Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (207)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pyromania Gets The Deluxe Treatment.
Released in 1983 "Pyromania" was the album that broke Def Leppard in America but primarily due to MTV's playing the videos of "Photograph", "Foolin'" and "Rock Of Ages". Again, with Robert John "Mutt" Lange doing the producing as well as co-writing most of the songs "Pyromania" had it's share of great songs starting with the hits "Photograph", "Foolin'", "Rock Of Ages",...
Published on June 23, 2009 by Barron Crist

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Melodic energy.
Pyromania is a better-than-good album that I've enjoyed listening to since I bought it a few years back. I don't think that it's better or worse than Hysteria (I find both albums to be on the same level). Of course Pyromania has a slightly harder edge to it than Hysteria. My favorite songs are "Photograph" and "Billy's Got a Gun." Those are both...
Published on February 13, 2000 by sauerkraut


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pyromania Gets The Deluxe Treatment., June 23, 2009
By 
Released in 1983 "Pyromania" was the album that broke Def Leppard in America but primarily due to MTV's playing the videos of "Photograph", "Foolin'" and "Rock Of Ages". Again, with Robert John "Mutt" Lange doing the producing as well as co-writing most of the songs "Pyromania" had it's share of great songs starting with the hits "Photograph", "Foolin'", "Rock Of Ages", and "Rock Rock (Till You Drop)", etc. More polished than the band's 1981 album "High N' Dry" (but in my opinion not necessarily better) it was ex-Girl guitarist Phil Collen's debut replacing original guitarist and founder Pete Willis. "Pyromania" seems to have a more commercial sound than the previous albums and the band seems to be getting away from their NWOBHM (New Wave Of British Heavy Metal) roots. The remastering on this Deluxe Edition is far superior when compared to the older non-remastered single disc. I hear a crispness and more midrange in this newly remastered version that the older version lacked. The bonus disc (running just over seventy minutes long) from a concert in 1983 at the L.A. Forum is extremely well recorded and is a treat for Def Leppard fans as it includes not only material from "Pyromania" but from "High N' Dry" and "All Through The Night". Songs such as "Rock Brigade", "Wasted", "High N' Dry (Saturday Night)", "Another Hit And Run" and "Let It Go" have never been recorded "live" on cd or dvd for commercial release as far as this reviewer remembers so this is a first. Queen's Brian May even makes an appearance joining the band in playing the Creedence Clearwater classic "Travelin' Band" (the ending mixed with Led Zeppelin's "Rock And Roll"). The packaging of this Deluxe Edition of "Pyromania" is excellent with both discs securely mounted and there's also a fairly lengthy booklet with colorful photos of the band. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the greatest pop/metal album of all time, July 12, 2003
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
Pyromania(1983). Def Leppard's third studio album, and the
first one with Phil Collen on guitar.
DL has always been one of my favorite pop/metal bands to arrive on the 80's music scene. They started out in 1980's On Through The Night as a purely metal NWOBHM act (New Wave Of British Heavy Metal to the uneducated) and as they gained fame and fortune, DL gradually grew into more of a pop rock act. Pyromania sees DL at the height of their pop/metal powers just before the pop sound would take over on the albums that followed. To give this album more of an "edge" over the current rock competition, DL brings back producer Robert John "Mutt" Lange (that's right, High And Dry was his first time producing for DL, NOT PYROMANIA), and sends the band into the studio working hard for about a year. Pyromania was the direct result and in more ways than none, IT PAID OFF BIG TIME. Let's take a look:
1) Rock Rock- DL kicks off the album with this amazing head banger. As another reviewer put it, it draws great similarities to High And Dry's "Let It Rock". The intro always sends chills down my spine, and that's a good thing. 9/10
2) Photograph- One of the four big singles off here. This song became famous for a reason, and that reason is because IT ROCKS! Great guitar work and vocals. One of the songs that got me to be a huge DL fan. 10/10
3) Stagefright- A very catchy, fun, and ambient fast rocker. It's truly an underrated track, as I believe it would have made for a great single. Sadly, this is the last time drummer Rick Allen would play this fast before losing his arm a couple of years down the road. 9/10
4) Too Late For Love- A GREAT GLOOMY BALLAD, unlike many of the sappy ballads DL would be writing from Hysteria(1987) on. Joe Elliot's vocals really stand out here. With as much radio play as this song has seen, WHY DIDN'T THIS TRACK FIND ITS PLACE ON VAULT(1995)? 10/10
