Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STNG Q-Squared - Absolutely Q-tastic!
Of the many great Star Trek authors that have been published, one of them consistently rises above them all with thought provoking, humorous and intriguing stories in this genre, that being Peter David. With Q-Squared being Peter David's second Q story, after STNG #18 - "Q-In-Law," he again proved that he perfectly captured the character of Q and put to print a true...
Published on July 13, 2003 by K. Wyatt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the book
I read this book about 10 years ago. Having recently gotten into audio books, I was able to download this to my phone and "listen" to what was an amazing novel. The book, however, is slightly different than it's alternate audio conterpart (no pun intended, as to the context of the story). The audio book leaves out key portions of the book, most noteably several diffent...
Published on May 27, 2011 by Stephen A Fender


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STNG Q-Squared - Absolutely Q-tastic!, July 13, 2003
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
Of the many great Star Trek authors that have been published, one of them consistently rises above them all with thought provoking, humorous and intriguing stories in this genre, that being Peter David. With Q-Squared being Peter David's second Q story, after STNG #18 - "Q-In-Law," he again proved that he perfectly captured the character of Q and put to print a true masterpiece involving this extremely intriguing character.
The premise:
Q-Squared is nothing short of brilliant as Peter David deftly weaves this tale involving characters from both The Original Series and past characters from Star Trek The Next Generation. Many a fan will remember Trelane from The Original Series episode "The Squire of Gothos." As Captain Kirk dealt with him, he was an extremely powerful but ultimately impetuous character that at the end of that wonderful episode he was proven to be a young character from an unknown race of beings.
As you will quickly learn, the powerful race of beings that Trelane comes from is the Q-Continuum and guess who has recently taken on the responsibility for his growth and development, you guessed it, Q. As it happens, Q finds this responsibility to be somewhat taxing so he seeks out his good old "pal" Captain Jean Luc Picard, more affectionately known by Q as "Mon Capitan," to aid in this great burden.
Here is where Peter David also firsts introduces the notion of the multiverse as he tracks us along in three different "universes," three different crews of the Enterprise and their dealings with Q and Trelane. I believe this to be the most appealing plot device in the entire story.
What follows is as stated above, one of the best Star Trek novels to ever grace the printed page as we follow along on Trelane's bent to destroy the universe and Q's amazing trials and tribulations while he's attempting to stop him.
I highly recommend this superb Star Trek novel to any and all who enjoy a great Star Trek story and to those who are just casual fans of the genre as this one does not disappoint in the least.
Additionally, I highly recommend the audio tape or CD if you can get your hands on it as it is a great way to spend three hours on the highway, especially with Q himself, John De Lancie reading it. {ssintrepid}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Star Trek novel, period., March 7, 2003
By 
Michael R Platt (Pleasanton, CA United States) - See all my reviews
If you are a true fan of Star Trek's first two incarnations, you cannot miss this book. If you loved the Next Generation finale, you will REALLY love this book. If you loved Q and wondered why they never brought the Trelane character back you will REALLY REALLY... well, guess what I'm going to say.
This is, by far, the best Star Trek book, and I've read a bunch of them. Alternate timelines, insight into the characters, loose threads you NEVER thought would come together all unite in what would be an excellent book by any measure, but is an absolute must-have delight for Star Trek fans.
Q'll get ya if you miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book in the Novel Series, March 1, 2002
By 
Kendal B. Hunter (Provo, UT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book surpassed by expectations. I have dabbled here and there with the Star Trek novels, but found that they seemed to have been sneezed out by hacks, and lacked depth, substance, and that special spark that ignites a blaze of wonder.
This book was different. It had depth and hard core complexity that you would expect from the X-men, but never see in a watered-down TV series. The premise is that Trelaine, the "Squire of Gothos" from TOS was actually a young Q and the John de Lancie Q was charged with "babysitting" him. Q, at a loss what to do, gets Picard, the galaxy's expert on childhood development, to help him watch the youngling.
Then it goes down hill from there . . .
The book has a complex structure since we are keeping track of three parallel time lines that Trelaine mischievously mucks up. On top of that, they are not sequential, so we are getting a "Citizen Kane" non-linear story that stretches the mind. Don't worry, ther are only three lines, so you won't get thatconfused. I hope!
Peter David demonstrates his understanding of the complex Star Trek universe, and did something that the TNG series really didn't do, which was to unite the two series. We had a few references here and there to past episodes and situations, such as the Daystrom Institute, but the series seemed to have had a split-brain operation. How many times did we see the Gorns, Metrons, the Melkots, or the Andorians in TNG?
Moreover, Jack Crusher, Dr. Beverly's dead husband appears in a parallel time line, and the multiple Lt. Cmdr. Datas absolutely tore my head off. There is even a vague reference to Kira, the Bejoran from "Deep Space 9." David rewards the faithful viewers!
This book would make a great miniseries, although it is too complex for a film, as "Back to the Future II" demonstrated. It has everything you could ever want in a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And you thought Q was bad!, October 26, 2012
Trelane, erstwhile Squire of Gothos (of the TOS episode of that name), returns. Here we learn that Trelane is nothing less than a juvenile Q. Q, mentoring Trelane, brings him to the Enterprise for educating. Things begin to unravel when one Trelane embraces the unlimited power of chaos, and decides to take revenge. First Trelane annihilates Q (!), and then begins to unravel the barriers that separate parallel universes, bringing on a war of all against all. How can Picard overcome the demons of what might have been (and are in other realities), and defeat the most powerful being in the whole multiverse at the same time? And, what of Q?

