Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Nick - reaching for the speech
This is an excellent album and will stand with Nick Cave's best.
His evolving art sees a changed communication in music and lyric.
Here he reaches for the speech that's trying to be heard,
whether scattered words evoking soft cinematic imagery,
impressionistic poetic phrases, or grand scale metaphor;
but straight narrative has gone...
Published 23 months ago by Barry McGloin

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Push the sky away
This album accentuates the diversity of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds; very melodic, interesting and morose. The highlight of this album is when Miley Cyrus dies.
Published 13 months ago by CrittendenIV


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Nick - reaching for the speech, March 1, 2013
By 
Barry McGloin "Baz" (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album and will stand with Nick Cave's best.
His evolving art sees a changed communication in music and lyric.
Here he reaches for the speech that's trying to be heard,
whether scattered words evoking soft cinematic imagery,
impressionistic poetic phrases, or grand scale metaphor;
but straight narrative has gone.

While there is none of Nick's bump and grind routine,
be assured that this is not pastoral Cave, it is rock in the sense of disquiet,
the tension, the background technica created by collaborating Seeds' composer Warren Ellis, the Seeds themselves and Nick's voice. Some is spoken and half sung but it all has resonance and conviction, in fact Nick inhabits the voices superbly throughout, or they inhabit him (O Mamma!!)... His singing is better than ever and projected so well by producer Nick Launay.

For me there is not a dud track among the nine. Some will attract you on first listen, listen further, this has depth. Some faves for me - Water's Edge in minor key with violin playing a timeless Eastern motif and pulsating bass supporting this tale of the currency of communication, the shoreline mating ritual at Brighton transplanted maybe from NE Victoria, from the small town Book of Love.

Mermaids has a wonderful dreamy chorus with watery ambient sounds and lyrics about desire, women with closed legs - 'I do husband/driver/mermaid alertness course', Cave's black humour flares in spots throughout the album.

We Real Cool with its reverb pulsating bass, great vocal, spacey ambiance. Finishing Jubilee Street with its clacking clapping percussion and its insistent bell, like a railway warning bell in country Oz. The Higgs Boson Blues, using again the disquieting minor key, is the album's opus with Nick in a cracked voice tale 'Been sitting in my basement patio/it was hot/up above the girls walk past/their roses all in bloom'. O Mamma, I'll turn to stone! And his humour again 'And if I die tonight/bury me in my favourite yellow patent leather shoes/with a mummified cat and a cone-like hat/that the Caliphate forced on the Jews'. Ah yes, what does it all mean? Some verses may appear to be throwaway but it's the sound and the mood they attempt to convey, an added flippancy, offhandedness perhaps but the final verse sums it all up. Or is the song just a grand metaphor for Nick's approaching dental appointment, like Dylan's Watchtower? Mmmm?

The title song is a wonderful mood summary for the album 'And some people say it is just rock 'n roll/Oh but it gets right down to your soul'. Nick Launay's tasteful production is excellent, the booklet has lyrics, track info and photos - Nick's naked wife Susie on the great cover - is he letting the goddamn light shame her temporal beauty? Or is he showing her the way out? This is a temporal elemental album pushing the sky away. Maybe. Your reading might differ. That's what makes it so good. Fabulous stuff - keep on pushing Nick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Waters, February 19, 2013
By 
K. H. Orton (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (Audio CD)
As he ages, Nick Cave seems to court risk even more than he did in youth. After distancing himself from his mellower side with Dig and Grinderman comes Cave's quietest album in ages. That's not to say its laid back in the slightest. There is a dark, unsettling undertow to these songs. And an almost claustrophobic sense of voyeurism.

The ghostly We Know Who U R sets the tone by taking you by the hand and leading you through the dew of the morning with trees like pleading hands. Warren Ellis' yearning violin provides fitting accompaniment. Wide Lovely Eyes follows and is one of Cave's most beautiful ballads since Boatman's Call's Into My Arms.

