Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book well improve your ability to catch huge BASS.
Finally a book comes out that gives a complete overview on how to catch huge Largemouth Bass in the "THE GOLDEN STATE." Bill Murphy, a well-known and sucessful angler in the bass fishing world, helped put together this comperhesive guide.This book well improve your skills in catching LUNKER BASS.It covers a wide range of tactics, i.e. stitching, split...
Published on February 16, 1999

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RE: In Pursuit of Giant Bass
It is easy to think that bass fishing expertise can be gathered within the pages of a book, but sadly that is not the case. Murphy constantly reminds readers to get out on the water to make their learning real. With that, Murphy provides readers with interesting insight into the habits of large bass. The drawings add to the verbal explanation of fishing locations and...
Published on January 29, 2012 by Bob B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book well improve your ability to catch huge BASS., February 16, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: In Pursuit of Giant Bass (Paperback)
Finally a book comes out that gives a complete overview on how to catch huge Largemouth Bass in the "THE GOLDEN STATE." Bill Murphy, a well-known and sucessful angler in the bass fishing world, helped put together this comperhesive guide.This book well improve your skills in catching LUNKER BASS.It covers a wide range of tactics, i.e. stitching, split shoting, etc. that bring in those 10lbs+ bass. He also gives you inside tips on how to use his favorite big bass lures. Not only well this book improve your fishing skills, it well help you strenghten your cofidence in yourself as an angler. With strong confidence and the correct tatics that this book provides, you well be more successful in catching bass and able to enjoy each trip you take out on the water!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best. PERIOD!, June 28, 2001
This review is from: In Pursuit of Giant Bass (Paperback)
If you are serious about bass fishing, this is a must have for your library. Bill knows what he is talking about. His explinations make sense and ring true. Does not rehash the same old cliches of other outdoor writers because he knows it and does it. Bill is a master at what he does and this book will make you a better fisherman if you pay even half attention to what he has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In pursuit of giant bass, January 16, 2001
This review is from: In Pursuit of Giant Bass (Paperback)
Bill Murphy is the king of trophy bass fishing. I learned more about the art of trophy bass fishing from this book in one night than I had learned in 15 years of fanatical bass fishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This 'How to Book" is a winner!, April 7, 1998
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Pursuit of Giant Bass (Paperback)
In Pursuit of Giant Bass is a winner. The narrative style, complete with personal experiences of the author, make this how to book a must. This book speaks only to the specific ways to catch and pursue the really trophy sized bass. Reading it will raise your interest to the point that you will want to try all the tricks of the trade in order to experience the really big thrills of catching the really big bass. The information is exact. The author explains very specifically the bait, method, and patience it takes in order to entice the really big ones to strike. If giant bass are your interest, this book will help fulfill those desires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide to Structure Fishing, August 14, 2007
By 
R. Damron (Tullahoma. TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Pursuit of Giant Bass (Paperback)
This book answers all the questions shallow water fishermen have regarding structure fishing. Shallow waters are popular with largemouth and its hard to tear yourself away from the shallows if you don't understand structure fishing. Bill explains how bass relate to stucture and the techniques he uses to catch them. After moving to Tennessee, I was stumped trying to catch bass in Tennessee's highland reservoirs. I thought it was impossible. Since reading Bill's book, I havn't landed any monsters, but I have increased my total weight at the scales and the size of the checks I've been cashing. Yes, you can apply Bill's approaches to bass fishing in your tournament fishing! This book is more like a text book written by a professor who has conducted numerous experiments and proven his theories. It is obvious that Bill contributed a great deal of his time to bass fishing and has aquired a great wealth of information. He shares this wealth, generously, in this book. Its not just for Southern California anglers. These techniques are applicable to structure that can be found in shallow lakes, on the lower end of probably all lakes, and even on ledges and points of large river run lakes. I wish I would have read this book fifteen years ago. Special thanks to Mrs. Murphy who handles distribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazed!, March 27, 2006
This review is from: In Pursuit of Giant Bass (Paperback)
I bought this book in 1992 while living in Northern California and fishing tournaments. I was amazed that a fisherman would divulge all Bill put in this book. I don't believe he held anything back, well except photos and coordinates of all his key spots--yet he gives enough instruction you should be able to find them yourself. I found it extremely helpful and used the principles often.

I am quite sure Bill was not properly compensated with the treasure he has shared with us.

Recently returning to the San Diego area I will now be able to apply these gems on the home water.

Chuck Rhodes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on Bass Fishing Ever., April 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Pursuit of Giant Bass (Paperback)
I am an avid bass fisherman and have read numerous books on the subject by authors such as KVD, Iconelli, Siemantal etc. This is by far and away the best book I have read. Bill Murphy gives a ton of valuable information without a lot of wasted words AND without trying to sell you his lures (like say BBZ). He isn't selling lures he is just giving out the straight dope. He covers moon phases, structure, seasons, stitching worms (deadly) and yes using live bait. Sure others talk about these things, but not as clearly or as well.
Started using his techniques (stitching) and on my first trip out had excellent results. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, February 4, 2009
By 
N. Coomes (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Pursuit of Giant Bass (Paperback)
This is bar none the bible of big bass fishing. The tactics that the late great Bill shares are just as effective and valid today as the day he wrote them. Too bad he missed out on the swimbait craze. This book will make you a better bass fisherman period. Not the same silly junk you read in outdoors magazines. This is a keeper for the ages. Fun read too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Pursuit of Giant Bass (Paperback)
This is one of the best bass books ever written! If you want to know about bass behavior then this is the definitive guide. I have bass fished for more than 40 years and still I learned alot from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good info, but focuses more on live bait fishing than the traditional tournament style angler., January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Pursuit of Giant Bass (Paperback)
Great perspective to apply to other areas of bass fishing. The author is very non-traditional in his approach. If you want to catch a lot of fish, this probably isn't the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In Pursuit of Giant Bass
In Pursuit of Giant Bass by Bill Murphy (Paperback - July 1992)
Used & New from: $13.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.