This book is an absolute masterpiece! The author masterfully runs first two and then three storylines (three parallel universes), examining the same people in very different situations. As the story reaches its crescendo, and the characters begin to cross between universes, it becomes positively gripping. I can't recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David's best Trek novel..., December 2, 2004
By 
Scott D. Nelson (South Bend, IN United States) - See all my reviews
...at least his best that I've read thus far. This book is not for the person who likes a nice, evenly paced Trek story. This book is running at top speed right out of the gate! As long as you can keep up, you'll love it.

This book might be of particular interest to those Trekkies that are also fans of TOS (The Original Series), as a fan-favorite villain - Trelane - is really the primary nemesis. David does a fantastic job of intertwining the back-stories of both Trelane and Q to come up with a very feasible and fun tale of "things that might have been..."

Realities merge, dead characters walk the halls of the Enterprise, unborn children save their parents' lives, cats and dogs sleeping together...it's everything that you would expect, or wouldn't expect, when Q is involved. So hold onto your seat when you start into this book, because it doesn't let up at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Star Trek book ever written!, November 28, 1999
One of the unfortunate aspects of the star trek phase of my life was that I read this work before reading most other star trek books that preceded it. Compared to thsi masterpiece, most books about the Enterprise crew seem almost to be written on a 4th grade level.
Peter David took Star Trek's most witty, intriguing and mysterious character (Q), and combined his story with that of an oddity from a horrible Original series episode (Trelane). The souce of Trelane's power and his species were a couple of those mysteries left unanswered by the star trek creator. In this book, we find out that Trelane is a Q and that Q is his godfather and mentor. This in itself would make for a delightfully entertaining story. But David adds a few parallel universes to the equation, the reality seen in Yesterday's Enterprise and a reality in which Jack Crusher was not killed when the Stargazer battled the Ferengi. Trelane is gallavanting around parallel universes causing disturbances (temporal and otherwise) as Q struggles to tame him.
David uses what can best be described as a stream of conscousness style, constantly switching from universe to universe following the adventuries of his powerful and mischevious characters. There is one particularly excellent chapter (which cannot possibly be transplanted into film) descrbing Trelane's experience at the center of pure inanity.
One drawback this book may have is that it does incorporate a lot of information from both the ORiginal Series and The Next Generation. I was a little disappointed the first time I read the book because at that time, I had not seen the Squire of Gothos and David did not go into detail describing Kirk's past encounter with Trelane.
However, this is at worst a minor weakenss and informed Star Trek fans will see it as a strength as David seems to incorporate everything from Gary Mitchell to Rachel Garrett. Indeed, as one character informs another at the beginning of the work, "Son there is nothing we are not going to do today". Read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A battle for power, powerfully written, October 5, 2002
I couldn't put this book down, I just had to keep reading it to find out where it went next. This tells a story of a great battle of good and evil held within the charachters. A must for anyone wanting to know Q better. Q is the archtype of the trixter who may play anoying pranks, even to the point of being dangerous, but when it comes down to the line, he's on the right side.
As with any story involving time, the temporal anomolies become quite interresting, but this book handles it all without becoming bogged down in techno-babble or losing the story in the midst of the confusion. Peter David is truly a master of weaving the world of Star Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Audio Book, April 18, 2005
This review refers to the audio book version, 3+ hours, two cassettes. John De Lancie does a really great job in reading this book. My one wish is that he had changed his voice so that the various characters would have been easy to pick out. Peter David's story is one of his best, and I really liked how he portrayed the first generation's Trelane, very true to character. Picard, and Q were also very well rendered. The story line bounces around a bit, but is not too distracting (or confusing). Sound effects and music are well done. The audio is quite legible when listening in a car. All-in-all a great audio book. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk about planning! Peter David does it again!, July 16, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Q-Squared (Star Trek-the Next Generation) [U.S. audiocassette edition] (Audio Cassette)
Man, I can only imagine the plot blue prints Peter David had to create to make this book. It was so compelling. I loved the way he made all these alternate universes and how he developed them and then he mixed them all together into one reality. Talk about WOW!
This has got to be my all-time favorite book. I loved the way he brought back Jack Crusher into the Star Trek world. David did an excellent job of predicting what the universe would have been like if this or that would've happened. It was great near the end when all who knows how many realities converged onto on Enterprise. All heck breaks loose.
You will be drawn in and won't be able to put this book down and after you read it once, you will read it again. Excellent abridgement of the original book. They took out the unneccesary parts and I loved the music and sound effects. All in all a great set to buy and what a nice price amazon has set before you. Don't wait, buy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Dickens!, July 23, 2001
This is by far the best STAR TREK novel I've ever read (and I've read plenty!), but it also tops my list of Best All-Around Novels. David effortlessly weaves together an incredibly complex tapestry of timelines and characters from ST:TOS and ST:TNG. I laughed out loud. I came close to crying. It's just a brilliant executed book that deserves 25 stars, not 5. I just bought my first Peter David non-Trek novel, SIR APROPOS OF NOTHING, and can't wait to read it. Other excellent Trek novels by Mr. David are IMZADI, Q-IN-LAW, and VENDETTA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Q-Squared (Star Trek-the Next Generation) [U.S. audiocassette edition]
Q-Squared (Star Trek-the Next Generation) [U.S. audiocassette edition] by Peter David (Audio Cassette - July 1, 1994)
Used & New from: $4.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.