5) Die Hard The Hunter- BY FAR MY FAVORITE TRACK OFF OF PYROMANIA, and one of my four all time favorite DL songs ("Gods Of War", "White Lightning", and "Ring Of Fire" being the other 3). It starts out with synthesized war sounds and changes into a steady head banger with a killer chorus and guitar solo. VASTLY UNDERRATED AND EXCELLENT. 10/10
6) Foolin'- Another famous gloomy ballad like track 4. Once again, Joe's vocals really soar on this one, making it a winner. 9/10
7) Rock Of Ages- Ahh the classic rock 'n roll anthem, and one of the catchiest songs DL has ever made, pop years included. It hints at the next few albums down the road. Some people may hate ROA, but it still stands strong alone, even on the poorly-put-together greatest hits cd Vault. 9/10
8) Comin' Under Fire- I didn't pay much attention to this gloomy ballad at first, but it certainly grew better with each listen, and now I consider it to be a DL DEFINING MASTERPIECE. Very melodic and probably the best of the gloomy ballads. TRULY UNDERRATED FOR WHAT IT IS. 10/10
9) Action! Not Words- A mid-paced rocker with a cool guitar solo. Most likely, this is Pyromania's weakest song because it does nothing to stand up to the rest of the tracks. 8/10
10) Billy's Got A Gun- A great melodic slow-paced rocker, with excellent vocals and synths strewn about throughout the track. For some strange reason, as soon as the song ends an odd synthesizer drum beat pattern emerges and plays for about two minutes. Not sure why this was left on. 9/10
If I haven't stated it enough throughout this review, let me say it again: PYROMANIA IS A POP/METAL MASTERPIECE! Five stars for excellent songwriting and musicianship. If you see it in the stores, don't hesitate to pick it up. Some people may decide that they aren't huge DL fans, so they may settle for Vault. BIG MISTAKE. Like I stated above, Vault is a very poorly put together greatest hits cd. AVOID VAULT AT ALL COSTS! Instead, just buy Pyromania and Hysteria and then decide if you like DL or not. PYROMANIA IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO ANYONE WHO LIKES POP/METAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gonna start a fire..., June 17, 2004
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
Why can't it be 1983 again? Why did "alternative" music ever have to be created? Why do people laugh at my red leather jacket? I don't know, but one thing I do know is that this album still rocks after 20 years. Put in on and crank it up! And just for a moment, it will be 1983 again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Influential, accessable, perfect Def Leppard, March 14, 2000
By 
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
Pyromania, the band's sophomore effort with Mutt Lange and third release overall, was the band's attempt to make a 'Sgt Peppers' for the 80s, something that combined influences, new sounds, slick production, and raw talent and energy into a massivley influential, commercial monster. It succeeded in every facet.
From the keyboard kickoff of Rock Rock! (something every 80's band would copy), this album never lets up. It's not as raw and uneven as the slightly heavier High n Dry, but it definitley keeps it's edge throughout, thanks to Steve Clark and Phil Collen's relentless guitar attack.
Everyone knows the singles (photograph, Foolin, Rock of Ages) but the treasures on this album are the epic tracks, like Too Late, Die Hard the Hunter, and Billy's Got a Gun. Storytelling masterpeices, they're just long enough to be epic, without seeming as overblown and Rush-ish as 'The Overture'. The rest of this album measures up as well, not a single weak track is to be found.
Joe Elliot finally finds his voice, as well. On his first two releases he couldn't really carry a tune all too well, but Pyromania shows him really developing a strong voice in all areas, rock-outs and ballads.
Pyromania laid the groudwork for the rest of 80's rock-pop to follow. Leppard would repeat this trick with the slightly-not-as-good Hysteria 4 years later, but Pyromania stands as their finest hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `Pyromania' remastered -- and a searing live performance to boot, June 23, 2009
By 
Sal Nudo (Champaign, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
At long last, Def Leppard's classic "Pyromania" from 1983 has received the remaster treatment. "Pyromania," a 10-song masterpiece that was laboriously pieced together riff by riff, beat by beat, bridge by bridge and vocal by vocal to sterling effect by reclusive uber-producer Robert John "Mutt" Lange, was my generation's British Invasion and still sounds fabulous -- slick heavy metal for a new generation of Atari-savvy kids who had yet to encounter a slew of less talented pop-metal bands that would follow in Def Leppard's cutting-edge wake. If you've heard "Pyromania," then you already know about the classic guitar riffs; the massive amount of hooks around every corner; Joe Elliott's distinctively raspy vocals; bombshell backing vocals; Rick Allen's fast but thunderous drumming; and the somber, London-fog aura heard on songs like "Too Late for Love," "Die Hard the Hunter" and, one of my all-time favorites, "Billy's Got a Gun."