At the Water's Edge the women part their legs like Bibles but over all, most of these songs sound submerged in the depths of a vast sea, their protagonists floating in a twilight world between reverie and nightmare. Jubilee Street hints at Red Light District blackmail and murder peppered with surreal images like "walking a fetus on a leash". We Real Cool maintains a suspended sense of menace which characterizes the entire album. Cave has a long tradition with messing with the conventions of Greek and Biblical mythology and Mermaids continues the trend.

Higgs Boson Blues is the albums centerpiece and rises to climax with a sprawling travelogue which includes driving in the Alps, Robert Johnson on the road and Miley Cyrus floating stoned out of her gourd in her pool. Push the Sky Away ends it all with the childlike but powerful simplicity of a nursery rhyme.

Cave's records often have much to commend them. As a songwriter he's up there with Dylan, Leonard Cohen and Tom Waits. And despite any fluctuations in line-up The Bad Seeds prove once again to be one of the most versatile and innovative bands around today. Together they have created a unique, eerie and mysterious masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice sprout, February 19, 2013
By 
Z. Mehrbach "Zach" (Chicago/New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (Audio CD)
I've always loved Nick Cave's style that sits between a Frank Zappa musical mayhem and Tom Waits melancholy musicality. He's his own entity though and any new Nick Cave music is good music in my book, although I'll admit I've always liked his softer, sweeter side like "Where the Wild Roses Grow" or "Do you Love me." "Henry Lee" is another example of the type of Nick Cave you're getting here, yeah that guy. So I was pretty stoked to hear that this album would be more along those lines.

This album for me is impeccably produced. When listening through headphones or on a good sound system you'll quickly notice how specific the imaging and reverb is. The instrumentation sits between slightly electronic and organic plugged in instruments. The quality of the recording is truly natural though, with a haunting sparse quality about the whole album that I just love. Super cohesive stuff here.

My favorites are when Nick Cave is slower, melodic and soft:

"We No Who `U `R," Great pace, Nick sings this one with backing vocalists and the song sets the pace and tone for the whole album. One of my favorite tracks that he's done through the years and it's all topped out by a sexy flute solo at the end.

"Wide Lovely Eyes," Second song on the album. When listening to the album the first time I thought if he continued with these types of songs that this would be my favorite album of his. But the rest is more varied for me. The melodies and background singing in counterpoint and harmony didn't continue all the way through. Non-the-less, wide lovely eyes is beautiful, layered, and a hauntingly beautiful track. It's a sad song about lost connection, great lyrics here.

"Push the Sky Away," Very cinematic, which is something I don't always think with Cave. Slower paced and yes, haunting again. The synth, bass and Drums dominate here, and they really let Nick's poetic nature hold strong throughout. Background vocals hit the spot.

