Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Style: QL-700|Change
Price:$51.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 13, 2012
Before I begin this review let me lay it down for all potential international buyers (like myself).

- this is a 115V ONLY machine. If your country operates on 115V then all is good but if you are on a 220-230V supply like me you'll need a step-down converter
- though the machine's power label states this machine as 115V/1.7A I have been able to operate this on a 60W wall-plug transformer
- despite all minor annoyances you are still looking at a substantial amount of savings as it retails for US$148 where I'm from

---Build Quality---
- it is larger than the photos suggest but with a comparable footprint to earlier models
- it is heavy but this ensures it stays on your desk with little chance of it getting accidentally knocked off
- glossy plastic used is a fingerprint magnet
- if you are using aftermarket labels without the caddy you will have problems feeding a roll into an empty caddy from the rear (hinge space) as the space is really tight in there

---The Machine Itself---
- standard buttons such as feed, cut, power and "Editor-Lite" (more on this later)
- pilot lights are not obnoxiously bright
- on the economy mode print quality is acceptable on tiny font size < size 8
- nice, grippy rubber feet so it stays on the desk

---Machine Driver/ Running as Networked Printer---
- driver installation was smooth but do follow the instructions to the "T"
- you need to disable "Editor-Lite" by long pressing the button before you connect the USB cable to your PC during driver install. If you don't do so driver will not install properly
- I connected this to a W7 64-bit desktop and the supplied driver works right off the bat
- I then tried connecting this to my home server (WHS2011) and the W7 64-bit driver works for this install too. This turned my label printer into a networked printer with WHS2011 as the print server
- the driver deployment wizard (Brother BRAdmin Professional) works and installed the driver and utilities onto all my networked machines (clients).
- no indication of how much memory is in this printer (if any) but if you run more than one instance of print job it slows down a bit
Machine Software and Utilities
- if you are running MS Office on your machines Brother will install an add-on for you to import data into the P-Touch editor software
- database linking is buggy... seriously, you guys have been at this for years and STILL haven't fixed this issue
- if you deal with XLS files then it sometimes works better if you convert the file to CSV before importing it into P-Touch Editor
- lots of templates to download for free
- if you print just the odd label here and there then all these won't matter
- firmware and software updating tool works well and is very intuitive. I suggest updating it the very first time you run the software
- Editor-Lite Software allows you to quickly print a label by skipping P-Touch editor. The software is built into the printer but can be disabled. When enabled you will see a new drive appears in your My Computer page, it appears as a removable drive. I disable it by default.

---Bottomline---
It works and for the low price they are selling this for it is just too good to pass on. If you have an older version I'd stick to the older machine as there is little in terms of upgrade. If you do not have a label printer then just get this. It's a lot cheaper than what they are charging for their older machines and if you run an e-commerce business like I do it helps to have 2 printer loaded with 2 different sized labels so you do not need to change rolls all the time.

P.S. English is not my native language so please excuse my grammar.

Update - I've put 5 rolls of labels through this machine and it is still working fine. So far none of my print jobs have had issues but it doesn't do well for fine graphics (expected). If you are printing maps for example the print quality isn't acceptable unless it is a custom drawn map with thick lines. It does vector graphics okay; icons, banner images etc.
1212 comments| 165 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
Overall: the Hardware is solid - the Software is well done & very capable, with a few minor start-up glitches
-----
Bit of an adventure to install w Mac-OS X. The 'Printer-Driver' would not install from the software-CD in the box. Eventually downloaded from their website. Good compatibility with various Versions of Mac-OS X - we've run it with 10.10.5 thru 10.4.11 - same great flawless performance. After installation we have not seen any bugs. Printer connected via USB
-----
At this time the 'Editor Lite' software is not Mac compatible. Mac-Users have to use the full 'P-Touch Editor' software - may be overkill for simple address labels, but gives you complete freedom with label appearance. Almost any address will fit on regular small labels. Even long complicated five-line addresses - just use smaller font-size & line-spacing. Can also save your labels for next time
-----
Prints a nice address label. Automatically cuts each new label from the roll. They stick to an envelope with no problem.
We are using the DK-1209 Small Address Labels - roll of 800 for ~$15
-----
QL-700 Dimensions -
__ Height: 6"
__ Width : 5"
__ Depth : 8.5"
__ Weight: 3.5 pounds

UPDATE Oct 2015 -
-- Working perfectly - no problems
33 comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
The Brother QL710W is TRICKY to set up. I read the wireless setup issues others were running into trying to configure this printer and thought I'd document the steps in hopes of helping others. Amazon already rejected this review once, but I've removed the Brother URLs and resubmitted...