But the real reason for purchasing this well-packaged two-CD set is for the second CD, a live Leppard performance at the L.A. forum in 1983. Rip-roaring from the get-go on "Rock! Rock! (Till You Drop)," the show rarely lets up. Live in `83, these guys were a blitzkrieg force of nature. Well before the pristine pop metal of albums like "Hysteria" and "Adrenalize," Def Leppard churned out rough-and-tumble heavyweights like "High `n' Dry (Saturday Night)," "Another Hit and Run," "Wasted" and "Foolin'". In fact, what's most interesting on the live L.A. CD is how the band reached back in time with confidence and played a plentiful amount of tunes from its two albums prior to "Pyromania," -- far from the "greatest hits" mentality these guys have today when playing live shows.

In any case, anyone who says Def Leppard doesn't have the chops to duplicate their studio sound onstage should hear this CD: Elliott's live voice in `83 was raspy, versatile and hit all the high notes, likely because cigarettes, booze and age had yet to take their harmful toll; his mates' backing vocals are a bit spotty in parts but mostly come through with gusto; the twin-guitar attack of Phil Collen and the late, great Steve Clark is both spot-on and gloriously ragged at times; and it's hard not to notice drummer Rick Allen's sensational two-armed drumming, filled with flitting fills and crashing cymbals on nearly every downbeat, just like on record. Throughout the L.A. show, Elliott continually banters and attempts to rev up the crowd in typical arena-ready fashion -- with great success -- and it all culminates with the closer, Credence Clearwater Revival's "Travellin' Band," a song that suits Elliott's voice perfectly and was played with guest guitarist and friend Brian May from Queen. It's an enthusiastic, crowd-pleasing rendition that leaves a lasting impression.

Included with the discs are engaging liner notes by Rolling Stone writer David Fricke, who eons ago wrote a book about Def Leppard called "Animal Instinct." Fricke's firsthand account of the band's early 1980s saga truly resonates, and many Leppard fans may long for the days when this Sheffield, England, quintet was young, rocked hard and possessed a more aggressive vibe. Though Leppard has evolved with class and has continued to make solid music, the band's `80s mojo will never be topped, both from the band itself and the fans that followed Leppard so avidly. In the liner notes, Fricke claims the group's performance on the live-in-L.A. CD displays Def Leppard at its apex, with the classic lineup of Elliott, Clark, Collen, Rick Savage and Allen. After hearing it, it's hard to argue with his assessment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot little number from up-and-coming Sheffield rockers, January 4, 2000
By 
Sal Nudo (Champaign, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
From receiving a hot little cassette for Christmas in 1983 to purchasing the (now scuffed-up) CD in 1990 to loading these tunes onto my iPod recently, I've always got a copy of "Pyromania" somewhere in my rock-music arsenal. Millions of young and hungry rock `n' roll fans bought the vinyl record version of "Pyromania," and I shudder to think how many of those are wasting away in landfills all over the country. Be that as it may, Def Leppard's third release stands as possibly the greatest CD in my collection, even after all these years.

