Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference work
If you want one book explaining state-of-the-art thinking in procurement, this is the one. It has chapters on every important topic. It's not a book I would choose to read from beginning to end to learn about purchasing (unless I were a University student) but it's a good starting point for looking deeper into many topics.
Published on July 24, 2000 by Dick Locke

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so hot
The book seems to repeat the same things across few chapters example is role of purchasing and different pro's and con's. The recommended practices and business cases are nice to read, but many of those practices got many companies in trouble. Example: book recommends giving procurement cards to all employee and giving them approvals to buy things under $50 to minimize...
Published on January 4, 2005 by M&M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference work, July 24, 2000
By 
Dick Locke (Walnut Creek, CA USA) - See all my reviews
If you want one book explaining state-of-the-art thinking in procurement, this is the one. It has chapters on every important topic. It's not a book I would choose to read from beginning to end to learn about purchasing (unless I were a University student) but it's a good starting point for looking deeper into many topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good vision, April 26, 2000
By A Customer
One of the best of its type - good mix of strategic and tactical. could have been shorter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Supply Chain Professional, February 6, 2009
By 
J. F. Vaughan (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a good introduction for any supply chain professional to the world of purchasing. It gives the basics for any industry on sourcing and procurement, and I really liked how specific company examples are used to address common concerns. Whether you are just starting out or looking to keep up with current trends, this is the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so hot, January 4, 2005
By 
M&M (Go New Jersey) - See all my reviews
The book seems to repeat the same things across few chapters example is role of purchasing and different pro's and con's. The recommended practices and business cases are nice to read, but many of those practices got many companies in trouble. Example: book recommends giving procurement cards to all employee and giving them approvals to buy things under $50 to minimize purchasing costs of office supplies and such. Result is that every employee has a stash of everything and huge amount of money is wasted. Additionally, what is recommended by the book is contradicted by its business cases. Example: companies should develop and work in a trusted relationship with its suppliers to achieve most benefits for both. This would include things like vendors performing statistical quality control etc. Next thing is a business case that shows how a company should quality inspect all of its purchases. This seems to be a problem.

I think this book is a good intro to supply chain and has some ideas to get you started, but too much energy is wasted figuring out what the tried and recommended approaches are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, August 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Written by professors aiming to students can be useful to give a broad view of all logistics issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of 3rd edition of P and SC, October 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book contains lots of useful information for a purchasing/procurement personnel. The book becomes interesting when you have cases/project in hand and refer the book frequently for information and direction. Reading the book end to end is almost impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, September 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is like a new one. No underlines and highlights are shown in the book. I am satified with this book. Next time, I will use this used book ordering system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, February 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got the book very quickly adn the book was in great condition. I would buy from them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Purchasing and Supply Chain Mgmt
Purchasing and Supply Chain Mgmt by Robert M. Monczka (Paperback - July 15, 2004)
Used & New from: $29.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.