I bought this to print labels from our iPhones and iPads. Too bad you can't use these mobile devices to setup the Brother printer. Follow page 20 in the manual closely. Even if you plan to use this wirelessly resign yourself to having to initially set it up via USB and installing the software via CD using your computer. The CD has the Windows programs, but it only had the utility software for Mac and none of the extras, but the website had a lot more including the P-Touch Editor label software for both Mac & Win so I'd probably skip the CD all together next time. For Mac AirBooks and Win Netbook users without a CD drive you'll need to download the software at: www(.)brother-usa(dot)com.

Step 1 - Get connected
- Connect the USB cable from your Mac to your Brother QL-710W printer. The connector is next to the power cord and is the old style USB Type B printer cable.
- From the CD's Utilities folder (or downloaded from brother-usa) launch "Wireless Device Setup Wizard"
- Choose USB cable installation (the other method requires a non-Apple router with a WPS access point button)
- Make sure your Mac is connected to the same WiFi network as the one you want your Brother QL-710W printer connected to.
- Choose your WiFi network (SSID) and click next.
- Enter your network key (fancy term for your WiFi password)
- Choose the default settings (auto assigned IP address, etc) unless you are going to use P-touch editor which likes a reserved IP Address for the printer.
- Wait while it does it's thing and when prompted disconnect the USB cable and click finish.
- The WiFi green light next to the power light on the printer should now be on.

Step 2 - Install the Brother Printer App on your iPhone or iPad (or Android device)
- Brother completely leaves this out of the user guide opting for a glossy brochure with the Brother iPrint&Label info.
- Get your iPhone or iPad and goto the Apple App Store (Android users can go to the Google Play store) and search for "Brother iPrint&Label" (just searching on brother brings up too many apps!)
- It's a free download
- Launch the app and choose the gear icon in the upper right corner to select your printer.
- Choose your Brother QL-710W printer and verify it puts a check mark to show that it is actually selected (it isn't enough to just see it listed). If the printer isn't detected verify the printer has both green lights on (power and wifi) and that your iPhone/iPad/Android is connected to the same wireless network.
- If you are still having problems seeing the printer and have restarted both your printer and your mobile device you can read the other reviews for some of the issues or you can call Brother Tech Support 9O8-7O4-1700
- You can do a test print by choosing from SImple Label, Templates, Label Collection or Photos. The DK label roll you have installed will be auto detected and the label is printed upside down and auto cut (very cool - my first label was a color photo that came out nicely in greyscale).
- The iOS apps seem more robust than the Android version which didn't allow me to change fonts in the simple label options.
- If you get a printer offline or communication error restart and verify your iPhone/iPad/Android and the Brother Printer QL-710W are both on the same WiFi network (use an IP app like iNet to scan your network).

WiFi Network Tip:
If you use a network utility like Banana Glue's iNet (Mac and iPhone) you can verify the Brother Printer's IP address by looking for for a device named BRN followed by 12 more numbers or identify it as the device using a Silex Technologies wireless chipset MAC Address 00:80:92.

If you'll be printing from your Mac read on:

As far as I can tell the Brother QL-710W has to be USB connected to the Mac in order to print to it from a Mac. Otherwise the printer driver shows the printer offline. If any Mac is USB connected to it AND has share this printer to it than any Mac on the network can print wirelessly to it. I've only been able to use the WiFi print with iOS and Android.

