Prime Music

Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$15.99 + $3.99 shipping
Sold by momox com.

Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $0.85 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Purcell: The Indian Queen / Hogwood [Import]

Henry Purcell , Christopher Hogwood , The Academy of Ancient Music , Emma Kirkby , Catherine Bott , John Mark Ainsley , David Thomas , Gerald Finley , Tommy Williams Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Performer: Emma Kirkby, Catherine Bott, John Mark Ainsley, David Thomas, Gerald Finley, et al.
  • Orchestra: The Academy of Ancient Music
  • Conductor: Christopher Hogwood
  • Composer: Henry Purcell
  • Audio CD (October 17, 1995)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: L'Oiseau-Lyre
  • ASIN: B000004CYH
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #483,474 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. First Music: Air
2. Second Music: Air
3. Ov
4. Trumpet Tune
5. Prologue: Wake Quivera, wake - John Mark Ainsley
6. Prologue: Why should men quarrel? - Emma Kirkby
7. Prologue: By anceint prophecies - John Mark Ainsley
8. Prologue: Trumpet Tune
9. Act Two: Sym
10. Act Two: I come to sing great Zempoalla's story - John Mark Ainsley
11. Act Two: What flatt'ring noise is this - David Thomas/Julian Podger/Simon Berridge
12. Act Two: Scorn'd Envy, here's nothing - John Mark Ainsley
13. Act Two: Trumpet Tune
14. Act Two: We come to sing Zempoalla's story
15. Act Two: Dance
16. Act Two: Second Act Tune
17. Act Three: Dance
18. Act Three: Ye twice ten hundred deities-By the croaking of the toad - Gerald Finley
19. Act Three: Sym-Seek not to know what must not be reveal'd - Tommy Williams
20. Act Three: Trumpet Ov
See all 34 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honestly, you WILL enjoy this music! July 9, 2002
During the Purcell festival year awhile back I was able to see a live performance of this work with some extra narration and period dance. It was a great evening. The only blemish was that Emma Kirkby was unable to sing that night. However, the performance was wonderful.
This recording is quite good and there are wonderfully great melodies such as track 10 "I Come to Sing Great Zempoalla's Story". Then there is snake hissing on track 11 "What Flatt'ring noise is this". The instrumental and dance music is simply fun.
This work was never finished by Purcell, but what we have we get to treasure.
Yes, I am a Purcell nut, but he has always given me great reason to be.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a voice teacher and early music fan January 20, 2012

Purcell's fourth and last full-scale semi-opera is frequently ignored for its larger predecessors such as the 'Fairy Queen'. One major reason is that the story-line is weak compared to Purcell's longer dramatic operas; it has a sense of anticlimax. The tale of a doomed queen barely allowed for the full range of characterful scenes upon which Purcell thrived. And many historians think that it was not an ideal play for operatic conversion. That there is so much of Purcell's fine music herein is proof of his undaunted spirit and peerless ability and that definitely shows through as one listens to his tuneful melodies. I actually prefer just ignoring the story-line and focusing on those dulcet tunes sung so well by the performers on this recording.

Hogwood, in his interpretation, makes us realize that for all the constraints, the score is not inherently small-scale and it justifies all the subtlety of color that can be achieved using twelve soloists and a decent-sized choir and orchestra. He,in fact, displays in his interpretation a logical understanding of the score. The orchestral playing is proficient and the Academy of Music allows the integrity of inner parts to be clearly audible while maintaining a satisfactory blend.

Four of the very fine soloists, all experienced in this genre, are: Emma Kirkby who is in fine form as she sings the celebrated song "I Attempt From Love's Sickness to Fly"; John Mark Ainsley has the most to do and is very effective as the Indian Boy; Catherine Bott is a pleasure to hear especially when she sings her song "They Tell Us That Your Mighty Powers". A mature Purcell is strongly felt when Geral Finley as the conjurer, Ismeron, delivers authoritatively "Ye Twice Ten Thousand Deities".

Christopher Hogwood certainly brings out the absolute BEST in this semi-opera!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your everyday fare, but maybe it should be January 20, 2004
I can't get over how compelling this music is. The earlier reviewer mentioned 'What flatt'ring noise is this', and there are many other gems in here as well. The overall effect is terrifically upbeat; the performances have a great musical drive and the performers clearly enjoy themselves. Well worth your time.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category