Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk Goes Pop 5, a clarification.
First of all anyone who knows anything about Punk Goes... knows that it is nothing like the originals. For those who say there is no respect for the original musician you are most likely correct. Punk goes pop is designed to take stupid pop songs and make them awesome punk songs. Of course those who respect the original song will not like any of these albums. Its true...
Published 22 months ago by Sam Torruellas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun
Have to really be in the mood for fun to listen to it. And that's about it. Fun album with cool takes on pop songs. Some were really well done and preferred over or equal to the original an some are as much a pass as the original.
Published 11 months ago by SusieQ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk Goes Pop 5, a clarification., November 24, 2012
This review is from: Punk Goes Pop 5 (MP3 Music)
First of all anyone who knows anything about Punk Goes... knows that it is nothing like the originals. For those who say there is no respect for the original musician you are most likely correct. Punk goes pop is designed to take stupid pop songs and make them awesome punk songs. Of course those who respect the original song will not like any of these albums. Its true more metalcore and deathcore bands are participating in this album in particular, but that should be expected. If you were simply hoping for a clean cover of your pop song with electric guitars in the chorus, you will not like this album. That being said Punk Goes... included some covers like that and I personally find them atrocious just like I do the originals (We Found Love and Glad You Came). Now my critics will say I only appreciate screaming and repetitive breakdowns that are signature with metalcore, hardcore, basically anything ending in core. That is not true. I did like Grenade, and Somebody That I Used To Know is one of my favorites on this album. Due to the record sales of this album I expect the next one to be similar. If you would like to know what to expect from a modern punk goes... album, Mercy (The Word Alive), Call Me Maybe (Upon This Dawning), Payphone (Crown the Empire), and Some Nights (Like Moths to Flames) are great examples of what you should expect. Oh and for those speculating over too many breakdowns and screaming, this is a fairly mild album, still very punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Punk 5, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punk Goes Pop 5 (MP3 Music)
Punk goes pop albums really put a new twisted spin on current pop songs heard on today's radio. These redefined pop songs transform into hardcore punk/screamo. Please take a look at the songlist before purchasing this 5th album. Grenade provides a nice overall tone with no screamo unlike Boyfriend that has screamo moments in which could irritate your ears while Glad You Came starts soft and pretty much ends up as screamo at the end of the song. Basically this album is quite nice but is not for the light-hearted rockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punk Goes Pop 5 (MP3 Music)
Have to really be in the mood for fun to listen to it. And that's about it. Fun album with cool takes on pop songs. Some were really well done and preferred over or equal to the original an some are as much a pass as the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punk Goes Pop 5 (MP3 Music)
These albums are so epic! I love finding excuses to listen to mainstream pop music, and it is so great to hear more intense versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punk Goes Pop 5 (MP3 Music)
Great album! One of the best of the series!!! Love how they really put their twist and shout on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable. Incredible., December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punk Goes Pop 5 (MP3 Music)
Ok so nothing on Earth is perfect, but this is pretty close. I personally am happy to see a lot of "screamo"/ post-hardcore covers on here. The breakdowns are timed excellently and are ridiculously brutal in some cases. But they sound great in any case. Lots of great clean vocals as well. Every song on here is incredible.... just incredible. Yes, there is a healthy dose of screaming, but this IS punk goes pop as I recall.... *ahem*. But the screaming is, for the most part, VERY brutal. And the clean vocals soar with beautiful instrumental backing(s) as they should. Overall, this album is an easy 5-stars. If you enjoy post-hardcore, incredible clean vocals, and top-charting pop songs being ripped apart by punishing breakdowns, then this is the album for you. Incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly every song has a Solid cover, May 14, 2013
This review is from: Punk Goes Pop 5 (MP3 Music)
This new album by Punk Goes Pop is the most Solid one I have ever heard after the fourth volume. Songs like Call Me Maybe, Ass Back Home, Somebody That I Used To Know, Glad You Came, Some Nights, Billie Jean, and We Found Love keeps the album from becoming a mediocre cover for famous pop songs and putting a nice and Awesome rock touch to it. Which rocks me all the way to ROCK TOWN!! The other songs are ok but not so special to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Awesome, November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punk Goes Pop 5 (MP3 Music)
For the most part it is awesome. It iis not as good as Punk Goes Pop 4, but very close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punk Goes Pop 5 (MP3 Music)
I think there are maybe 2 covers I'm not fond of the rest are pretty good to awesome. A couple of the songs I dont even like the original artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Punk Goes Pop 5
Punk Goes Pop 5 by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.