Other Brother QL-710W Mac Software:
- BRAdmin Light.jar: Only useful to network folks who want to set a specific IP address setup. For most folks using DHCP ignore unless P-touch Editor has problems finding the printer and then you'll need to specify an IP address (reserved in your router and on the printer using "BRAdmin Light" or "Wireless Device Setup Wizard"
- Brother QL-710W Utility: Only works via USB (no WiFi support). Allows you to set the printer's auto power defaults (off when plugged in, auto power off after 60 minutes of being on and network settings (didn't seem to turn off WiFi when I tried turning it off).
- Status Monitor: Tells you what size label the printer has and if it is ready or offline. Can also be accessed tin System Preferences/Print & Scan/Options & Supplies/Utility.
- P-touch Editor: This is the labeling software to print labels from your Mac. It is a port of the Windows based software. You don't have to use it, but for most folks it offers an easy interface to print labels and banners to your printer and has more features than the iPhone/iPad/Android version. Make note of which MK roll you have in the printer, because the app can't auto detect this when choosing templates. Be sure to run the P-Touch Updater to get the new templates. The CD install version as of 10/13 was 5.0.202 and the website version was 5.0.4 Aug 2013 version. Be sure to copy your serial number from the bottom of your printer, you'll need it in order to download the web version named. Download file is named pem50400x8us.dmg and it installs as P-touch Editor 5.0 folder in your apps folder.
- P-touch update software: A separate app for checking for printer firmware updates (none as of 10/13) and templates for P-touch editor (quite a few). Ironically it didn't notice that the editor or the print drivers installed where the old versions so you may have to manually update them. The update download is named pum10002x8all.dmg
- Printer Driver: The CD install version as of 10/13 was the 3.0 version. The Brother website has the 3.03 Dec 2012 version. Package downloads as qdm310x8all.dmg
- Wireless Device Setup Wizard (version 1.1.8 Feb 2012 on CD, latest is 2.0 Aug 2012 on website)

3rd Party Software:
- Brothers has worked out a deal with Pitney Bowes to let users print US postage to your printer. It only works on Windows for now ;(
- Avery has a great templates app that works with their numbered Avery label paper. If you need to print your contacts as address labels on 8.5x11 label sheets to an AirPrint or Google Cloud print compatible printer from your iPhone/iPad/Android then this might be a better option for you than the Brother QL-710W printer setup. Maybe if Avery made Brother DK compatible labels they could add support down the road.

Future improvement Requests:
- Add a small touch screen to allow WiFi setup to happen on the brother printer instead of the wonky USB setup via PC to get the WiFi configured.
- Get rid of the old USB Type B printer connector and go with micro USB that every Android user already has.
- Support Wake on LAN so that you can wake the printer on when printing to it automatically (rather than having to turn it on)
- Add AirPrint and Google Cloud Print support. Not all apps print labels, but those that support your label sizes but it would be great to get some non-Brother branded apps printing directly to your printers.
- Your Quick Setup Guide leaves users in the cold on how to verify their setup and how to actually print to their device.
[...]
review image review image review image review image review image review image
33 comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
There are 2 ways to use this product on a Mac platform - from your OS X machine or your iOS device (iPhone or iPad). I had trouble loading the software from the included disk. The download from the website failed also. I spent 40 minutes on the phone with their terrific customer support person, who was unable to resolve the issue, getting the same results as I did. He deferred to a senior tech, who emailed me that it was probably my machine as there were "no known issues", even on OX 10.8. It's a new MacBook Air, so probably not, but - we'll see... This needs resolution, whether it's a fluke issue of mine or a legit issue.

I was able to easily connect my iPhone and iPad via wireless using the free app. It worked so great, that not having the Air working with it was less of an issue.

So, actually 5 stars for the hardware and iOS app. Deducting 2 stars for this unresolved OS X hassle.
88 comments| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2012
Style: QL710W|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The QL710W label printer combines an intuitive and stable software suite, with excellent print quality and speed, and wireless connectivity - resulting in a full featured professional grade label printer for the home or home office.

What's to like:

[1] Installation and setup are fairly straightforward
[2] The accompanying software suite is very intuitive, stable, and full featured.
[3] This printer writes with heat on thermal paper - as a result you will never have to worry about ink.
[4] Excellent print quality - with clear text and graphics. Its palette is a fairly limited gray-scale, so clean high contrast images work best.
[5] Well written documentation. In addition to a printed Quick Setup guide, you get PDF guides for its software and for networking.
[6] It is solidly built, and looks sleek and professional.

Setup:
#####
I setup the QL710W on a Windows 7 x64 bit Core i7 based machine with 6GB RAM, and it worked without fuss or incident.

Set up consists of installing a label roll and threading the tape to an output slot. The software is comprised of a contact manager, a free form graphical label editor, and printer drivers. Once the drivers are installed, you have two options when connecting to this printer:

1. you can connect it directly to your computer via a USB cable, or
2. you can use it as a wireless printer. To configure it with your network's SSID and passphrase, you must either use Wifi Protected Setup (WPS, not advisable due to security concerns), or you must use the USB cable. I used the latter, and the connection was established in a couple of minutes.

What's really cool for a techie nerd like me?
Once the QL710W is up and running on your network, you can talk to it using a web based interface. Simply navigate to it using an internal IP address (the one assigned by your router's DHCP server)!
How cool is that?