I've read that the guys in Def Leppard muddled around with their producer, Robert John "Mutt" Lange, in the studio before recording this album, creating riffs and eventually formulating them into coherent songs. The process apparently wasn't easy or quick, and the band has attested many times that Mutt was a slavedriver throughout the arduous process. All the hard work paid off, however, as is evident from the first operatic notes of "Rock Rock (Till You Drop)" to the bizarre industrial-like shuffle that follows "Billy's Got a Gun" at the end of the record. Top to bottom, these 10 songs are simply classic and unstoppable.

It may be hard to fathom now, but at one time Def Leppard were a young and edgy band that set the rock `n' roll world on fire (no pun intended). Leppard's look on MTV in the early 1980s was hardly glossy or eye candy for the masses. "Pyromania" features a Joe Elliott whose voice is raspy and angry; on TV, the guy looked to be in harrowing pain as he screamed into his microphone with abandon. Armed with two arms, young Rick Allen's drumming was lightning quick and amazing at the start. To this day, I'm not sure I've heard better drumming than what's on the lo-fi On Through the Night. Phil Collen apparently brought loads of enthusiasm when he joined the outfit in 1983, after Pete Willis was fired for too much drinking, while Steve Clark and Rick "Sav" Savage looked to be in a hungover-/strung-out-induced daze during the "Rock of Ages" video. The point of all this rambling is, these guys didn't look to be a band you took home to Mother during their early years, which is a far cry from the gentler-looking (and sounding) Hysteria days that loomed ahead.

Riffs abound on the slickly produced "Pyromania," all of them air-guitar-in-front-of-the-mirror worthy and memorable. The burning riff that leads off "Photograph" is classic, as are the rumbling opening chords of "Rock of Ages," perhaps my favorite song of all time. It's been said that Leppard and Lange perfectly melded pop and heavy metal, and that's definitely an accurate assessment, though "Pyromania" features some pretty heavy pop sounds. "Stagefright," for example, opens with a wild Elliott screaming, "I said ah welcome to my shooooooow!/We got the whole damn night to go!" The sharp chugging riff that follows Elliott's yell is downright scary in its ferocity, but in typical Def Leppard fashion, the band evens things out with a melodic and hearty chorus that even little kids could sing along with. For all its speed and heavy metal thunder, "Stagefright" is ultimately a romantic song that captures the band on the cusp of superstardom, simply dealing with the pressure of going on stage night after night and doing well. (What goes on backstage is also sung about within the tune.)

Some of the "artier" songs on "Pyromania" include the foreboding and somewhat desolate "Too Late for Love;" the absolutely amazing and rocking epic "Die Hard the Hunger" (perhaps Leppard's best song ever); and "Billy's Got a Gun," which displays the band in full-throttle darkness, a mood that seems to agree with Leppard best. Sing-along anthems are in full force on "Pyromania," including the hit "Foolin,'" the hit-worthy "Comin' Under Fire" and the enthusiastic "Action! Not Words."

It's been said that every note, beat, rhythm and vocal on this record was slaved over for complete perfection in the eyes of Mutt Lange, and, as stated before, all that effort in the studio was totally worth it. This classic record defines a moment in time and led the way for many imitators who would, for better or worse, follow. None of those later bands would match "Pyromania's" greatness, however, arguably even the band who created this masterful work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pyromania--the Rock and Roll "Gold Standard", July 3, 2009
By 
Christine625 (Philipsburg, PA) - See all my reviews
I have loved this album (and Def Leppard) for 26 years and the only complaint I ever had about it was that the sound quality sounded kind of "tinny"...sigh!..But now, after this many years of dreaming, Def Leppard have been kind enough to remaster Pyromania...the Rock and Roll "Gold Standard"....The sound quality is superb and I am having a grand time picking up things that Steve,Rick,Sav,Phil and Joe did, but I had missed...I LOVE IT!!! I can't wait for High N Dry and On Through the Night to get remasterd...please?