Overall a solid great effort. If this is where Cave is headed then I'm a happy dude. This is some of his most organic, simple, yet layered work yet. Buy this album, get that record player spinning, and meditate to the awesomeness that is Mr. Nick Cave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue to Purple with Grey speckled throughout., February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (Audio CD)
One of the first things that I noticed about Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds was their penchant for releasing and album of roaring fire, followed by one of calming water. What was evident to me with "Murder Ballads" then "The Boatman's Call"; is now again [evident] in "Push the Sky Away" following "Dig, Lazurus Dig!!!". One album brings to you the brimstone and wrath of a man who wants to tear down Hell after swimming laps in a lake of fire. The other has a man solemny reading a eulogy of love outside of a quaint chapel in the woods. "Push the Sky Away" is certainly an example of the calming waters. Though his styles may vary, you will still find a symmetry weaving through his work. It is all in his words rather than delivery. Reverand Cave's lyrics are important, authoritative, and backed with masterful literary skill.
I have a feeling that this album may take some time to grow roots into some listeners' gray matter, and sink into the cerebellum. The reason for that thought escapes me, as my brain was promptly receptive to the inter-tangled growths of the music. The low end bass is felt throughout, creating an atmosphere of precipitaion ranging from fog-like mist to steady rain beads beating asphault. Eerie projections can be heard coming through the loopy guitar, which by my estimation, was strung in the netherworld & tuned by a ghost. These constant sonic threads give a comfortably "blue to purple" feel with a nice spot of grey in the distance; as much as they are responsible for flourishes of pure light when the violins peak or when the female singers gain volume in the background.
Wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Got those Higgs Boson Blues, February 19, 2013
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (MP3 Music)
Nick Cave has always been about wild contrasts. Recall that after the brutal Murder Ballads came the most beautiful Bad Seeds record, the gorgeously meditative "Boatman's Call". Setting aside the naked aggression of the Grinderman records, the Bad Seeds last full album was 2008's electrifying whacked out blues of "Dig Lazarus Dig" so there is a quiet inevitably that the great man will take a tangential turn. Coming in the shape of 15th Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds record "Push the sky away" sees him return with a melancholy beast that is contemplative and measured. This is not the fiery Nick Cave but the one who reflects on the human condition and uses the sea as a metaphor for a cast of subjects leading to the production of a stunning album which is as quietly powerful has any thing they have done to date.

The departure of Mick Harvey has impacted and into the vacuum he has left steps Cave's soundtrack collaborator Warren Ellis, whose slow instrumentation and ghostly keyboard parts establish an ominous often soured mood. The nine songs here range from the gently rolling "We no who U R" which oozes a sultry almost Portishead style atmosphere to the albums absolute standout of the near eight minute "Higgs Boson Blues" so wasted it could have be happily located within the grooves of Neil Young's "On the Beach". It's a burningly strung out powerhouse saga that name checks an eclectic list that includes Robert Johnson, the Lorraine Motel where Martin Luther King was shot in Memphis, Hannah Montana and Milly Cyrus. When at one point Cave sings "Well here comes Lucifer/With his canon law, And a hundred black babies runnin' from his genocidal jaw/He got the real killer groove" it is almost scary. In between there are great songs like "Wide lovely eyes" with its scratchy guitar backdrop and sea motifs see Cave heading "Down the tunnel that leads to the sea/Step on the beach beneath the iron skies". The threatening "Waters Edge" continues the aquatic theme has Cave watches the mating game of young local boys with the "thrill of love" for the girls from the capital. Yet all that Cave can do is ruefully reflect that "But you grow old and you grow cold". Jubilee Street is perhaps the most superficially conventional song in the set, yet its lyrics tell a harsh tale of a red light district where Cave throws out brilliant images of a man who states that "I am alone now, I am beyond recriminations" as the song builds to a huge conclusion. The waves returns with "Mermaids" a superb haunting ballad and one of the most gorgeous things that Cage has committed to vinyl. This is juxtaposed by the talking dark blues of "We are cool" with its pulsating bass line, and the return of an earlier theme in the rather odd "Finishing Jubilee Street" where Cave reflects on the experience of writing the previous song. The album is capped by the undiluted beauty of the almost church like title track, a dark hymn where Cave reflects and painfully questions what "If you're feeling/You've got everything you came for/If you got everything /And you don't want no more".

Cave is now one of the great modern renaissance men. His ventures into films, books, writing and music are all defined by a vision, which is deeply intriguing, and utterly compelling. In "Push the sky away" he has recorded one of his best albums since "Boatmen's Call". It begs the question whether it is the best album of 2013 thus far? And the answer is that there is no contest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Nick Cave album, February 23, 2013
By 
Alan Riva "melodyman" (Valley Village CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (Audio CD)
Wow. I'm totally blown away by this album. I have nothing to compare it to as this is the first Nick Cave album that I've purchased. The songwriting and performance are awesome. The musicians, production/arrangements are over the top. I like the "sparseness" of the arrangements yet the production really makes it big in a subtle way. I also like the fact that it has a "laid back" groove so you can put it on to relax and "chill" to for sure. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Push the sky away, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (Audio CD)
This album accentuates the diversity of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds; very melodic, interesting and morose. The highlight of this album is when Miley Cyrus dies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Alternative Music Album, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (Audio CD)
Australian alternative musician Nick Cave (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds) release 2013's Push The Sky Away independently via Bad Seeds Ltd. Mysterious, eccentric, and brilliant are all appropriate adjectives for the alt-rock/alt-singer/songwriter affair. Different from anything else released in 2013, the nine-track Push The Sky Away shines brightly, benefiting from its individualism.