Software Suite:
###########
The QL710W does not skimp on its software offering:
1. P-touch Editor 5 - a free-form label editor.
You pick a label size (with choices such as Standard/Large/Small Address Label, CD/DVD label, 2" Binder spine, etc.), and then go to town with your edits. Among others, you can:
# add and style text (font, size, style) as well as add effects such as shadow, outline, and layouts that are vertical, circular, and curved!
# add images (an assortment of clip art is supplied, and you can always import images from files);
# add screen captures using a SnagIt style interface
# add barcodes from a variety of protocols (UPC-A/E, EAN8/13, ISBN-2, POSTNET, QR Codes, etc.)
# add the calendar for a given month

If that weren't enough, it can integrate with Microsoft Word, Excel, and Outlook!

Finally, a minimized mode (called Snap mode) lets you capture content via screen shots or drag and drop for later editing.

Suffice it to say that this software is probably worth the sticker price of this unit!

2. P-touch Address Book 1.1 - a contact manager
You can manage contact information and print using preset layouts. Of course, if you wish to edit a layout, you are taken immediately to the P-touch Editor, with a full arsenal of tools at your command.

Conclusion:
########
Its older sibling, the QL720NW, adds an Ethernet interface as well as a serial port. However, for general home office use, the QL710W is a sufficiently powerful machine, especially when considering its accompanying software suite. Printing speed in particular is to be seen to be believed.

There's a lot to like with this well designed printer making it truly a 5-star product.

Happy Printing!
11 comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2012
This device is fast, durable, prints high quality (options between speed priority 300 dpi, quality priority 300 dpi, and quality priority 600 dpi). It performs exactly as expected. Consumables are a little expensive (the continuous tape (DK-2205) costs more than $20), but there are a lot of generic products meant to work with it. All DK labels compatible with the Brother QL-570 are also compatible with this device -- the QL-700 is faster than the QL-570.

I bought this device for $49.99 from Staples on sale.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
He's not especially fond of being called a, "Fearless fighter of blind kittens," but that's what the label says on it.

----

Update, September 17, 2013: I really like my Brother label printer, but I am not a big fan of the iPrint&Label software for iOS. While I am able to print from my iPhone, the iPad cannot find the printer on the network, even though it can bring up the printer webpage on its browser. Brother's tech support had me create an ad hoc wireless network, which printed fine. However, back on the normal wireless network it failed to make a connection (btw, the computers on the network can print wirelessly to the QL-710w with no problem). If anyone has a solution to this annoyance, please let me know the magic. Thanks!
33 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2013
I have to admit, I'm sort of a label junkie. Hey, I just like things labeled! Anyway, I purchased this machine mainly for printing shipping labels for my eBay business. Let's be honest, it was kind of a bugger to set up. I consider myself to be pretty good with techy things but the whole getting it to print the right size labels for shipping was a bear. A 7 hour bear. I called tech support and I expected them to walk me thru the steps to get this working correctly (because I had already read and printed absolutely everything available online) only to have them continuously say, "what is your email address, I'll send you the instructions". Ugh, nice. Anyway, eventually I got the correct software installed, and lesser version of Java and ....still printed the shipping labels just a bit off page. Here's the kicker, I remember reading a review somewhere where they said you have to do a total reboot after installing Java 6. So, I did. Magically, it worked!!! I screamed, danced, ate chocolate and hugged my dog.

I have been using this little miracle machine daily for all my shipments. No more cutting and taping labels. I can print FRAGILE stickers or whatever. Everything in my home that never really needed a label, has a label. I buy labels in bulk on EBay super cheap thru Vendors that make Brother-like labels which work perfect.

So to summarize, I think this is my favorite gadget ever, well...at least a close second to my Wrapmaster. I digress.

- R
44 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
The QL-700 works well with my Windows 8 computer. It prints a variety of useful labels quickly. The software provided enables you to import contacts from MS Outlook 2010 for use in label printing for mailing. I mostly use it for mailing purposes.

Contrary to another reviewer, I was able to use the pbSmartPostage (once I ordered and received the proper labels) to print postage. No subscription is required, but you "buy" postage and then deduct what you use. Just ensure you log into the right pbSmartPostage site. Oh, get a postage scale so you know how much postage to print. It's easy to remove/insert different label rolls as needed. I find this printer much easier to use for the occasional label than a label sheet where you have to select which label row and column to print.
22 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
The initial set up for the wireless part of this was a little complicated ...but once set up, this worked great. Being able to print labels from the iPad is outstanding and very simple.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 444 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.