Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripley Done Right
I discovered Plein Soleil in France while living in Paris and since it had a four star rating (out of four) in the TV review, I decided to tape it, and have not regretted it since. I have seen the film four times and simply never get tired of it.
My friends and family were disappointed in the American Ripley film version and I really wanted them to see this, the...
Published on September 17, 2003

versus
85 of 112 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lousy DVD from Disney
No problems with the film itself, I saw the theatrical release several years ago, and loved it. I refuse to buy the lame excuse for a DVD that Buena Vista has offered. When will the message get through? Serious films need the serious treatment on disc, especially if we are going to be gouged with Disney prices. The absence of anamorphic enhancement on this film is close...
Published on January 31, 2002 by Geoffrey P. Smith


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars concise, vivid, mysterious, July 9, 2013
By 
furibonda iena "Bill" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Purple Noon (Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This blu-ray restoration of the marvelous Patricia Highsmith novel is worthy of its source. Alain Delon has never been so seductive and dangerous, a multi-faceted beauty, a hustler whose innocence has just departed. When did it vanish, at thirteen, perhaps? His sexual power is worthy of Highsmith's, who left them hanging by a thread her whole life. Read her biography and then this earlier film version will win out. The Talented Mr. Ripley features Matt Damon's crooked smile but Jude Law would have made a MOST exceptionally talented Ripley, so astonishing is his talent for mimicry. Matt Damon falls flat with his impersonations.

The remake is enjoyable, none the less, with a large cast of charismatic co-conspirators. Gwyneth Paltrow, with her patrician drawl, leads the way in defining class in our era. Who gets left out in the cold? Do we consider their murders justifiable?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL TRANSFER, GREAT BLU-RAY, GREAT FILM, June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Purple Noon (Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Alain Delon is beyond amazing and beautiful in this. As a fan of Minghella's Ripley, this is cinematically and simply a feat of filmmaking. It's amazing to see all that Minghella played homage to. Masterful filmmaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TOP TEN LIST..., June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first saw this in a foreign theater with my boyfriend from France, and was stunned by it. The plot is brilliant, the actors beautiful, and a surprise end. 'Purple Noon won the Cannes Film Festival many decades ago, but has not lost it's intrigue. People tried to re-make this movie, but the result was vile and violent. It missed all the true sexyiness and subtlly of the original 'Purple Noon'. I love the twists and the intrigue without the violence. If only more movies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a beautiful film and music. I will never forget., March 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Purple Noon (DVD)
I watched this film when I was a high-school student.
I remember those days and the day I really watched this film.
Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great preservation/restoration..., March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Purple Noon (Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
...of a classic. It is a different slant on the story, different from the more recent Matt Damon version. Probably both are valid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Before Damon, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Purple Noon (Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My rating of 4 stars means I liked it and will probably view it several times. This film may be the best version of this story. The great looks and chemistry of the main character make him beleiveable as the lying SOB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A splash of erotic color, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of my favorites looking as it did years ago in the theater. A brilliant noir thriller with a cat-like Alain Delon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent French Film, January 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Purple Noon (Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is one of the best films to come out of France. An absolute must-have for Alain Delon fans. He is terrific, as is everyone in this film. Remade as "The Talented Mr. Ripley", this is a far superior film. And this Blu-Ray from the Criterion Collection is absolutely gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PURPLE NOON blu-ray February 14/13 Alexander S Carter, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Purple Noon (Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Firstly, and most importantly, for me is the quality of the blu-ray transfer. With "PURPLE NOON" it is excellent As a thriller it, also, is in the top class. Based on the novel by Patricia Highsmith, "The Talented Mr Ripley" it tells the story of an ambitious but poor young man who is completely amoral. Murder, deceit, glossed by charm help him to achieve his goal, but just when he thinks all is well, the "axe" falls. Alain Delon is perfect in the role of Tom Ripley, and director Rene Clement is in top form. The surprise ending is different from that of the novel, and purists may be enraged, but, never-the-less, it still packs a wallop.
Great entertainment; great disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Purple Noon (Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is one of the best psychological thrillers ever made. Rene Clement has a great story, tight script and a great cast. The restored version is stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Purple Noon (Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray]
Purple Noon (Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray] by René Clément (Blu-ray - 2012)
$39.95 $23.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.