Opener "We No Who U R" sets the tone, exhibiting a soulful undertone, derived from its groove and the arrangement of strings, horns, and warm backing vocals. "We No Who U R" also showcases the first instances of minimalism, something that is used throughout the effort. For all its superb idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, the opener brings it all together on the memorable refrain: "And we breathe it in / there is no need to forgive..." "Wide Lovely Eyes" keeps things interesting, governed by a driving groove led by guitar as opposed to drums. Like the opener, Nick Cave's lead vocals possess a nice presence about them. On the chorus section, background vocals provide more body to the overall sound.

On standout "Water's Edge", Cave quasi-sings/quasi-speaks, truly delivering a 'narrative'. The tale he conveys is one about young love that is quite descriptive and somewhat risqué; he doesn't goes 'too far', but definitely grabs one's attention and raises an eyebrow (or two). The chorus appears at the end, featuring three iterations: “It’s the will of love / It’s the thrill of love / Ah, but the chill of love is coming on”. "Jubilee Street" follows sensationally, bearing a sound pop-rock/soul percussive groove, intact with hi-hat and tambourine. The highlight comes toward the end, where intensity grows marked by instrumental crescendo.

"Mermaids" continues on a suggestive lyrical path, much like the previous "Water's Edge". Cave asserts memorably that "I believe in God / I believe in mermaids too..." on the second verse. On another highlight, "We Real Cool", lyrics are definitely a strong suit. On the chorus, Cave sings "Who was it, yeah you know we real cool / on the far side of the morning, who was it.... and I hope you're listening too." More clever, however, is his pop cultural reference to Wikipedia: "Sirius is 8.6 light years away / Arcturas is 37 / the past is the past and it's here to stay / Wikipedia's heaven..." "We Real Cool" is a cut laden with tension that leaves you on the edge of your seat just waiting to see what direction it will go in next.

"Finishing Jubilee Street" follows up the earlier cut, distinguished by a groove with hip-hop sensibility about it. Cave even goes as far to say "I'd just finished writing 'Jubilee Street'", returning musical sensibilities back to the heyday of singer/songwriting (60's and 70's). Repetition remains Cave's best friend, particularly on the chorus: “See that girl / comin’ on down/ comin’ on down / comin’ on down”. "Higgs Boson Blues" delivers an epic eight minute cut, continuing to share clever lyricism and great diction and annunciations vocally from Cave. The title track, "Push The Sky Away" ends the album strongly, making good use of pacing, space, and minimalism.

Overall, Push The Sky Away is one of the year's more memorable releases. It keeps the singer/songwriter style alive and well. There are no misses amongst the nine cuts; each possesses something noteworthy and special. Highly recommended by all means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't even know who Nick Cave was before this, now I love him, March 5, 2014
By 
RyanH "Ryan" (Charleston area, SC, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this album based on one song I'd heard on satellite radio, and now I listen to it frequently. The live performances as the end are just as intriguing and captivating as the studio songs. I really love this album...it's dark, sultry, smoky, trance-like. Cave's voice is hypnotic. I highly recommend this album for anyone who wants to do some serious chilling out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lp sounds best!, November 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (Vinyl)
A case where the Lp blows the Cd out of the water. It looked marked up, but when played was dead silent with amazing sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Push the Sky Away
Push the Sky Away by Nick Cave (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.