Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars emotional and insightful
This book was the perfect follow-up to my viewing of a presentation by Mr. Clark. His personal statements throughout the book are, I believe, meant to give us the perspective of a person who has overcome and accomplished a great deal in his life and are not meant to force his views on the reader. This book, like the author, is truly an inspiration!
Published on December 17, 1998

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Puppies don't make good soup
Unlike the Chicken Soup authors, Dan feels it's neccessary to add his opinion at the end of each story which leaves the impression he's telling the reader how to feel or react to the story. These heartwarming, tender stories speak for themselves. It's a very diappointing purchase.
Published on July 12, 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars emotional and insightful, December 17, 1998
By A Customer
This book was the perfect follow-up to my viewing of a presentation by Mr. Clark. His personal statements throughout the book are, I believe, meant to give us the perspective of a person who has overcome and accomplished a great deal in his life and are not meant to force his views on the reader. This book, like the author, is truly an inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book can change your life., November 22, 1998
By A Customer
Dan Clark changed my life about 10 years ago when I heard him speak. Now this book comes into my life and continues where he left off. If you like "Chicken Soup for the Soul" series, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAVORITE WONDERFUL MORAL BOOK, November 21, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Puppies for Sale (Hardcover)
This book is exceptional in every manner...wonderfully written, beautiful illustrations, a certain new favorite of mine. It is touching, and teaches equality and acceptance . Great for children with or without disabilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book with a wonderful message, May 5, 2009
By 
T. Zimbrick (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book brought me to tears! I was expecting to read a simple childrens book about cute and cuddly puppies, and this book hit me with a deep message about equality and how you "can't always judge a book by it's cover". This book has beautiful illustrations and a message that we all need to be reminded of every once in a while.

This is a childrens book about a young boy who wants to buy a puppy. The boy only has a few coins, and he convinces the storekeeper to show him the puppies. There is one puppy who was born without hip sockets, and he limps out of the back room. The boy tells the storekeeper that he wants to buy the puppy with the lame leg, and the storekeeper insists that this puppy would not be a good match for a young, energetic boy. The storekeeper says that he will give the puppy to the boy for free. The boy insists that he will pay full price for the puppy... because they are more a like than the storekeeper sees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars special!, January 8, 2008
By 
mah (upstate NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Puppies for Sale (Hardcover)
It's hard to review this book without giving the story away. It's only 24 pages. But it's amazing what can happen in only 24 pages! This is a special story about a special boy who insists on buying a special puppy even though the puppy isn't for sale. The owner is surprised that anyone would want to buy this puppy. The story has a wonderful twist at the end. It's all about love. The first time you read this with your child you'll just want to sit in the stillness and enjoy but later you'll find that there's a lot to talk about. Though the text in my book is all upper case it would make a great book for someone involved in R.E.A.D. You know it's a special story when grown-ups say, "I wanted the story to keep going..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to read and discuss with children, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Puppies for Sale (Hardcover)
I got this because a neighbor had it and I loved it. Was already aware of writer but not this story. Doesn't matter if love dogs or not the message is very important no matter age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and heart touching!, October 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Puppies for Sale (Hardcover)
This book is so heart touching and every child should be read this. It shows that just because someone is handicap does not make them any less amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for young children, July 9, 2007
This review is from: Puppies for Sale (Hardcover)
Our children need to learn about the differently-abled from a young age, This book opens the door. It is not cloying, but a simple story of a boy who has challenges that change his perception of a different puppy. I love it and I have bought copies for all the families in my life who have young children, as well as our school's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A young compassionate heart, June 15, 2009
By 
J.A.G. "J.A.G." (White Plains, New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Puppies for Sale (Hardcover)
This book is great to teach children about compassion and understanding. It's one of those books that just touches your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Puppies for Sale (Hardcover)
A great book was perfect for a child with a disability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Puppies for Sale
Puppies for Sale by Dan Clark (Hardcover - June 1999)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.