than the old disc, it will blow your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfectly crafted spook-show, September 28, 2005
By 
Brian (The Twilight Zone) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pumpkinhead (DVD)
"Pumpkinhead" is, indeed, a very rare find; a watertight old-school thriller that delivers in spades. It is a movie that takes the worn out premise of a teenage-stalking killer and shapes it into something everyone can appreciate. The story, while certainly nothing new, does an exceptional job of maintaining the viewer's interest. Infusing the screenplay with characters we invest in and actually care for is what really sets this film apart from all the others.

Lance Henriksen delivers yet another strong performance in the long line of intriguing roles he has taken on throughout his career. He gives Ed Harley the type of sensibility that we, as viewers, see so little of in this specific genre. And that is mostly what aids in making the situation he is thrown into all the more harrowing and believable.

I must say, too, the cinematography and spectacular use of atmosphere suit the proceedings here very well. You cannot help but feel a mounting sense of dread as our protagonists struggle through the fog-infested swamps and dense wood thickets, as Stan Winston's impressively conceived creature that bears the movie's title relentlessly pursues. This was, if I am not mistaken, Winston's directorial debut. Many had doubts as to whether he, a highly regarded special effects maestro, would have the proper credentials to successfully pull off material like this. I caught the film many years ago at a pre-release screening, and I was immediately sold! Anybody who has ever enjoyed a good old fashioned monster movie with better than average production values and acting should definitely be satisfied with what this film brings to the table. It curiously never saw a theatrical release, and I find that especially sad. Several articles I had read at the time claimed the film had been tossed back and forth between two or three different distributors, many of whom were at odds over how the movie should be marketed. MGM finally landed a deal with Winston for a release, but it came too little too late and the film went straight to video. That's a crying shame, too, because I feel this would have easily raked in the theatrical dough.

I would highly recommend this title for purchase. It really is many notches above what one might expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, gothic, ..good, November 16, 2002
By 
Tony R. Tucker (Crewe, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pumpkinhead (DVD)
Pumpkinhead is a beast brought to life when the justice of men is not enough. Lance Henriksen (star of Aliens, Near Dark, and TV's Millenium among MANY others) stars as Ed Harley, a single father (we are to asume a widower) living in a deeply rural area and running the only general store for the mountain people of the area.
Mr. Harley lives a hard life. His only ray of sunshine is his young son. A group of young people (a traditional group of 1980's bandana-wearing twnetysomethings) stops by his store on their way to a mountain-biking getaway. An accident happens and Ed's ray of sunshine is snuffed out.
This is where we get to the meat of the movie. We are shown that, as a young boy, Ed witnessed a creature of local folklore hunt down and finish off an accused murderer. The children of the area call the creature "Pumpkinhead".
Now, distraught over the loss of his child by some "city folk" who ran from the scene of the "crime", Ed sets out to summon Pumpkinhead and have the creature take vengeance in his name.
I think we all might at the very least CONSIDER doing what Ed does, that is IF the same thing happened to us. The message of the film is that we shouldn't. Ed realizes that, and tries to stop Pumpkinhead after he sets this juggernaut in motion.
The film is directed (and directed WELL I might add) by Special Effects guru Stan Winston. Winston is behind such incredible monsters as the creatures of Aliens and Jurassic Park.
Pumpkinhead appealed to me because I like gloomy, mythic, vengeamce stories. Ed Harley takes a journey through a rainbow of emotions and Lance Henriksen handles them all superbly. He really is one of Hollywood's most underrated actors.
The twentysomething "city folk" actors are nothing special, but they do not need to be. Lance Henriksen, Pumpkinhead, and the fantastically evil, cackling witch who summons him carry this movie on their shoulders. they take us to a place where you can't call the police. A place where if someone wrongs you, you can take deadly retribution on them, and your victims will never be missed.
Pumpkinhead is a great Halloween movie, but it will fit nicely into any dark, rainy Saturday night. The movie loses one star for the generic post-teenage characters and for the annoying streaming blue light and strob effects that seem out of place in night time scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pumpkinhead (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray]
Pumpkinhead (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] by Stan Winston (Blu-ray - 2014)
$29.93 $22.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.