Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one's a gem
I had some extra speakers I wanted to drive with something hooked up to my computer and/or DVD player. I'd been using old stereo component amps but tired of how big they are and wanted to find something a little more streamlined. Well, this unit is exactly what I was looking for-- clean, sturdily constructed, low noise, small size, and exactly the options I would want...
Published on July 9, 2008 by K. Doyle

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor connector quality, balance was way off
I ordered a PCA2 as well as this PTA2 as I wanted to power a 4 speaker setup. The PCA2 was dead on arrival. The light came on, but I got no sound. I managed to get sound using the PTA2 but the balance was extremely biased to one side and I had to correct it ~50% to get sound to center. Also the rear inputs lasted exactly one time - when disconnecting the RCA cable, the...
Published 21 months ago by Petik


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor connector quality, balance was way off, April 27, 2013
By 
Petik (Austin, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pyle Home PTA2 Mini 2 x 40-Watt Stereo Power Amplifier (Electronics)
I ordered a PCA2 as well as this PTA2 as I wanted to power a 4 speaker setup. The PCA2 was dead on arrival. The light came on, but I got no sound. I managed to get sound using the PTA2 but the balance was extremely biased to one side and I had to correct it ~50% to get sound to center. Also the rear inputs lasted exactly one time - when disconnecting the RCA cable, the shielded inputs on the back of the amplifier came off.

Given my experience with two Pyle products, I'm not even going to try to get them replaced. Trouble is that I can't really find another product in this size, price and features. Might have to go to a used receiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2x40W is a lie!, March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pyle Home PTA2 Mini 2 x 40-Watt Stereo Power Amplifier (Electronics)
Open the box and the spec sheet says 8W/channel at 10% distortion! I measured about 6W/channel before it became noticeably distorted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was a Pyle all right, January 15, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pros:

- Affordable
- Bluetooth capable
- Compact size

Cons:
- Constant buzzing sound from both channels, right side more when in Aux mode
- Buzzing sound from right channel when in bluetooth mode
- Considerable distortion (harmonic) above 1/2 of max volume

The cons were immense. The buzzing sound was not faint, but so noticeable that you would stare at the speakers in disbelief. I tried swapping wires and speakers and the source was the amp itself.

I was sent back to Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy!, October 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pyle Home PTA2 Mini 2 x 40-Watt Stereo Power Amplifier (Electronics)
It lasted less than 5 months.

Their warranty requires you to mail it to Brooklyn at your cost enclosing $20, and if they find it was their fault, they say they will repair and return it.

In other words, it will cost you about the same to get it fixed under warranty as you paid for it new. Meanwhile they have your $20 and the unit, and you take the risk whether it will ever be returned fixed.

This is the 2nd such unit I bought from Amazon, and the first failed in about the same time. I was gullible enough to buy another new one, thinking chances are, it won't fail again --but it did.

Don't buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good deal for the money, August 5, 2009
By 
the anderson (fort collins, colorado) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pyle Home PTA2 Mini 2 x 40-Watt Stereo Power Amplifier (Electronics)
For the price, it's a reasonable power amp. I really like the lack of features. It amplifies, has a volume control and 3 inputs selectable by a mechanical switch. None of the auto-magic scan features that almost work but in reality drive me to drink. The 40 watt spec is bogus, the amp has significant distortion at moderate power levels (I'd guess above 3 watts). It doesn't hold a candle to my old school Marantz 26 watt amp. Still, it can fill a room with music. It's a great amp for driving speakers from a computer, or in an office where you don't want a lot of power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pyle Home PTA2 Mini 2 x 40-Watt Stereo Power Amplifier (Electronics)
this is the 2nd copy of this amplifier, and both had an issue with the right channel (at all inputs).
Other reviewers mentioned the same issue, I should've payed more attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Received broken, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pyle Home PTA2 Mini 2 x 40-Watt Stereo Power Amplifier (Electronics)
There are lot of complains among good reviews here, most of complains are about same technical issues. I was ordering the item to Russia, so RMA is out of the question. I thought nothing bad will happen to me because overall rating of the device is 4.5. Unfortunately I have received malfunctioned device. Static noise in right channel (there are other reviews on Amazon.com with same issue). I can use the device for mono sound only. The idea of the device is good, but it does not deserve 4.5 rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Bluetooth connectivity, January 24, 2015
The Bluetooth connectivity is truly horrible on this unit. The signal constantly breaks up unless I place my phone directly next to the amplifier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one's a gem, July 9, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pyle Home PTA2 Mini 2 x 40-Watt Stereo Power Amplifier (Electronics)
I had some extra speakers I wanted to drive with something hooked up to my computer and/or DVD player. I'd been using old stereo component amps but tired of how big they are and wanted to find something a little more streamlined. Well, this unit is exactly what I was looking for-- clean, sturdily constructed, low noise, small size, and exactly the options I would want and nothing more.

Back panel has voltage switch 110/230, fuse access, line out, microphone in, and three sets of inputs. I hooked it up to my 4-ohm speakers, and it kicks up a pretty decent output. Exceeded my expectations.

Bought mine from All Audio Expo via Amazon, and it appears to be brand new in box as originally sealed by the mfg. UPS sure trashed the heck out of the outer box though, but All Audio did an expert job of double-boxing with peanuts so the inner box was fine and the unit is completely undamaged and works perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect garage amplifier, June 13, 2008
By 
Rob (Midwest USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pyle Home PTA2 Mini 2 x 40-Watt Stereo Power Amplifier (Electronics)
I purchased this unit so I could listen to a cd player while working in my garage. I already had an older component cd player, tuner, speakers etc just lying around unused, so all I needed was a small amp at a low price to have my tunes. While it is primarily geared for DJ and PA use (it has mic input and mixing/paging controls), this is a perfect choice if you already have extra component equipment and just need some watts. Well constructed, cool running, and nice looking also. An excellent value IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.