Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Game of Thrones Map of Weste Wall Poster
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Periphery Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 16, 2012
Before I write this, I will say that I'm rating this a 5 star strictly based on the poster, not the seller. PosterRevolution is atrocious. The map is really sharp, it's really neat to look at and see where the characters are as you read the books. It's pretty detailed and it looks awesome on my wall. Great part is, this same map is listed on HBO's website for $19.99 but you can get it WAY cheaper here. Buy on Amazon, but not from PosterRevolution.
55 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2012
I bought this as a gift for a friend, and was very impressed by the quality. It is printed very clearly and the details shown on the map are great. I am definitely one of those people that when reading a book, I like to have a picture of where the characters are, and I love that this map includes all of the lands talked about in the series. This map is a great purchase for anyone who is a big fan of the books or even the TV series.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2013
This poster is nice. The writting is in cursive and kinda small so people with bad sight will have a tough time reading it from far away. This map is missing the labels of a few places but besides that this map is well worth the $8 and i'd recommend this to any fan of the books or HBO series. How about at hit on that helpful button?
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
The map is very nice. But I wish it had the following:

1. More major castles and cities; and
2. Some scale in terms of miles/kilometers so as to get a sense of distance among locations.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
This is a great hi quality poster with a gloss finish. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that the paper is a little thin making it extremely easy to rip and tear(fell off my wall and now has a 4in tear at the bottom and only fell about 2ft).
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2013
The map of Westeros is nice and large and my purchase of it was to use as a reference not a decoration...as it turns out, whomever created this map decided that a size 8 and size 10 font would be great on it which leaves it almost unreadable and renders it useless. I like to follow the characters and where they are from and about 99% of this map is just unused space. There was plenty of room to make large easy to read labels of important geographical locations, but this map maker chose not to do so. I will have to go over it with a sharpie and increase the size of these places so I can read them without a spotlight and magnifying glass. Completely disgusted with this purchase.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
Poor, poor map layout. On several levels. I recently got very excited about GOT, and have been gobbling up trivia, books and even this map. Problem is, I didn’t look very closely at this map before I clicked “Purchase” because there were so many good reviews – of which I had read a few, just not the right ones!

Hardly any of the places on the map are actually marked – only the few major locations mentioned on the HBO series, but none of the minor locations from the books, and certainly nothing improvised, you know like “here is Jon Snow’s path” or “Battle of the Twins” (with those little crossed swords to mark the spot of a major battle), nothing. I suppose this has to do with the original map from the inside of the books having very little marked either, in which case this map is no more than an enlarged version of the book map(s).

Enlarged, that is, except for the itty-bitty same-as-the-dark-background text fonts. This being a fairly large map relief/poster, the text fonts that were used are just inappropriately tiny; they are about the size that you are reading now – which may look good on a white background two feet away from your monitor in a browser, but try being more than two feet away from the poster and the map itself appears to be nothing more than a big swath of ivory-brown color on top of a black background – with little brown marks all over it that are supposed to be mountains and cities. Draw some lines with a pencil and those are rivers. Cough on it and you have the fainted brown mini-text of the dozen or so major locations that people who don’t even watch the show could probably name.

Coming from a D&D fantasy background of fastidiously marked map locations and looking for a little more in the way of a visual identifying of who, what and where from the GOT lexicon, I am let down by this quickly ‘book-reproduced’ poster size map. Not to mention Mr. Martin is a great writer, just not much of a cartographer – this poster map and the original book maps look like they were jotted down as part of an after-thought journal drawing, haphazardly cutoff at the edges and not really the type of map you would want to study geography from, or plan a trip from Winterfell to Kings Landing!

Winter is coming! …They just won’t be using this map as a guide!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
In short, I love the idea for this poster and was very excited to get it. However, when observed closely one can see the individual pixels on the map. The city names are written on small white bars under their locations but the actual pictures, which represent the cities look kinda awful. Luckily they are too small for this detail to be noticed except under the closest scrutiny. Also my poster had scratches on it and a part where the black of the water was scratched off to reveal white but this could have been the fault of the seller. All in all its a cool poster but it could have been printed much better.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
This is a really fun map. As I'm reading Dance With Dragons I can easily just look up and see where people are and where they are talking about. However, there are several city's missing: Saltpans and Volantis for example are very important to various storylines but are absent from the map. So, buy it as a decoration but stick to the maps in the books for completeness.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
Overall, the map looks great and fit perfectly in a frame I just happened to have. While it is great to have a complete-ish map of the world the features are a bit distorted on this one. Compared to the one of just the western lands, this one doesn't have some important areas labeled. It still looks really great on the wall though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.