Now, for the second cd, the "live" show from LA in 1983....OH GOD!! WOW!!!
This cd kicks some very serious butt...The energy from the band is outstanding...Steve and Phil and their double barreled guitars blew me away...and Rick and Sav are a tight knit duo also, like thunder and lightning...Joe's energy also is dynamic, and he sounds as good as ever...Songs to REALLY listen to? SWITCH 625, FOOLIN', ANOTHER HIT AND RUN, ROCK BRIGADE and BRINGIN' ON THE HEARTBREAK...Oh my God! I've never heard them sound better! The entire show is fantastic...If you read this review and you like Def Leppard....you won't be sorry for buying this "Deluxe" Edition of Pyromania! I'm happy I did!!!!! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Rock Rock Til You Drop, Rock Rock Never Stop", March 23, 2003
By 
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
The title of this review says it all. Def Leppard may not be a headbanging group, but they sure know how to rock hard (at least on this album they do). I was a little nervous about this cd at first since it was pop metal and had such heavy MTV exposure in the early '80s. But this album caught my attention and kept it, something other cds failed to do. Now lets see why shall we?
1.Rock Rock-That says it all. Even though this is pop metal, Leppard never fails to satisfy the "rock" side of their fanbase.A perfect anthem song.
2.Photograph-I wasnt around in 1983, so im not tired of this song like everyone else. This song i will always remember because it was the one that got me into Leppard. Joe really shows his vocal talent on this one. It was meant to be a single.
3.Stagefright-The fake audience at the start gets you going. A nice rocker with a catchy chorus.
4.Too Late For Love-Another single. Great song with good riffs but to me it just seems generic.
5.Die Hard the Hunter-Could have been better if shorter. I lost attention around the first three minutes.
6.Foolin-Yet another single. Haunting song that has Joe going from a pleading tone to a voice that is just booming with authority.
7.Rock of Ages-Oh man another single. Again the boys go from rock n roll verses to catchy choruses. Is there anything they cant do?
8.Comin Under Fire-One of my top 5 Lep songs hands down. Why wasnt this a single instead of Too Late For Love?
9.Action Not Words-Kind of weird but it fits right in with the other songs. KILLER guitar solo.
10.Billys Got A Gun-Joe really hits some high notes on this one. A great way to end a great album.
So in other words just buy the dang thing. You shouldnt have to read reviews to know this album rocks. Sadly this was the last album that Rick drummed with both hands. He drummed well with one hand, but listen to their debut "On Through The Night" and you'll wish he still had both. That guy could really let loose before they went into pop metal. Hey you still gotta admire the guy for having the guts to drum with one hand (and he does it well too). This was also the last album to have a distinct rock sound so if you hate their pop stuff then dont get any of their post-1983 albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leppard's best, the 80's best, April 9, 2004
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
Pyromania is the brdige between a very good album, (High N Dry) and a pretty good one(Hysteria). Pyromania is the great one. This album kicked off what Back in Black, by AC/DC almost did. Placing metal in the mainstream and keeping it there for sometime. Remember, for about 10 years after this album, Metal music was a norm on top 40 radio. In the same way hip hop is in control of radio and videos today, Pop Metal was by far the biggest thing going on MTV and top 40 radio for about a decade. Although, The Seattle movement is credited for putting and end to it, Nirvanna, Peral Jam, ect, in reality, they were still Hard Rock bands that thrived off of top 40 Radio and MTV, which would have never happend 10 years before. Pop Metal opened the door for allowing Heavy music to be heard by the casual observer. Def Leppard's Pyromania is revolutionary, not only for the metal bands that followed, but for the Metal bands that already were and received larger appeal( Van Halen, Bon Jovi, Motley Crue, Areosmith, Metallica) due to what Pyromania jump started. Therefore, setting up even the hard Seattle bands. When you hear Photograph and Rock of Ages on the radio today they still sound fresh. Def Leppard's Pyromania, a true classic and true Rock of the Ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time 80's rock n roll classic, and the bands best ever record, April 20, 2006
By 
This review is from: Pyromania (Audio CD)
This tops everything the band had ever done up to this point, and its easily the best thing the band ever released 23 years on. There is not one dud on this release, every song is a hit between the eyes. Photograph, Foolin', Rock of Ages, Rock Rock, Too Late for Love are all the radio staples, and classics, but man Die hard the Hunter and Billy's Got A Gun are just killer. Killer songs, with killer vocals, hooks, solos, sounds, everything. This album is great from beginning to end. They've never topped this release in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pyromania
Pyromania by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.